Best LinkedIn Contact Finder Tools in 2026: 14 Chrome Extensions Compared on Accuracy, Credits and Compliance

Turn this article into takeaways for your work.

Each assistant summarizes the article only for you and suggests best practices for your work.

If you want one LinkedIn contact finder that covers email and phone for a small team, start with Lusha, ContactOut or SignalHire. If your buyers are in Europe and you need a vendor with a documented compliance program, Cognism is the safer pick. If you're cost-sensitive and email is enough, Hunter, Skrapp.io and Snov.io cost the least. And if you want the cheapest way to try phone reveals before you commit, Apollo.io's free plan and Prospeo's free plan are the easiest places to test.

This page is about one narrow product type: Chrome extensions that sit on top of LinkedIn and Sales Navigator profiles and reveal a work email, a personal email or a phone number with one click. We compare 14 of them on three things buyers tend to get wrong. First, data accuracy: what each vendor claims, how it verifies, and what happens when a reveal is wrong. Second, credit models: what a phone number costs compared to an email, what "unlimited" really means, and what rolls over. Third, compliance: LinkedIn's own rules, GDPR and its first big extension fine, US and UK phone consent, and what to ask a vendor before you upload a single export to your CRM.

For the broader category (databases, intent, enrichment suites), start with the best sales intelligence tools in 2026. This page does not repeat that comparison. It zooms into the extension layer, where most of the day-to-day cost and most of the legal exposure sit.

Key Facts

  • Sales reps spend 40% of their week selling, and the same Salesforce report says they spend almost a full day of the workweek on prospecting, which is why contact reveal tools sell so well.
  • The same Salesforce State of Sales report found that 46% of sales pros with agents say data quality issues hurt their sales, so a reveal that returns a stale address costs more than the credit.
  • The median US worker had been with their current employer for 4.1 years in January 2026, so a meaningful share of any contact list changes jobs every year.
  • France's data regulator fined Kaspr EUR 240,000 in December 2024 over a LinkedIn contact extension, the first big GDPR fine aimed squarely at this product type.
  • US telemarketing violations carry civil penalties of up to $53,088 each, and the TCPA lets individuals recover $500 per violation.

What Is a LinkedIn Contact Finder (and What It Isn't)?

A LinkedIn contact finder is a browser extension, usually for Chrome, that reads the profile or Sales Navigator page you have open and matches it against the vendor's own database. You click, the extension spends a credit, and a work email, personal email or mobile number appears beside the profile. Some tools also push the record into your CRM or a sequence in one more click.

Two points are easy to miss. The data usually does not come from LinkedIn itself. It comes from the vendor's database, which the vendor built from many sources, including its own users' address books and public web pages. And the extension is a convenience layer: the real product is the database behind it, the verification step in front of it and the credit meter between the two.

That's why the comparison below puts the credit model and the compliance posture next to the accuracy claim. A tool with a great hit rate and a rule-breaking data source is a liability, and a tool with clean data and a 20x phone credit multiplier will drain your plan before the first week of outbound is done.

Quick Comparison Table

Tool Best For Starting Price Key Strength Key Limitation
Lusha Small teams that want email and phone with clear plans Free 40 credits/mo; Starter $49.90/mo monthly Phone and email accuracy claims published, rollover on monthly plans Phone costs 5 credits, so Starter yields few numbers
Apollo.io Teams that want data plus sequencing in one seat Free plan; Basic $49/seat/mo annual, $65 monthly Largest free credit pool, pooled team credits Phone costs 8 credits and credits don't roll over
ContactOut Recruiters and SDRs who need personal emails Free 5/day; Email plan $49/mo monthly Unlimited email on paid plans, personal emails Single seat per company, phones only on the higher plan
SignalHire Recruiters and teams with many users Free 5 credits; from $49/mo monthly Unlimited users, credits charged only on a hit No published accuracy percentage
RocketReach Teams that want both lookups and an API Essentials $49/mo monthly Lookups refunded when nothing verified is found Annual "unlimited" is capped, region-based prices
Kaspr European prospecting with phone Free tier; Starter EUR 45/user/mo annual Strong EU coverage, phone allowances Fined by CNIL, so vet its processing carefully
Cognism Regulated or EU-heavy outbound teams Pricing on request Do-not-call screening, phone-verified mobiles Pricing is opaque and aimed at larger budgets
LeadIQ SDR teams that capture to CRM Free 50 credits; Pro from $15/mo annual Five users included, CRM capture workflow Phone costs 10 credits
Prospeo Cheap verified emails and mobiles Free 100 credits/mo; Starter $49/mo monthly Low entry price, 98% accuracy claim Credits don't roll over
Findymail Teams that want a bounce guarantee Individual $99/mo Charges only verified results, refund on bounces No annual price printed, phone is 10 credits
Snov.io Teams that also want outreach automation Starter $39/mo monthly Unlimited seats, flat plans Email-centric, conflicting database size claims
Skrapp.io Low-budget email finding Free 50 credits; $29/mo annual Invalid and unknown results cost nothing Email only, small user caps
Hunter Domain searches and email verification Free 50 credits/mo; Starter $49/mo monthly Unlimited users, flat accounts No phone numbers
Datanyze Existing ZoomInfo-family buyers Pro 1 $29/mo monthly Simple per-user reveal pricing Free tier is a 90-day trial only

1. Lusha: the plan-based default for small teams

Lusha is the extension most reps have heard of, and the pricing page is easy to read. The free plan gives 40 credits a month for one user with no card. Starter is $49.90 a month billed monthly or $37.45 a month billed annually ($449.10 a year) for 400 credits a month. Pro is $69.90 monthly or $52.45 a month billed annually for 600 credits and two seats, and Premium is $399.90 monthly or $299.95 a month billed annually for 3,400 credits and five seats. Past five users, it's a sales conversation.

The credit math is what matters. An email costs 1 credit and a phone number costs 5, so a Starter plan is 400 emails or 80 phone numbers, not both. Monthly plans roll unused credits over up to twice the monthly cap, while annual credits arrive upfront and reset at year end. Seats are bundled in the plan rather than priced per user, which is unusual in this category.

On accuracy, Lusha says its database holds 515M+ contacts with 98% email accuracy and 85% (US) and 86% (global) phone accuracy. Treat those as vendor claims. On compliance, the site lists GDPR (ePrivacyseal), CCPA (TrustArc) and SOC 2 Type II, and the plan comparison includes a do-not-call row, which is the sort of detail a phone-heavy team should ask about by name.

Pros Cons
Flat plans with seats bundled Phone is 5x an email, so numbers burn credits fast
Rollover on monthly plans Annual credits reset at year end
Published phone and email accuracy claims Over five users, pricing moves to sales

Best for: a team of one to five that wants both emails and phones and would rather buy a plan than a meter.

2. Apollo.io: data, sequences and a big free pool

Apollo isn't only an extension, but its Chrome tool is one of the most used, and the economics differ from Lusha. Pricing is per seat: Free, Basic at $49 per seat per month billed annually or $65 monthly, Professional at $79 annual or $99 monthly, and Organization at $119 annual with a three-seat minimum. The free plan carries 900 credits per seat per year, granted monthly (75 a month), and the paid plans carry many more.

Credits are pooled across the team and do not roll over. An email costs 1 credit, a phone number 8, and "unlimited" features sit under a fair use policy with no published cap. Apollo says its database holds 240M+ contacts and 30M+ companies with 98% email accuracy, and the same page states GDPR compliance on a legitimate-interest basis along with SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001. Ask Apollo for its CCPA and do-not-call handling in writing before you dial from it.

If you're comparing it with the rest of the field, the best Apollo alternatives page covers sequencing and dialer trade-offs in more depth.

Pros Cons
Biggest free credit pool in the category Phone is 8 credits
Contact data and sequences in one tool No rollover, including add-on credits
Pooled team credits Per-seat pricing grows with headcount

Best for: teams that will send sequences from the same tool they find contacts in.

3. ContactOut: personal emails and recruiter-style searches

ContactOut built its name finding personal emails for recruiting, and SDRs use it for the same reason: a personal address sometimes beats a bounced work one. The free plan allows 5 emails, 5 phones and 5 exports per day. The Email plan is $49 a month billed monthly or $468 a year billed annually with 300 exports a month, and the Email and Phone plan is $99 a month billed monthly or $948 a year billed annually with 600 exports a month. Paid plans are limited to one user per company, and there's a toggle that takes half off if you exclude US and UK data. If its seat or export limits pinch, see the ContactOut alternatives.

Read the fine print on "unlimited". The terms cap fair use at 2,000 email credits and 1,000 phone credits per account per month. ContactOut claims 800M profiles, 150M personal emails and 100M direct dials, with 99% accuracy (the pricing page says 700M+), and states GDPR and CCPA compliance and SOC 2. Personal emails raise the consent bar in the EU and UK, so decide in advance whether you'll use them at all.

Pros Cons
Personal and work emails One seat per company on paid plans
Unlimited emails within fair use Phones only on the higher plan
Half-price option that excludes US and UK data Profile count differs between pages

Best for: recruiters and outbound reps who need personal emails and can live with a single seat.

4. SignalHire: unlimited users, charged only on a hit

SignalHire is the pick when several people share one budget. It doesn't charge per seat: unlimited users on every plan with shared credits. The free plan gives 5 credits, or 10 credits a month with the extension installed. Email plans start at $49 a month for 600 credits, or $469 a year for 7,200 credits, and phone plans start at $49 a month for 300 credits, or $469 a year for 3,600. Unlimited tiers exist at $79 a month for emails and $99 a month for phones, capped by a fair usage limit of 2,000 credits a month.

One credit buys one contact and is spent only if at least one email or phone comes back, which protects you from paying for misses. SignalHire says it holds 900M+ profiles and 30M+ companies but publishes no accuracy percentage, and it states GDPR and CCPA compliance in its privacy FAQ. Rollover isn't stated, so confirm it.

Pros Cons
No per-seat charge No published accuracy figure
Pay only when a result is returned Rollover not stated
Separate phone and email plans Fair usage cap on "unlimited"

Best for: recruiting teams and agencies with many users and uneven usage. Already on it and weighing a switch? Compare the SignalHire alternatives.

5. RocketReach: lookups, exports and an API

RocketReach prices by seat and splits usage into lookups and exports, which confuses first-time buyers. Monthly plans are Essentials at $49, Pro at $99 and Ultimate at $209, with lookups capped at 100, 250 and 1,000 a month. Annual plans (US list) start at $399 a year for Essentials, $899 for Pro and $1,699 for Ultimate, and annual prices differ by region.

Annual plans are "unlimited" but capped by a fair use limit of 10,000 lookups a month, and Essentials returns email only while Pro and Ultimate return email and phone. The trap is exports: API lookups, bulk lookups, CSV, list upload and CRM pushes consume exports, not lookups, and annual exports are 1,200, 3,600 and 20,000. A lookup is charged only if a verified email or phone is found. RocketReach says it covers 700M professionals and 60M companies with 98% accuracy, and lists SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001.

Pros Cons
Lookup refunded if nothing verified Exports are a second meter to watch
API access and bulk features Annual price varies by region
Free account with 5 lookups Per-seat pricing

Best for: teams that need an API or bulk exports alongside the extension.

6. Kaspr: strong EU data, with a fine on file

Kaspr is built for European B2B prospecting and prices per user. The free tier gives 15 B2B email credits, 5 phone credits and 5 direct email credits a month. Starter is EUR 45 per user a month annually or EUR 59 monthly (also listed in USD and GBP), with 100 phone credits a month. Business is EUR 79 annually or EUR 99 monthly with 200 phone and 200 direct email credits a month. Phone add-ons start at EUR 0.35 each. B2B email is "unlimited" but capped at 10,000 credits per account per month.

Kaspr says it holds 200M+ European B2B contacts and re-validates emails every two months, and Cognism owns Kaspr. The reason to read the compliance section below before buying: in December 2024 France's CNIL fined Kaspr EUR 240,000 for collecting contact details of LinkedIn members who had limited their visibility, among other breaches. The regulator ordered corrective changes with a six-month compliance deadline, so ask Kaspr what it changed.

Pros Cons
Phone allowances built into plans EUR 240,000 CNIL fine
Rollover on paid plans Compare table and plan cards disagree on some caps
Good European coverage Per-user pricing

Best for: EU-focused outbound teams that have reviewed the CNIL decision with their legal counsel. Teams leaving it can compare the Kaspr alternatives.

7. Cognism: the compliance-first option

Cognism doesn't print prices: Standard and Pro plans, five seats included, credits per seat. One credit reveals one contact, a re-view is free, and you're charged again only if the contact changes jobs. A reported structure is roughly $15,000 for the platform plus about $1,500 per user a year on Standard and about $25,000 plus about $2,500 per user on Pro (reported). Source: Amplemarket citing Vendr. Confirm any figure with Cognism.

What you're paying for is the compliance program. Cognism says it screens against do-not-call lists including UK TPS and CTPS, the US, Australia and several EU countries, is ISO 27001 and ISO 27701 certified, holds SOC 2 Type II and is registered as a California data broker. It also says phone-verified mobiles deliver up to 3x higher connect rates and that Director-and-above data is refreshed every 30 days. The best ZoomInfo alternatives page puts Cognism in the larger-budget context.

Pros Cons
Do-not-call screening across many countries Pricing on request
ISO 27701 and SOC 2 Type II Budget is aimed at teams, not individuals
Re-view is free No free trial, demo and data sample only

Best for: regulated industries and EU-heavy teams where a documented compliance program outweighs the price.

8. LeadIQ: capture-to-CRM for SDR teams

LeadIQ is built around capturing a prospect from a profile and pushing it to your CRM. The free plan has 1 user and 50 credits. Pro uses a credit slider with five users included: 200 credits a month is $20 billed monthly or $15 billed annually, and the top slider tier (6,750 credits a month) is $290.25 a month on monthly billing. Credits cost 1 for an email, 10 for a phone and 11 for both, and every plan offers a 30-day trial.

LeadIQ says it holds 750M+ professional profiles, claims an 85% global mobile match rate and phone accuracy above 90%, and says every data supplier passes a GDPR and CCPA review. That last claim is worth asking about, because the supplier chain is exactly where data brokers get into trouble. Rollover isn't stated.

Pros Cons
Five users included in Pro Phone is 10 credits
CRM capture workflow Rollover not stated
30-day trial Credit slider makes cost per contact hard to compare

Best for: SDR teams that want every capture to land in the CRM automatically.

9. Prospeo: low-cost verified emails and mobiles

Prospeo prices per user. Free is 100 credits a month; Starter is $49 monthly or $441 a year; Growth is $99 monthly or $888 a year; Pro is $249 monthly or $2,241 a year. Monthly plans carry 2,000, 5,000 and 15,000 credits, and yearly plans grant 24,000, 60,000 and 180,000 credits upfront. A verified email is 1 credit and a mobile is 10, and credits do not roll over. Add-ons start at 1,000 credits for $10.

Prospeo claims 300M+ profiles, 125M+ verified mobiles and 98% accuracy, with intent leads refreshed weekly and the full dataset roughly every 30 days. The pricing page carries a GDPR badge, but it isn't a substitute for a data processing agreement, so ask for one.

Pros Cons
Low entry price and a 100-credit free plan No rollover
Verified results only Mobile is 10 credits
Big annual credit grants Per-user pricing

Best for: small teams that want mobiles at a lower cost than the plan-based tools.

10. Findymail: you pay only for verified results

Findymail leads with a guarantee. It charges only for verified results and promises a bounce rate under 5%, refunding credits if it's exceeded. Plans: Individual at $99 a month with one seat, Team at $399 a month with five seats and Scale at $999 a month with 20 seats. A credit plan starts at $99 a month for 5,000 Finder and 5,000 Verifier credits. An email is 1 credit and a phone is 10, with rollover up to twice the monthly allowance. The yearly toggle advertises "2 months free", but no annual dollar figure is printed, so confirm it with sales. The free trial is 10 credits with no card.

Findymail lists SOC 2 Type 2, GDPR compliance and EU hosting. One limit matters if you sell globally: the mobile finder covers non-EU numbers only, which sidesteps one of the stricter regimes but narrows coverage. A CRM-cleaning add-on, Datacare, starts at $500 a month billed annually.

Pros Cons
Bounce guarantee with refund No annual price shown
Pay only for verified results Mobile finder excludes EU numbers
EU hosting Highest entry price in the email-first group

Best for: teams where a bounced email is expensive, such as new domains with fragile sender reputation.

11. Snov.io: flat plans with outreach built in

Snov.io sells flat accounts with unlimited seats. The trial is free and never expires: 50 credits and 100 recipients. Paid plans (monthly, then per month on annual billing at 25% off) are Starter at $39 or $29.25, Pro S at $99 or $74.25, Pro M at $189 or $141.75, Pro L at $369 or $276.75 and Ultra at $738 or $553.50, covering 1,000 to 100,000 credits. A credit equals one prospect, one email search or one verification, and unused credits expire after 30 days unless you're on annual billing or have renewal enabled.

Be careful with its database claims. One page says 500M+ verified contacts while the FAQ on the same page says over 50 million leads, so treat neither as reliable. Snov.io states a 98% accuracy rate for its email verifier, plus GDPR and CCPA coverage. LinkedIn automation slots are an extra $69 a month each, and that's the feature to evaluate carefully against LinkedIn's terms, covered below.

Pros Cons
Unlimited seats Contradictory database size claims
Email finder, verifier and outreach in one tool Unused credits expire after 30 days on monthly billing
Never-expiring free trial LinkedIn automation slots cost extra

Best for: teams that want finding, verifying and sending in one flat-priced tool.

12. Skrapp.io: low cost, email only

Skrapp.io is the budget email finder. Free is 50 credits for one user. Professional is $29 a month billed annually with 2,000 credits a month and two users, and Enterprise is $262 a month billed annually with 50,000 credits a month, 15 users, an API and SSO. The page shows 25% off on yearly billing.

The credit model is friendly: one credit per valid or catch-all email, with invalid and unknown results free, and paid plans roll credits over in a shared team pool. Skrapp.io claims 40M+ companies and 2M+ professionals as users. It links a GDPR page and data processing agreement. It doesn't publish phone numbers, so pair it with a phone tool if you dial.

Pros Cons
Invalid and unknown results are free Email only
Rollover and shared credit pool Two users on the entry paid plan
Low entry price Small published company and contact claims

Best for: a lean team that needs emails from LinkedIn at the lowest cost.

13. Hunter: the domain-first email finder

Hunter started as a domain search tool, and its extension now finds and verifies emails on profile pages. Plans are flat per account with unlimited users: Free at 50 credits a month; Starter at $49 monthly or $34 a month billed $408 a year with 2,000 credits; Growth at $149 monthly or $104 a month billed $1,248 a year with 10,000 credits; Scale at $299 monthly or $209 a month billed $2,508 a year with 25,000 credits. Finding an email is 1 credit and verifying is 0.5. Monthly credits reset with no rollover, and annual plans receive the whole year's credits upfront.

Hunter says it indexes 150M professional emails from 650M public sources, reports 7M+ users on its homepage, states GDPR and CCPA compliance and hosts in Belgium on Google Cloud. It does not find phone numbers, so it's not a full replacement for the tools above.

Pros Cons
Unlimited users on every plan No phone numbers
Verification costs half a credit Monthly credits don't roll over
EU hosting Email only, no phone data

Best for: email-only prospecting where you need unlimited teammates and a verifier.

14. Datanyze: a contact-reveal extension from the ZoomInfo family

Datanyze is now a contact-reveal Chrome extension, owned by ZoomInfo since 2018. Pricing is per user: Nyze Pro 1 is $29 a month billed monthly (80 credits) or $21 a month billed yearly (960 credits a year); Nyze Pro 2 is $55 monthly (160 credits) or $39 a month billed yearly (1,920 credits a year). Yearly plans are non-refundable. One credit reveals one contact.

The "free" plan is Nyze Lite, a 90-day trial with 10 credits a month that ends access afterward, so don't count it as a permanent tier. It's best for people already inside ZoomInfo's ecosystem. For the full platform picture, see the best ZoomInfo alternatives.

Pros Cons
Cheap per-user reveal pricing Free tier is a 90-day trial
ZoomInfo ownership Small monthly credit pools
Simple one-credit-per-contact model Yearly plans are non-refundable

Best for: individual reps who want a low-cost contact reveal and don't need a full database.

Free Tiers and Phone Credit Costs Compared

This is the table most buyers want and few vendors make easy. Phone cost is shown as the credit multiplier against an email where the vendor prints one.

Tool Free or trial allowance Email credit Phone credit
Lusha 40 credits/mo, 1 user 1 5
Apollo.io 900 credits per seat per year (75/mo) 1 8
ContactOut 5 emails, 5 phones, 5 exports per day Unlimited on paid (fair use) Unlimited on Email and Phone plan (fair use)
SignalHire 5 credits, or 10/mo with extension 1 per contact 1 per contact (separate plan)
RocketReach 5 free lookups 1 lookup Included in Pro and Ultimate lookups
Kaspr 15 B2B email, 5 phone, 5 direct email per month Unlimited B2B (capped) Allowance per plan, add-ons from EUR 0.35
Cognism Demo and data sample, no free plan 1 per contact 1 per contact
LeadIQ 50 credits, 1 user 1 10
Prospeo 100 credits/mo 1 10
Findymail 10 credits 1 10
Snov.io 50 credits, never expires 1 No phone credit listed
Skrapp.io 50 credits, 1 user 1 No phone credit listed
Hunter 50 credits/mo 1 No phone credit listed
Datanyze 10 credits/mo for 90 days 1 per contact 1 per contact

The phone column tells the story. Where the vendor meters phones separately, the multiplier is 5x to 10x an email. Where it bundles them into a single contact credit, the plan price is higher. Neither is better, but you should compare cost per phone number you'll actually use, not per credit.

Monthly vs Annual Headline Pricing

Annual billing is cheaper than monthly in every row here, but the rules differ. Quote the billing term whenever you compare.

Tool Monthly billing Annual billing
Lusha Starter $49.90/mo $37.45/mo ($449.10/yr)
Apollo Basic (per seat) $65/mo $49/mo
ContactOut Email $49/mo $468/yr
SignalHire email (600 credits/mo, 7,200 credits/yr) $49/mo $469/yr
RocketReach Essentials $49/mo $399/yr (US list)
Kaspr Starter (per user) EUR 59/mo EUR 45/mo
LeadIQ Pro (200 credits/mo) $20/mo $15/mo
Prospeo Starter $49/mo $441/yr
Findymail Individual $99/mo Annual discount available, no figure printed
Snov.io Starter $39/mo $29.25/mo
Skrapp.io Professional Not shown on the pricing page $29/mo billed annually
Hunter Starter $49/mo $34/mo billed $408/yr
Datanyze Pro 1 $29/mo $21/mo billed yearly
Cognism Pricing on request Pricing on request

Accuracy: What Vendors Claim and What to Test

Every vendor in this list publishes a number or avoids publishing one. The table lists exactly what's stated, attributed to the vendor.

Tool Stated accuracy or data claim Source
Lusha 98% email, 85% US and 86% global phone lusha.com
Apollo.io 98% email accuracy, 240M+ contacts apollo.io
ContactOut 99% accuracy, "triple verified" contactout.com
RocketReach 98% accuracy, 700M professionals rocketreach.co
LeadIQ 85% global mobile match, phone accuracy above 90% leadiq.com
Prospeo 98% accuracy, 125M+ verified mobiles prospeo.io
Findymail Bounce rate under 5%, with refund findymail.com
Snov.io 98% accuracy on the email verifier snov.io
SignalHire, Kaspr, Hunter, Skrapp.io No accuracy percentage published Vendor pages

Several vendors claim 98% and ContactOut claims 99%, which means the number doesn't separate them. A sharper test is what happens when a result is wrong. SignalHire and RocketReach charge only on a hit, Findymail refunds credits above a 5% bounce rate and Skrapp.io makes invalid results free. Those policies tell you more than a headline percentage. The Gmail sender rules explain why: senders of more than 5,000 messages a day must keep spam rates below 0.30%, so a list full of dead addresses can put the sending domain you rely on at risk.

Run a blind test before you buy. Pull 100 profiles from your own ICP, reveal them in two or three tools and check each address with a separate verifier. Pay attention to the share of results that are catch-all or role-based. Our lead data enrichment guide explains how to build a verification step into the workflow, and the lead data management library page covers how long to keep revealed data.

Credit Models: Four Ways You'll Get Charged

Model How it works Tools
Per-contact credit, plan seats bundled One flat price, a credit pool, seats included Lusha, SignalHire, Snov.io, Hunter, LeadIQ
Per-seat subscription with pooled credits Price grows with headcount, credits shared Apollo.io, RocketReach, Kaspr, Prospeo, Datanyze
"Unlimited" with a fair-use ceiling Marketed as unlimited, capped in the terms ContactOut, SignalHire, RocketReach, Kaspr
Quote-based credit bundle Platform fee plus seat credits Cognism

Three habits keep the meter honest. Read the terms behind every "unlimited" badge, because the caps are real: 2,000 email and 1,000 phone credits at ContactOut, 10,000 lookups a month at RocketReach and 10,000 credits at Kaspr. Check whether credits roll over, since Lusha's monthly plans, Kaspr's paid plans, Skrapp.io and Findymail do and Apollo.io and Prospeo don't. And ask whether CRM pushes, bulk exports and API calls cost extra: at RocketReach, they consume exports rather than lookups.

This is the section most roundups skip, and it's where the real risk sits. It's information to take to your counsel, not legal advice.

LinkedIn's own rules

LinkedIn's User Agreement lists what members must not do. Among the restrictions in section 8.2, members may not "develop, support or use software, devices, scripts, robots or any other means or processes (such as crawlers, browser plugins and add-ons or any other technology) to scrape or copy the Services, including profiles and other data from the Services." It also prohibits copying, using, displaying or distributing information obtained from the Services "whether directly or through third parties (such as search tools or data aggregators or brokers)" without the content owner's consent, and using bots or other unauthorized automated methods to access the Services or download contacts. It bars overlaying or modifying the Services too.

Clause topic What the User Agreement says, in short Why it matters for extensions
Scraping and add-ons No software, scripts, robots, crawlers, browser plugins or add-ons to scrape or copy the Services Extensions that read profile pages sit close to this line
Third-party data No copying or using information from the Services via data aggregators or brokers without consent Applies to downstream use of exported data
Automation No bots or unauthorized automated methods to access the Services or add or download contacts Bulk "auto-connect" or auto-export features carry the most account risk
Modifying the Services No overlaying or modifying the Services or their appearance Sidebars that insert elements into LinkedIn

What does this mean in practice? The agreement is a contract between you and LinkedIn, and the clearest consequence is for your account: LinkedIn can restrict or end accounts that break it. But "a vendor sells it" isn't "LinkedIn allows it", so don't run automated, high-volume extraction from a profile you can't afford to lose. Our prospecting strategy page covers building a mix of sources so one platform doesn't carry the whole pipeline.

GDPR: the Kaspr decision

The clearest enforcement example is the Kaspr case. The EDPB's summary says Kaspr markets a Chrome extension that lets paying customers get the professional contact details of people whose LinkedIn profiles they visit, from a database of about 160 million contacts. CNIL received many complaints from people who had been canvassed. It found breaches of the obligation to have a legal basis (Article 6), to set a proportionate retention period (Article 5), to inform people (Articles 12 and 14) and to respect the right of access (Article 15). It fined Kaspr EUR 240,000 and ordered it to stop collecting data of people who chose to limit the visibility of their contact details and to delete data collected that way.

The lesson is not "avoid Kaspr". It's that the vendor's legal basis for its database becomes a question about your outreach too. Before buying any tool here, ask four things: what the lawful basis is, how people are notified, how long records are kept and how someone's objection or access request is handled. Those match the articles CNIL cited.

CCPA and PDPA

California's CCPA gives residents rights to know, delete and opt out of the sale or sharing of personal information, and data brokers have their own registration duties. Cognism says it's a registered California data broker, which is the kind of registration to ask any vendor about. In Southeast Asia, Singapore's PDPA governs how organisations collect, use and disclose personal data, and neighbours such as Malaysia and Indonesia run their own regimes. Ask each vendor which regions its data covers and whether it can exclude yours. ContactOut's option to exclude US and UK data and Findymail's non-EU mobile coverage are examples of region controls.

Phone numbers are where fines get large. In the US, the FTC says violations of the Telemarketing Sales Rule carry civil penalties of up to $53,088 for each violation, and telemarketers must synchronize their lists every 31 days. The same page says the national registry rule doesn't apply to business-to-business calls, so a cold call to a work number isn't treated the same as a call to a consumer, but check state rules and which number you've revealed (a mobile phone may be personal). Under the TCPA, a person can recover actual loss or $500 in damages for each violation, whichever is greater, and courts can treble it for willful violations.

In the UK, the TPS and its corporate counterpart CTPS cover businesses as well as consumers. In May 2026 the ICO fined Energy Prices Direct £160,000 for over 700,000 unsolicited marketing calls to TPS and CTPS numbers, including businesses.

Rule Where What it covers Stated penalty
FTC Telemarketing Sales Rule and Do Not Call US Telemarketing calls, list sync every 31 days Up to $53,088 per violation
TCPA private action US Individuals suing for violations $500 per violation, trebled if willful
TPS and CTPS UK Consumer and corporate numbers £160,000 ICO fine in one 2026 case
GDPR EU Lawful basis, transparency, access EUR 240,000 Kaspr fine

Compliance claims by vendor

Tool Compliance claims on its own pages
Lusha GDPR (ePrivacyseal), CCPA (TrustArc), SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27701, do-not-call row in plan table
Apollo.io GDPR (legitimate interest), SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001
ContactOut CCPA and GDPR compliant, SOC 2
SignalHire GDPR and CCPA stated in its privacy FAQ
RocketReach SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, CCPA request metrics in its privacy policy
Kaspr "GDPR and CCPA aligned", subject to the CNIL decision
Cognism GDPR, CCPA, DNC screening, ISO 27001, ISO 27701, SOC 2 Type II
LeadIQ Suppliers pass a GDPR and CCPA review
Prospeo GDPR badge on pricing page
Findymail SOC 2 Type 2, GDPR, EU hosting
Snov.io GDPR, CCPA, regular audits
Skrapp.io GDPR page and DPA linked
Hunter GDPR and CCPA, Belgium hosting
Datanyze Not stated on the pricing page, confirm with ZoomInfo

A badge is a starting point, not a defence. Ask for the data processing agreement, the sub-processor list and the vendor's retention period, and write your own approach into your lead data management policy.

Stage-Fit Matrix

Tool Solo or 1-5 reps Small team (5-25) Growth team (25-100) Regulated or EU-heavy
Lusha Strong Strong Plan limits bite Good
Apollo.io Strong (free plan) Strong Strong Ask for CCPA and DNC detail
ContactOut Strong One seat per company limit Poor Check consent for personal emails
SignalHire Good Strong Strong (unlimited users) Good
RocketReach Good Good Good (API) Good
Kaspr Good Good Good Review the CNIL decision first
Cognism Too heavy Fit with budget Strong Strongest
LeadIQ Good Strong Good Ask about suppliers
Prospeo Strong Good Moderate Ask for DPA
Findymail Good Strong Strong Good (EU hosting)
Snov.io Strong Strong Good Good
Skrapp.io Strong Moderate Weak Moderate
Hunter Strong Strong Strong Good
Datanyze Good Moderate Weak Confirm with ZoomInfo

Sizing and Persona Fit

Persona Typical need Short list
Founder doing outbound Cheap emails, few phones Hunter, Skrapp.io, Apollo.io free plan
SDR team of 5 to 15 Email plus phone, CRM capture Lusha, LeadIQ, Apollo.io
Agency or recruiting firm Many users, personal emails SignalHire, ContactOut
European enterprise sales Documented compliance Cognism, Kaspr (after review)
RevOps owner API, bulk, data hygiene RocketReach, Findymail, Snov.io
Rep already in ZoomInfo Low-cost reveals Datanyze

How to Choose: Decision Framework

If you need... Pick Why
One tool for email and phone on a small budget Lusha Flat plans, seats included, 5-credit phone
Sequences and data in one seat Apollo.io Pooled credits and a large free pool
Many users sharing one budget SignalHire No per-seat charge
Personal emails for recruiting ContactOut Unlimited emails within fair use
A documented compliance program Cognism DNC screening and certifications
Fewer bounces and a refund guarantee Findymail Bounce rate under 5% or credits refunded
Email only, lowest cost Skrapp.io or Hunter Free tiers and flat accounts
Finding plus verifying plus sending Snov.io Unlimited seats, flat plans

Pre-Purchase Compliance Checklist

Question to ask Why it matters
What is the lawful basis for your database? The core issue in the Kaspr decision
Can you exclude data for my regions? PDPA, GDPR and CCPA differ by region
Do you screen phones against TPS, CTPS and DNC? Phone fines are the largest exposure
How long do you keep a record, and how do objections work? Retention and access were breached in the CNIL case
Can I get a DPA and a sub-processor list? Needed by any compliance review
What happens to credits when a result is wrong? Refund and bounce policies differ widely

What to Do Next

Pick two tools from your persona row, run a two-week test on the same 100 profiles and check every email with a separate verifier. Track hit rate, bounce rate and credits per usable contact, then ask each vendor the six checklist questions above in writing. The cheapest tool is rarely the one with the lowest cost per good contact. For the next layer of the stack, read the best email finder tools, the best data enrichment tools and the best B2B data providers, or return to the sales intelligence hub. If you're still choosing a category, our guide to choosing sales intelligence software walks through it.

About the author

Laurel

Laurel

Principal CRM Strategist

Laurel is Principal CRM Strategist at Rework, focused on the top of the funnel: opening new demand through outbound and outreach, and capturing it before it goes cold. Laurel writes about cold email and cold calling, multichannel sequences, ABM, the sales engagement tools that run outbound, and the lead management that turns replies into pipeline.