Best Cap Table Software in 2026: 13 Platforms for Founders and Finance Leads

Best Cap Table Software: Keep ownership, share terms, and vesting clear as your company grows.

Turn this article into takeaways for your work.

Each assistant summarizes the article only for you and suggests best practices for your work.

Updated September 2026

If you're a seed-stage founder who just needs the record to stay clean and cheap, start with Fidelity Private Shares or Ledgy on their free tiers. If you want a published price you can budget before a sales call, Astrella and Pulley both start at $1,200 a year. If you're a CFO at Series B or C with a real option pool and a board that asks for waterfall scenarios, Carta and Ledgy carry the most depth, and Shareworks takes over once you're staring at an exit. Cap table software exists to answer one question without a lawyer: who owns what, under what terms, as of today.

This guide covers 13 platforms judged on how well they hold the ownership record itself: share classes, SAFEs and convertibles, option pools and vesting, 409A valuations, waterfall modelling, and the investor and board reporting that gets pulled off the back of it. Every price below was checked against the vendor's own pricing page in September 2026, and where a vendor publishes nothing, this guide says that plainly instead of guessing. If your problem is administering grants rather than holding the record (participant portals, tax withholding, ASC 718 expensing, global mobility), the companion equity management software guide covers that side of the split.

Key Facts

  • There are 6,609 employee stock ownership plans at 6,411 U.S. companies, covering 15.1 million participants and holding more than $2 trillion in assets (NCEO, Employee Ownership by the Numbers).
  • U.S. venture firms closed 14,320 deals worth $215.4 billion in 2024, and each one of those rounds required a cap table update in the same week it closed (NVCA 2025 Yearbook).
  • Convertible notes fell to a record-low 7% of pre-seed rounds in Q1 2026, meaning roughly 93% of pre-seed deals now run on SAFEs that sit unconverted on the cap table until a priced round (vendor data: Carta, State of Pre-Seed Q1 2026).
  • Median founding-team ownership drops from about 56% after a seed round to about 36% after a Series A, and by Series C the employee option pool (16.8%) is larger than what the founders still hold (16.1%) (vendor data: Carta, Founder Ownership Report 2026).
  • 85% of companies with fewer than 750 employees have one or no dedicated person administering their equity plan, which is exactly the gap this software fills (NASPP/Deloitte, 2025 Equity Administration Survey).

Quick Comparison Table

Tool Best For Starting Price Key Strength Key Limitation
Carta Companies that want the largest network of investors already reading their cap table Free (Launch, up to 25 stakeholders and $1M raised); paid tiers priced per stakeholder against an undisclosed minimum annual fee Deepest feature coverage from incorporation through late-stage secondaries Build, Grow, and Scale publish no dollar figure at all
Pulley Seed to Series A teams that want clean SAFE and priced-round modelling $1,200/year (Startup, first 25 stakeholders) Straightforward round modelling plus a dedicated token cap table product No free tier at any stakeholder count
Fidelity Private Shares Pre-seed founders who want a free record backed by a major custodian Free (Launch, up to 25 stakeholders and under $1M raised) Bundles Delaware incorporation and a free subscription for $400 Startup, Growth, and Scale publish features but no prices
Ledgy European and multi-entity companies needing investor-grade reporting Free (Launch, max 50 stakeholders); Scale from EUR 5,000/year The most generous free tier on this list at 50 stakeholders Euro pricing and a large step up from free to Scale
Astrella by EQ Buyers who want banded pricing published all the way to 300 stakeholders $1,200/year (Early Stage, 0-25 stakeholders) Every band up to 300 stakeholders carries a public number No free tier, and above 300 stakeholders pricing goes custom
Cake Equity APAC startups that want a cheap paid tier with option scheme tooling built in Free ($0, 5 stakeholders); Build $1,000/year (25 stakeholders) $1 per extra stakeholder on Build is the cheapest overage rate here The free tier stops at 5 stakeholders, which is one founding team
Eqvista Founders who want 409A valuations priced openly by funding round Free (Freemium, under 20 stakeholders) Round-based 409A pricing published from $990/year Cap table pricing goes custom above 50 stakeholders
EquityList Teams that want AI-assisted document handling on a low entry price Free ($0, 10 stakeholders); Build $1,200/year (35 stakeholders) 35 included stakeholders on the entry tier beats most rivals Growth's per-stakeholder overage is $50/year, above peers
Qapita India and Southeast Asia companies running active ESOP grants Free (Spark, up to 25 stakeholders and under $1M raised) Publishes a per-stakeholder overage rate on every paid tier Priced in USD, so local buyers carry the FX movement
Capboard European teams wanting a lighter, cheaper record than Ledgy Plan prices do not render on the vendor's own pricing page Flat $1,800 partner-sourced 409A and a published $300 onboarding fee You cannot read a plan price on the site, so budgeting means asking
Vestd UK companies running EMI schemes and filing at Companies House GBP 2,200/year (Self-Serve, from GBP 220/month) Two-way Companies House filing no US platform replicates Priced in GBP plus VAT, on a minimum 12-month term
AngelList Founders already running SPVs or fund formation through AngelList No published cap table pricing (fund administration pricing only) The cap table sits beside the vehicles investing in you Since August 2025 new customers get only the rebuilt product
Shareworks (Morgan Stanley at Work) Late-stage private and public companies preparing for liquidity No published pricing, quote only Institutional administration wired into Morgan Stanley's infrastructure No self-serve signup and no published price anywhere

The Default Shortlist: Broad Platforms Most Founders Compare First

These three show up on nearly every shortlist. Two of them give the record away free at the earliest stage, and the third charges from day one for a cleaner modelling experience. What separates them is less about features than about how much you can find out before you talk to a salesperson.

1. Carta: The Default Record Most Investors Already Read

Carta's bet from the beginning was that a cap table gets more valuable when everyone who touches it sits on the same system. It started as an electronic share certificate tool and grew into a stack that covers incorporation, SAFE issuance, 409A valuations, option exercises, waterfall modelling, secondaries, and fund administration on the investor side. That network effect is the honest reason Carta leads most shortlists: your lead investor probably already has a login, and your next one probably will too.

Carta Ownership Records: A broad equity record connects founders, investors, counsel, and auditors.

The friction is price discovery. Launch is free for up to 25 stakeholders and $1M raised, which covers a founding team and a first angel round. Everything above it publishes no dollar figure. Carta's own FAQ states that each package "has a price per stakeholder with a minimum annual fee," Build is capped at up to 50 stakeholders, and Grow and Scale are listed with a flexible stakeholder limit. Two of the three numbers that determine your bill are invisible until you're in a sales call, which is why so many founders shop the field first.

Target audience. Companies expecting heavy investor and auditor traffic on the record, where breadth and familiarity matter more than a published price.

Sizing fit. 1-10 on the free tier, 10-50 on Build, 50-200 and 200+ on Grow and Scale.

Stage fit. Incorporation through late-stage secondaries, the widest span on this list.

Pros Cons
Broadest feature coverage from formation through liquidity No published dollar figure on any paid tier
Investors, auditors, and counsel are likely already on it Build's 50-stakeholder cap arrives fast after a seed round
Publishes the private-market datasets the rest of the category cites Per-stakeholder pricing plus a hidden minimum fee makes forecasting hard

Pricing: Launch free, up to 25 stakeholders and $1M raised. Build, Grow, and Scale are priced per stakeholder against a minimum annual fee, with no published figures; Build is capped at up to 50 stakeholders while Grow and Scale carry a flexible stakeholder limit.

Best for: A company that wants the widest feature surface and the largest investor network, and can absorb a sales conversation to find out what it costs.

If the pricing opacity is what's pushing you to look elsewhere, the dedicated Carta alternatives guide works through the same field from that angle.

2. Pulley: Round Modelling Without a Free Tier to Fall Back On

Pulley's product argument is that modelling should be the part you never dread. SAFE stacks with different caps and discounts, priced rounds with a new option pool carved out pre-money, secondary sales, and the dilution each of those pushes onto every existing holder: Pulley builds all of that into scenarios a founder can run without a spreadsheet or a lawyer. For a company still deciding how big the next pool needs to be, that's the whole job.

Pulley Round Modelling: Model SAFEs and priced rounds to understand how ownership changes.

What Pulley doesn't do is give anything away. There's no free plan at any stakeholder count, and the only free entry is a trial aimed at companies switching off Carta. Startup runs $1,200 a year and includes the first 25 stakeholders. Growth runs $3,500 a year and includes the first 40, adding the operational layer a company needs once it grants options on a regular cadence. Enterprise is quote only, billed annually. Pulley publishes no per-extra-stakeholder rate, so the cost of crossing a tier boundary is a question you have to ask.

One counting quirk is worth planning around: angel investors writing checks for $50,000 or less count as half a stakeholder toward your limit. A party round of twenty small checks therefore consumes ten slots, not twenty.

Target audience. Seed and Series A teams that would rather pay from day one than manage a free-tier ceiling.

Sizing fit. 1-10 and 10-50 comfortably; past 50 stakeholders you're negotiating.

Stage fit. Strongest from the first priced round through Series B.

Pros Cons
SAFE and priced-round scenario modelling built for founders No free tier at any stakeholder count
Growth adds option exercise and compliance workflow at a published price The Startup to Growth step is a $2,300 a year jump
Separate token cap table product for companies issuing tokens No published per-extra-stakeholder rate above the included count

Pricing: Startup $1,200/year (first 25 stakeholders included). Growth $3,500/year (first 40 stakeholders included). Enterprise: contact us, billed annually. Token Cap Table $4,500/year and Token Distributions $4,500/year; token valuations from $10,000.

Best for: A founder who models rounds often, wants a published price, and doesn't need a free tier to start.

For the head-to-head against the incumbent, see Carta vs. Pulley. If Pulley is the platform you're shopping away from, the Pulley alternatives guide takes that angle.

3. Fidelity Private Shares: A Free Record With a Custodian Behind It

Fidelity Private Shares is the equity platform Fidelity built for private companies, and its opening move is deliberately aimed at the very earliest stage. Launch is free for up to 25 stakeholders and under $1M raised, matching Carta's free tier almost exactly, with a name behind it that a first-time founder's board and counsel will already recognise.

Fidelity Private Shares: Company formation and the early ownership record can start together.

The move that no other platform on this list matches is the incorporation bundle: $400 covers Delaware C Corp filing fees, one year of registered agent service, and a complimentary Launch subscription. If you haven't incorporated yet, that folds entity formation and your ownership record into a single decision at a price below what most registered agents charge on their own.

The catch sits above the free tier. Startup, Growth, and Scale all publish feature lists and no dollar figures, so the moment you outgrow Launch you're back to a quote. Startup adds premier support, investor updates, and Form 3921 filing. Growth adds 409A valuations, priority onboarding, ASC 718 support, and HRIS and payroll integration. Those are the features most companies need at exactly the point they cross the free ceiling, so plan on a conversation somewhere between your seed and your Series A.

Target audience. Pre-seed and first-time founders who want an institution's name on the record and possibly the incorporation handled too.

Sizing fit. 1-10 free, 10-50 on Startup or Growth once you're through a quote.

Stage fit. Strongest right at formation, given the bundled incorporation package.

Pros Cons
Free Launch tier with Fidelity's infrastructure behind it Every paid tier is a feature list without a price
$400 incorporation bundle includes a free Launch subscription The $1M-raised condition ends the free tier fast after a seed
Growth carries 409A, ASC 718, and payroll integration You cannot pre-qualify the cost of the tier you'll actually need

Pricing: Launch free, up to 25 stakeholders and under $1M raised. Startup, Growth, and Scale publish feature lists only, with no dollar figures. Delaware C Corp incorporation package $400, including filing fees, one year of registered agent service, and a complimentary Launch subscription.

Best for: A founder incorporating now who wants formation and the ownership record bought together, from a name their investors already trust.

Getting the books started at the same time is a reasonable instinct; our accounting software roundup covers that decision for a company at this stage.

Published-Price Platforms You Can Budget Without a Sales Call

Six platforms print real numbers on their own pricing pages, which means you can build a three-year cost model before you ever fill in a contact form. They differ sharply on what the free tier covers, what a stakeholder over the line costs, and whether a 409A valuation is inside the subscription or billed separately.

4. Ledgy: The Most Generous Free Tier, and a Real Step Up After It

Ledgy is built for companies whose ownership record has to satisfy more than a founder. Its centre of gravity is reporting: investor updates, board packs, scenario and waterfall analysis, and financial reporting that finance teams and auditors can work from directly. It's also the most multi-entity-aware platform here, which matters if your holding company sits in one country and your operating entities sit in three others.

Ledgy Multi-Entity Reporting: Bring entity records together for investor, board, and auditor reporting.

The free Launch tier caps at 50 stakeholders, double what Carta, Fidelity, and Qapita allow, and it comes with no funds-raised condition attached. For a company with a wide angel list and a modest raise, that's the longest free runway on this list by a distance.

The step up is real, though. Scale starts at EUR 5,000 a year and includes 50 or more stakeholders. Enterprise starts at EUR 18,000 a year and includes 200 or more. Public companies are quoted custom. The financial reporting module is priced separately: Essentials from EUR 3,000 a year and Advanced from EUR 5,000 a year, so a company that wants Ledgy specifically for its reporting depth should model the add-on, not just the plan.

Target audience. European and globally distributed companies where investors, auditors, and a board all read the same record.

Sizing fit. 1-50 free, 50-200 on Scale, 200+ on Enterprise.

Stage fit. Series A through pre-IPO, with the free tier covering everything before that.

Pros Cons
50-stakeholder free tier with no funds-raised condition The jump from free to Scale is EUR 5,000 a year
Deep investor, board, and financial reporting for finance teams Financial reporting is a separately priced add-on
Strong multi-entity and multi-jurisdiction handling Priced in euros, so non-eurozone buyers carry the FX risk

Pricing: Launch free, maximum 50 stakeholders. Scale starts at EUR 5,000/year, 50+ stakeholders included. Enterprise starts at EUR 18,000/year, 200+ stakeholders included. Public companies: custom. Financial reporting add-on: Essentials from EUR 3,000/year, Advanced from EUR 5,000/year.

Best for: A European or multi-entity company that will outgrow a 25-stakeholder cap quickly and wants reporting an auditor can use.

If Ledgy is the platform you're already on and looking past, the Ledgy alternatives guide covers the switch in detail.

5. Astrella by EQ: Banded Pricing Published to 300 Stakeholders

Astrella is the equity platform from EQ, the share registrar and transfer agent group, and it's the clearest pricing page in this category. Three bands, three published numbers, all billed annually: Early Stage at $1,200 a year for 0 to 25 stakeholders, Emerging at $3,200 a year for 26 to 100, and Accelerate at $8,200 a year for 101 to 300. Above 300 stakeholders you're quoted. The page carries one caveat worth reading: pricing shown is standard pricing and may not reflect partnership or custom arrangements, so a partner referral could move it.

What that buys you is a cost model you can actually build. You can forecast the year your headcount crosses 100, know the bill goes from $3,200 to $8,200, and decide in advance whether that's acceptable. No other platform on this list lets you plan three tiers ahead without a phone call.

The tradeoff is the absence of a free tier. Astrella starts you on a paid plan from your first stakeholder, so a two-founder company pays $1,200 a year for a record that Ledgy or Fidelity would hold for nothing.

Target audience. Finance leads who need a defensible budget line more than they need a free tier.

Sizing fit. 1-25, 25-100, and 100-300 all carry published numbers; past 300 it's custom.

Stage fit. Seed through late-stage private, with the registrar relationship becoming more useful the closer you get to liquidity.

Pros Cons
Published prices across every band up to 300 stakeholders No free tier, so day-one cost is $1,200 a year
Backed by EQ's registrar and transfer agent infrastructure Above 300 stakeholders the published trail stops
Annual billing keeps the cost model simple Standard pricing may not match what a partner referral gets you

Pricing: Early Stage $1,200/year (0-25 stakeholders). Emerging $3,200/year (26-100 stakeholders). Accelerate $8,200/year (101-300 stakeholders). Above 300 stakeholders: custom quote. All tiers billed annually.

Best for: A CFO or controller who has to defend a three-year software budget and wants every number in it published.

6. Cake Equity: A Dollar Per Extra Stakeholder on the Entry Tier

Cake Equity comes out of Australia and is built around option and share scheme administration for APAC companies, with employee-facing tooling that makes a grant legible to the person receiving it. Its pricing is the most granular here, and one number stands out: on Build, an extra stakeholder beyond the included 25 costs $1. Not $40, not $50. One dollar a year.

Cake Equity Stakeholder Growth: Model the cost of added holders alongside the base subscription.

That changes the shape of the decision for a company with a long tail of small holders. A 25-stakeholder Build plan at $1,000 a year that grows to 60 stakeholders costs $1,035, where the same growth on Qapita's Surge tier would add $40 per head. Team, at $2,750 a year with 40 stakeholders included, moves the overage rate to $5 and folds in an audit-ready 409A valuation. Pro is custom-priced with 100 stakeholders included, a $60 per additional stakeholder rate, and a 409A included; that $60 rate belongs to Pro, not Team, and it's the number that makes Pro expensive at the margin. A standalone 409A add-on runs $1,500.

The free tier is the thinnest on this list at 5 stakeholders, which is a founding team and nothing else. Build also saves 10% against quarterly billing, so annual is the cheaper commitment.

Target audience. APAC-headquartered startups granting options to employees and contractors across several countries.

Sizing fit. 1-10 free, 10-50 on Build, 50-200 on Team or Pro.

Stage fit. Seed through Series B, especially once the option pool has more heads in it than the cap table has investors.

Pros Cons
$1 per additional stakeholder on Build, the cheapest overage here The free tier stops at 5 stakeholders
Team includes an audit-ready 409A valuation in the subscription Pro's $60 per additional stakeholder rate is the steepest on this list
Employee-facing option scheme tooling built for APAC jurisdictions Pro's base price is custom, so the top tier isn't budgetable

Pricing: Free $0, 5 stakeholders included. Build $1,000 annually, 25 stakeholders included, $1 per additional stakeholder, saving 10% against quarterly billing. Team $2,750 annually, 40 stakeholders included, $5 per additional stakeholder, audit-ready 409A valuation included. Pro custom, 100 stakeholders included, $60 per additional stakeholder, 409A included. Standalone 409A add-on $1,500.

Best for: An APAC company with a long list of small holders, where a per-stakeholder overage rate decides the whole bill.

Once options are going to employees on a schedule, the grant record and the HR record need to agree; our HR software roundup covers the system on the other side of that handshake.

7. Eqvista: 409A Valuations Priced Openly by Funding Round

Eqvista inverts the usual model. Most platforms sell you a cap table subscription and treat the 409A valuation as an add-on or a tier upgrade. Eqvista publishes the 409A price first, banded by the round you've raised, and treats the cap table as the thing that comes with it.

The valuation ladder is public: $990 a year for a startup or pre-revenue company, $1,290 for friends and family or angel-stage, $1,990 for seed, $2,590 for Series A, and custom for Series B and beyond. Annual 409A packages include unlimited 409A updates across the year plus the premium cap table, which matters more than it sounds. A company that raises a bridge, issues a big grant, and then does a priced round in the same twelve months needs more than one valuation, and paying once for all of them is a genuine saving. Expedited processing starts at $490 and QSBS attestation starts at $1,000.

The cap table on its own is priced simply: Freemium is $0 for under 20 stakeholders with no credit card, and Premium runs $2 per stakeholder per month, moving to custom pricing above 50 stakeholders.

Target audience. US startups that need repeat 409A valuations and want the price visible before they commit.

Sizing fit. 1-20 free, 20-50 on Premium, custom above 50.

Stage fit. Pre-revenue through Series A, where the published valuation ladder still applies.

Pros Cons
409A pricing published by funding round, starting at $990/year Cap table pricing goes custom above 50 stakeholders
Annual 409A packages include unlimited updates plus the cap table Per-stakeholder monthly billing adds up on a wide holder list
Freemium tier needs no credit card Series B and beyond drops out of the published ladder

Pricing: Freemium cap table $0, under 20 stakeholders, no credit card. Premium cap table $2/month per stakeholder, custom pricing above 50 stakeholders. 409A by round: startup or pre-revenue $990/year, friends and family or angel $1,290/year, seed $1,990/year, Series A $2,590/year, Series B and above custom. Expedited processing from $490. QSBS attestation from $1,000.

Best for: A company that expects to need more than one 409A this year and wants the total cost visible up front.

8. EquityList: Thirty-Five Included Stakeholders on the Entry Tier

EquityList repriced its lineup and the result is one of the better entry-tier deals in this category, so ignore any older write-up describing a "Seed" plan at $2,200 a year. The current shape is four tiers. Free is $0 with 10 stakeholders included and 1,000 lifetime AI credits for document parsing and data extraction, and it is no longer gated on how much you've raised, which makes it usable by a company that has already closed a seed round.

EquityList Plan Headroom: Included stakeholder capacity matters before overage fees begin.

Build is $1,200 billed annually, which works out to $100 a month, and includes 35 stakeholders with additional stakeholders at $35 a year each. Billed monthly instead, Build is $125 a month with additional stakeholders at $4 a month, so the annual commitment is the cheaper path by $300 a year. Growth is $3,500 billed annually and includes 50 stakeholders with additional stakeholders at $50 a year. Enterprise is custom.

Thirty-five included stakeholders on a $1,200 entry tier is more headroom than Pulley (25), Astrella (25), or Cake's Build (25) give at a similar price. The place EquityList gets expensive is the Growth overage: $50 per stakeholder a year is above Qapita's $40 on Surge and far above Cake's $1 on Build, so a company with a wide holder list should model the overage carefully rather than reading the base price alone.

Target audience. Seed and Series A companies that want AI-assisted document handling and a wide included stakeholder count.

Sizing fit. 1-10 free, 10-50 on Build, 50-200 on Growth.

Stage fit. Post-seed through Series B.

Pros Cons
35 included stakeholders on a $1,200 entry tier $50 per stakeholder a year on Growth is above peer rates
Free tier no longer gated on funds raised AI credits on the free tier are lifetime, not recurring
Annual billing on Build saves $300 against monthly Enterprise pricing is custom with no published floor

Pricing: Free $0, 10 stakeholders included, 1,000 lifetime AI credits. Build $1,200 billed annually (equivalent to $100/month), 35 stakeholders included, plus $35 per additional stakeholder per year; billed monthly Build is $125/month plus $4 per additional stakeholder per month. Growth $3,500 billed annually, 50 stakeholders included, plus $50 per additional stakeholder per year. Enterprise: custom.

Best for: A post-seed company with roughly 30 stakeholders that wants the widest included count at the lowest published entry price.

9. Qapita: ESOP Administration Built for India and Southeast Asia

Qapita is built around the ESOP mechanics that dominate India and Southeast Asia, where option grants, exercise windows, and buyback events follow local rules that a US-built platform models awkwardly at best. If your company is registered in India, Singapore, or Indonesia and running an active option plan, Qapita's grant and exercise workflows will feel like they were written for your paperwork, because they were.

Pricing is published in USD and billed annually. Spark is free for up to 25 stakeholders and under $1M raised. Surge is $1,600 a year for up to 40 stakeholders, with $40 per stakeholder per year beyond that. Growth is $3,000 a year for up to 50 stakeholders, with $60 per stakeholder per year beyond. Enterprise is custom. Publishing the overage rate on every paid tier is more transparency than Pulley, Astrella, or Carta offer, and it lets you price the year your ESOP doubles.

The USD denomination is worth noting for local buyers. A company earning in rupees or rupiah and paying an annual bill in dollars carries the currency movement, which on a $3,000 plan is small but not nothing across a three-year commitment.

Target audience. India and Southeast Asia companies with an active ESOP and a growing grantee list.

Sizing fit. 1-25 free, 25-50 on Surge or Growth, 50-200 with overage or Enterprise.

Stage fit. Seed through Series C, with ESOP administration becoming the main job from Series A onward.

Pros Cons
Every paid tier publishes its per-stakeholder overage rate Priced in USD regardless of where you're incorporated
ESOP grant, exercise, and buyback workflows built for local rules Growth's $60 per stakeholder a year is a steep overage
Free Spark tier matches Carta's 25-stakeholder cap Enterprise pricing is custom with no published starting point

Pricing: Spark free, up to 25 stakeholders and under $1M raised. Surge $1,600/year (USD), up to 40 stakeholders, plus $40 per stakeholder per year beyond. Growth $3,000/year (USD), up to 50 stakeholders, plus $60 per stakeholder per year beyond. Enterprise: custom. All tiers billed annually.

Best for: An Indian or Southeast Asian company whose main cap table workload is running an ESOP, not modelling the next priced round.

Regional Specialists Built Around Local Company Law

Two platforms here compete less on features than on jurisdiction. Their value is that they speak the local filing language natively, which a US-built platform simply doesn't, and that changes what your counsel has to do manually every quarter.

10. Capboard: A Lighter European Record With an Unreadable Price Page

Capboard positions itself as the smaller, simpler European option: a clean ownership record with vesting, scenario modelling, and stakeholder portals, aimed at companies that find Ledgy heavier and more expensive than their situation calls for. For a Spanish, French, or German startup with a couple of share classes and a modest option pool, that pitch lands.

The problem is that you can't price it. On Capboard's own pricing page the plan figures do not render at all: the page shows raw template placeholders where the numbers should be, along the lines of a monthly figure and an included stakeholder count that were never filled in. That's not a fetch failure on our end or a paywall; it's what the live page shows. So the plan cost is a conversation, not a published number.

What Capboard does publish is its add-ons, and those are useful for building a floor. Premium support runs $50 a month or EUR 50 a month. The onboarding package is a one-time $300 or EUR 300 for companies up to 100 stakeholders. And a 409A valuation through Capboard's partner is a flat $1,800, which is a real number to compare against Cake's $1,500 standalone and Capboard's more expensive US-focused rivals.

Target audience. Continental European startups that want a lighter record than Ledgy and don't mind asking for a quote.

Sizing fit. 1-10 and 10-50 are the natural range; the onboarding package is scoped to 100 stakeholders.

Stage fit. Pre-seed through Series A.

Pros Cons
Positioned as a cheaper, lighter alternative to Ledgy in Europe Plan prices do not render on the vendor's own pricing page
Flat $1,800 partner-sourced 409A valuation Support and onboarding are separately billed line items
Published one-time onboarding fee scoped up to 100 stakeholders Thinner reporting depth than Ledgy at the growth stage

Pricing: Plan prices do not render on Capboard's own pricing page, so a plan figure requires contacting the vendor. Published add-ons: premium support $50/month or EUR 50/month; onboarding package $300 or EUR 300 one-time for companies up to 100 stakeholders; 409A valuation $1,800 through a partner.

Best for: A European startup that wants a simpler record than Ledgy and is willing to trade a published plan price for it.

11. Vestd: Two-Way Companies House Filing for UK Companies

Vestd is the UK specialist, and the specialism is not cosmetic. It's built around EMI option schemes, the tax-advantaged structure most UK startups use, and it files in both directions with Companies House, so a share issue recorded in Vestd flows through to the statutory record rather than sitting in a parallel spreadsheet your accountant reconciles later. It handles growth shares and unapproved options too, and it supports live HMRC submissions as a paid add-on.

Vestd Statutory Filing: Keep UK share records and Companies House filings synchronized.

Vestd does publish plan prices, contrary to what several older roundups claim. Self-Serve starts at GBP 2,200 a year, or from GBP 220 a month if you'd rather pay monthly, and the annual commitment is the cheaper of the two. Guided starts at GBP 4,200 a year, or from GBP 420 a month, and adds hands-on help with scheme design and setup. Full Service is enquire-only. VAT is charged on top of all of it, and the minimum term is 12 months.

The add-on list is long and worth reading before you commit, because a UK company usually needs several of them: company incorporation adds GBP 100, InVestd Raise runs GBP 150 a month, additional valuations start at GBP 1,000, 409A valuations start at GBP 700, digitising an existing scheme starts at GBP 250, live HMRC submission support adds GBP 25 a month, new share classes start at GBP 250, Companies House reconciliations start at GBP 25 a month, a nominee structure covering up to 50 shareholders starts at GBP 50 a month, and share movement history starts at GBP 250.

Target audience. UK-incorporated companies running EMI schemes with statutory filing obligations.

Sizing fit. 10-50 and 50-200; the nominee structure add-on is scoped to 50 shareholders.

Stage fit. Seed through Series B, and useful from incorporation given the formation add-on.

Pros Cons
Two-way Companies House filing no US platform replicates Priced in GBP with VAT charged on top
EMI, growth share, and unapproved option schemes handled natively Minimum 12-month term with no free tier published
Plan prices published for both self-serve and guided tiers A long add-on list means the headline price rarely stands alone

Pricing: Self-Serve from GBP 2,200/year (from GBP 220/month). Guided from GBP 4,200/year (from GBP 420/month). Full Service: enquire. VAT charged in addition; minimum 12-month term. Add-ons include company incorporation +GBP 100, InVestd Raise GBP 150/month, additional valuations from GBP 1,000, 409A valuations from GBP 700, existing scheme digitisation from GBP 250, live HMRC submission support +GBP 25/month, new share classes from GBP 250, Companies House reconciliations from GBP 25/month, nominee structure (up to 50 shareholders) from GBP 50/month, and share movement history from GBP 250.

Best for: A UK company running an EMI scheme that wants its cap table and its statutory filings to be the same act, not two.

12. AngelList: A Cap Table Sitting Inside the Investing Stack

AngelList's cap table exists because AngelList already sits on the other side of the table. If your rounds come through AngelList syndicates and SPVs, or you're running a rolling fund or scout program on the platform, having the ownership record in the same place as the vehicles buying into it removes a reconciliation step that most companies do by email.

Two things to know before you shortlist it. First, AngelList publishes fund administration pricing only. There is no standalone cap table price anywhere on its site, so a company coming to AngelList purely for the cap table has no published figure to work from. Second, since August 2025 new customers receive only the rebuilt cap table product, so third-party reviews written before that date may describe features or an interface you won't get.

That makes AngelList a strong fit for a narrow group and an awkward one outside it. If AngelList is already your fundraising mechanism, the integration is genuinely valuable. If it isn't, you're adopting a cap table from a company whose main business is fund administration, without a published price to compare against the six platforms above that do publish one.

Target audience. Founders already running SPVs, syndicates, or fund formation through AngelList.

Sizing fit. 1-10 and 10-50, matching the stage where AngelList vehicles are most active.

Stage fit. Pre-seed through Series A.

Pros Cons
The record sits beside the vehicles investing in your company No standalone cap table price published anywhere
Fund administration, SPVs, and cap table share one login Fund administration is the main business, not the cap table
Familiar to a large pool of angel and syndicate investors Since August 2025 new customers get only the rebuilt product

Pricing: No published cap table pricing. AngelList publishes fund administration pricing only, so cap table cost requires a direct conversation.

Best for: A startup whose funding already flows through AngelList and wants one fewer system to reconcile.

13. Shareworks (Morgan Stanley at Work): The Institutional Record for Late-Stage and Public Companies

Shareworks is where cap tables go once the stakes change. Morgan Stanley at Work acquired Solium's Shareworks and wired it into the bank's wealth management and stock plan infrastructure, which means the platform is built for the problems that arrive late: thousands of participants, a tender offer or secondary program, transfer agent duties, public-company reporting obligations, and participants who want to sell shares through a brokerage relationship rather than a form.

Shareworks Liquidity Readiness: Institutional equity administration supports tender offers and public-company needs.

Nothing about it is self-serve. There's no published pricing anywhere, no signup flow, and no free tier. Buying Shareworks means a sales process, an implementation, and usually a broader Morgan Stanley at Work conversation covering retirement and financial wellness alongside equity. For a Series C company with a real liquidity event on the horizon, that's not a drawback; it's the point. For a seed-stage company with 18 stakeholders, it's an entirely wrong fit.

The practical question for most readers isn't whether Shareworks is good, it's when to move. The usual trigger is the first tender offer or the start of IPO readiness work, when the record stops being an internal document and starts being something a bank, an auditor, and eventually a regulator all read.

Target audience. Late-stage private and public companies with liquidity events, transfer agent needs, and thousands of participants.

Sizing fit. 200+ almost exclusively; below that the implementation weight outstrips the benefit.

Stage fit. Series C through public, and the platform most companies migrate to rather than start on.

Pros Cons
Institutional administration backed by Morgan Stanley's infrastructure No published pricing and no self-serve signup
Built for tender offers, secondaries, and public-company reporting Implementation is a project, not a weekend migration
Participant brokerage and wealth services in the same relationship Far too heavy for anything below late-stage private

Pricing: No published pricing. Quote only, with no self-serve signup available.

Best for: A late-stage or newly public company where the ownership record has to satisfy a bank, an auditor, and a regulator at the same time.

For the migration question specifically, Carta vs. Shareworks covers the point where one hands off to the other, and the Shareworks alternatives guide covers what else fits at that stage.

Free Tier Comparison: What Each Platform Gives Away Before You Pay

Seven of the 13 platforms hold your ownership record for nothing at some size, and the caps are further apart than most buyers assume. Ledgy's 50 stakeholders with no funding condition is double what Carta, Fidelity Private Shares, and Qapita allow, and ten times what Cake Equity's free tier covers. EquityList's free tier used to be gated on how much you'd raised; it isn't any more, which quietly makes it usable by a company that has already closed a seed round. Pulley and Astrella don't offer a free tier at all.

Tool Free Tier Cap Condition
Ledgy 50 stakeholders None beyond the stakeholder count
Carta 25 stakeholders Under $1M raised
Fidelity Private Shares 25 stakeholders Under $1M raised
Qapita 25 stakeholders Under $1M raised
Eqvista Under 20 stakeholders None beyond the stakeholder count, no credit card
EquityList 10 stakeholders None beyond the stakeholder count, plus 1,000 lifetime AI credits
Cake Equity 5 stakeholders None beyond the stakeholder count
Pulley No free tier Free trial only, aimed at companies switching from Carta
Astrella by EQ No free tier Free trial only
Vestd None published Minimum 12-month term
Capboard None published Plan prices do not render on the vendor's page
AngelList None published No standalone cap table pricing
Shareworks (Morgan Stanley at Work) No free tier Quote only, no self-serve signup

Stage Fit: Which Platform Matches Your Funding Round

The record you need at incorporation and the record you need before a tender offer are different products, and very few platforms are honestly good at both ends. This matrix is about fit, not quality: a "poor fit" for Shareworks at pre-seed says the implementation weight is wrong for that stage, not that the platform is weak.

Cap Table Fit by Funding Stage: Match formation, recurring grants, and liquidity needs to platform depth.

Tool Pre-seed Seed to Series A Series B to C Late stage or public
Carta Strong Strong Strong Strong
Pulley Workable Strong Strong Poor fit
Fidelity Private Shares Strong Strong Workable Poor fit
Ledgy Strong Strong Strong Workable
Astrella by EQ Workable Strong Strong Workable
Cake Equity Strong Strong Workable Poor fit
Eqvista Strong Strong Workable Poor fit
EquityList Strong Strong Workable Poor fit
Qapita Strong Strong Strong Poor fit
Capboard Strong Workable Poor fit Poor fit
Vestd Workable Strong Strong Poor fit
AngelList Strong Workable Poor fit Poor fit
Shareworks (Morgan Stanley at Work) Poor fit Poor fit Workable Strong

The step most companies underestimate sits between Series A and Series B, when option grants start flowing on a monthly cadence and the cap table has to agree with the HR record about who joined, who left, and when vesting stopped. That's the point where HRIS and payroll integration stops being a nice extra, and where choosing the payroll system on the other side of that sync starts to matter to your equity workflow.

409A and Valuation Costs: What Sits Inside the Subscription

A 409A valuation is the cost most buyers forget when comparing subscription prices, and it's often larger than the subscription itself. Some platforms fold it into a tier, some sell it as an add-on with a published number, and several publish nothing at all. Compare total annual cost, not plan price.

Tool 409A inside a plan? Published valuation cost
Eqvista Yes, annual 409A packages include unlimited updates plus the premium cap table $990 pre-revenue, $1,290 angel, $1,990 seed, $2,590 Series A, custom above
Cake Equity Yes, on Team ($2,750/year) and Pro $1,500 standalone add-on
Pulley Yes, on Growth ($3,500/year) No standalone 409A figure published; token valuations from $10,000
Fidelity Private Shares Yes, on Growth No figure published, since Growth itself has no published price
Carta On paid tiers No figure published
Capboard No, sourced through a partner $1,800 flat
Vestd No, priced as an add-on 409A valuations from GBP 700; other valuations from GBP 1,000
Ledgy Not stated in published pricing No figure published
Astrella by EQ Not stated in published pricing No figure published
EquityList Not stated in published pricing No figure published
Qapita Not stated in published pricing No figure published
AngelList Not stated in published pricing No figure published
Shareworks (Morgan Stanley at Work) Not stated in published pricing No figure published

Regional Fit: Where Each Platform's Compliance Actually Reaches

Cap table software is only as good as its grasp of the company law you're incorporated under. A US platform will hold a UK share register accurately and still leave your accountant filing at Companies House by hand.

Tool Primary region What it handles natively
Carta United States, with a European arm Delaware structures, 409A, Rule 701, secondaries
Pulley United States US priced rounds, SAFEs, Rule 701, Form 3921, token cap tables
Fidelity Private Shares United States Delaware incorporation, 83(b), Rule 701, ASC 718 on Growth
Ledgy Europe and global Multi-entity European structures, investor and board reporting
Astrella by EQ United States and United Kingdom Registrar and transfer agent workflows through EQ
Cake Equity Australia and wider APAC APAC option and share schemes, employee-facing grant tooling
Eqvista United States Round-banded 409A valuations, QSBS attestation
EquityList India, Singapore, and the United States Multi-jurisdiction grants with AI-assisted document handling
Qapita India and Southeast Asia Local ESOP grant, exercise, and buyback mechanics
Capboard Continental Europe Lighter European share registers and stakeholder portals
Vestd United Kingdom EMI schemes, growth shares, two-way Companies House filing, HMRC submissions
AngelList United States SPVs, syndicates, and rolling funds alongside the cap table
Shareworks (Morgan Stanley at Work) Global, enterprise Transfer agent duties, tender offers, public-company administration

Pricing Transparency: Published Figures Versus Quote Only

Transparency is not the same as being cheap, but it decides how much of your evaluation you can do alone. Astrella publishes every band to 300 stakeholders. Carta publishes only the free tier. Capboard publishes add-ons but not plans. That difference shapes how long your procurement takes more than the underlying software does.

Published Pricing vs Quotes: What's the Difference?: Public plan figures support early budgeting; custom quotes require a scoped vendor conversation.

Tool Entry price published Overage rate published Top private tier published
Astrella by EQ Yes, $1,200/year Banded, not per stakeholder Yes, $8,200/year to 300 stakeholders
Cake Equity Yes, $1,000/year Yes, $1 on Build, $5 on Team, $60 on Pro No, Pro is custom
Qapita Yes, $1,600/year Yes, $40 on Surge, $60 on Growth No, Enterprise is custom
EquityList Yes, $1,200/year Yes, $35 on Build, $50 on Growth No, Enterprise is custom
Pulley Yes, $1,200/year No No, Enterprise is custom
Eqvista Yes, $2 per stakeholder per month Yes, per stakeholder No, custom above 50 stakeholders
Ledgy Yes, from EUR 5,000/year No Yes, Enterprise from EUR 18,000/year
Vestd Yes, from GBP 2,200/year No No, Full Service is enquire only
Carta Free tier only No No
Fidelity Private Shares Free tier only No No
Capboard No, plan prices do not render No No
AngelList No No No
Shareworks (Morgan Stanley at Work) No No No

How to Choose: Decision Framework

If you need... Choose
The longest free runway before you pay anything Ledgy, at 50 stakeholders with no funding condition
A published price for every band up to 300 stakeholders Astrella by EQ
The cheapest cost of adding stakeholders you didn't plan for Cake Equity, at $1 per additional stakeholder on Build
Repeat 409A valuations priced openly before you commit Eqvista, from $990 a year with unlimited updates
Incorporation and the ownership record bought together Fidelity Private Shares, at $400 for the Delaware package
Native UK EMI schemes and Companies House filing Vestd, from GBP 2,200 a year plus VAT
ESOP grant and exercise mechanics built for India or Southeast Asia Qapita, or Cake Equity for Australia and wider APAC
Round modelling as the daily job, with a token cap table available Pulley, from $1,200 a year
The widest feature surface and the largest investor network Carta, accepting that every paid tier needs a sales call
Institutional administration for a tender offer or an IPO Shareworks (Morgan Stanley at Work)

What to Do Next

Write down two numbers before you look at another pricing page: your current stakeholder count, and what it will be twelve months from now if hiring and fundraising go the way you expect. Then take those two numbers to the free-tier table and the pricing transparency table above. Most buyers pick on the entry price and get surprised by the second number, because the tier boundary, not the plan, is what sets the real bill.

Then shortlist two platforms and ask each the same question: what does this cost at double my current stakeholder count, with a 409A valuation included? Cake Equity answers it for $35 of overage on Build. EquityList answers it for $50 a head a year on Growth. Carta and Fidelity Private Shares can't answer it from a public page at all. The vendors that can answer in writing are the ones you can plan around.

Camellia writes about equity management and cap table software for B2B teams. Pricing verified against vendor pricing pages in September 2026.

About the author

Camellia

Camellia

Principal Product Marketing Strategist

Camellia is Principal Product Marketing Strategist at Rework, helping B2B buyers pick the right software with confidence. With 6+ years in product marketing and 150+ SaaS tools evaluated across CRM, project management, and sales engagement, Camellia turns competitive intelligence into clear, honest comparisons. Readers get vendor evaluations they can trust to cut through marketing noise and decide faster.