Best AEO Tools for Ecommerce in 2026: 14 Tools Compared at the Product Level
Turn this article into takeaways for your work.
Each assistant summarizes the article only for you and suggests best practices for your work.
For an online retailer, the best AEO tool is the one that tracks your products, not just your brand name. Of the 14 tools here, Peec AI is the cheapest self-serve option with SKU-level tracking ($95 a month, ChatGPT shopping only), and Rankscale follows at $99 with Google AI Mode and Copilot shopping added. Goodie covers the most shopping surfaces but puts SKU tracking on a demo-gated tier at $999 a month on annual billing. Profound, Writesonic and Semrush keep product tracking inside Enterprise plans with no published price.
A brand-level tool answers "did ChatGPT mention us?" A retailer needs a harder answer: did ChatGPT recommend our trail shoe, in which slot, at what price, and who sold it? Almost nothing in this category was built for that second question, and the few tools that were often tuck it behind the expensive tier. We judged each tool on four things: product-level tracking, catalog intake, Google coverage, and what product tracking costs at a real workload. Prices come from vendor pricing pages. Where a page shows different numbers by region or billing period, the table says so.
Key Facts
- Traffic from AI sources to US retail sites grew 393% year over year in the first quarter of 2026, and in March 2026 it converted 42% better than non-AI traffic, after converting 38% worse a year earlier, per Adobe Digital Insights. Adobe sells analytics and AI visibility products, and completed its Semrush acquisition in April 2026.
- Adobe's own AI Content Visibility Checker scored US retail product pages at 66% machine-readable, against 75% for homepages, in the same report. It's a vendor tool, so read it as directional.
- After 10 July 2026, feed-integrated product picks in ChatGPT Shopping rose from 8.26% to 61.54% of tracked recommendations, per Profound's research. Profound sells shopping analytics, the data is observational, and OpenAI has not confirmed the cause.
- OpenAI states that ChatGPT product results are selected independently and are not ads, and that Shopify merchants are connected through Shopify Catalog (OpenAI Help Center).
- Google users clicked a traditional result link on 8% of visits that showed an AI summary versus 15% without one, and clicked a link inside the summary on 1%, per Pew Research Center (900 US adults, March 2025).
Quick Comparison Table
| Tool | Best For | Product-Level Tracking | Lowest Plan With It | Key Limitation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Peec AI | Self-serve SKU tracking | Yes, AI Shopping on every tier | Starter, $95/mo | Shopping data is ChatGPT only |
| Rankscale | SKU tracking beyond ChatGPT | Yes, Shopping analysis | Pro, $99/mo | No catalog intake documented |
| Goodie | Tracking plus feed fixes, Alexa, Sparky | Yes, SKU-level | Pro, $999/mo billed annually (demo) | Self-serve Core ($399/mo annual) has no SKU view |
| Profound | Enterprise retail teams | Yes, Shopping Analysis | Enterprise, not published | Excluded from the free trial; ChatGPT focus |
| Scrunch | Retailer share by product | Yes, Shopping | Enterprise on the layout we saw, not published | ChatGPT and Copilot; feed intake on roadmap |
| Writesonic GEO | Own-site versus retailer links | Yes, Shopping Tracker | Enterprise, not published | Gated; ChatGPT only |
| LLM Pulse | Cheap ChatGPT Shopping tracking | Yes, ChatGPT Shopping tracking | Scale, EUR 299/mo (weekly) | Euro pricing; ChatGPT-centric |
| Semrush | Teams already on Semrush | Enterprise AIO only | Enterprise, not published | The $99 toolkit is brand-level, 25 prompts |
| AthenaHQ | Credits and a wide engine list | Claimed on its ecommerce page | Starter, $295/mo; plan not stated | Plans page lists no product feature |
| Alhena | Stores also wanting an AI support agent | Claimed | Essentials, $199/mo billed annually | Bundled with support conversations |
| Trakkr | Multi-brand groups wanting AI Overviews | No product module listed | Growth, $100/mo | Brand and prompt level only |
| Otterly.ai | Cheap brand-level tracking | No | Lite, $29/mo | No shopping module found |
| Ahrefs Brand Radar | Teams already on Ahrefs | No | Free on paid Lite plans and up | No shopping module found |
| HubSpot AEO | A beta trial | No | $50/mo | No AI Overviews; beta |
Why Ecommerce Is a Different Problem
For a software company, a brand mention is the unit of success. For a retailer it isn't. Shoppers ask for "waterproof hiking boots under $150" and get a shortlist of specific products with prices, ratings and sellers. Your brand can appear in that answer while your best-selling boot doesn't, and a brand-level report scores that as a win.
Two other things make retail unusual. Product data matters as much as content: Shopify merchants reach ChatGPT through Shopify Catalog automatically, other merchants can apply to send a direct feed, and Profound's July data (below) suggests feeds now drive most product picks. And the answer carries a price and a seller, so a wrong price or a retailer taking your click is a measurable loss.
| Question a Retailer Asks | A Brand-Level Tool Tells You | A Product-Level Tool Tells You |
|---|---|---|
| Do we show up for "best trail running shoes under $150"? | Whether our brand name came up | Which of our products came up, and in which slot |
| Why did our hero SKU slow down? | Nothing specific | Whether its visibility, position or win rate fell, and which rival product replaced it |
| Is the assistant quoting the right price? | Cannot see it | The quoted price against our catalog price (Peec AI), price-mention accuracy (Goodie) |
| Are shoppers sent to us or to a retailer? | Cannot see it | Direct purchase link share (Writesonic), retailer share (Scrunch), merchant views (Peec AI, Rankscale) |
| Which pages put a product in the answer? | A citation list for the brand | Shopping source visibility per product (Peec AI) |
Who Really Tracks Products
This is the table that matters. We read each vendor's own pricing and product pages, and we only count a capability the vendor states. Where a page is silent, the cell says "Not stated".
| Tool | Product-Level Feature | Lowest Plan That Includes It | Surfaces the Vendor Names | Buy Without a Sales Call? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Peec AI | AI Shopping: SKU-level visibility, position, win rate | Starter ($95) | ChatGPT ("today", per its docs) | Yes |
| Rankscale | Shopping analysis, Merchant and Product Cockpits | Pro ($99); not Essentials | ChatGPT, Google AI Mode, Bing Copilot | Yes |
| Goodie | Agentic Commerce Suite, SKU-level | Pro ($999 annual billing) | ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Mode, Alexa, Sparky | No, Pro is demo-gated |
| Profound | Shopping Analysis with SKU analysis | Enterprise; "No" in the trial | ChatGPT Shopping; Perplexity and Gemini "evolving" | No |
| Scrunch | Shopping (Product Observability) | Enterprise on the layout we saw | ChatGPT, Copilot; Perplexity "coming soon" | No |
| Writesonic GEO | Shopping Tracker | Enterprise | ChatGPT | No |
| Semrush | AI Shopping report in Enterprise AIO | Enterprise AIO | ChatGPT Shopping, Google AI Mode shopping | No |
| LLM Pulse | ChatGPT Shopping tracking | Scale | ChatGPT; Alexa for Shopping as an add-on | Yes |
| AthenaHQ | "Product level" tracking, per its ecommerce page | Not stated | ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI | Starter, yes; the feature is unconfirmed |
| Trakkr, Otterly.ai, Ahrefs, HubSpot AEO | None listed | n/a | n/a | Yes (brand-level) |
Alhena markets itself as the only AI visibility platform built for ecommerce. That line doesn't survive this table. At least seven other tools here sell a product-level module, so treat "only" as marketing.
How Shopping Surfaces Differ From Chat Answers
A chat answer is text. A shopping surface is a product carousel fed by merchant data, and each surface has its own intake and its own checkout story.
| Surface | How Products Get In | Checkout Status | Tools That See It (Verified) |
|---|---|---|---|
| ChatGPT Shopping | Shopify Catalog for Shopify merchants; direct CSV or JSON feed by application | Instant Checkout only for some eligible products; OpenAI pulled back on in-chat checkout in March 2026, per Forrester | Peec AI, Rankscale, Goodie, Profound, Scrunch, Writesonic, LLM Pulse, Semrush Enterprise |
| Google AI Mode and Gemini | Merchant Center product data and free listings | UCP checkout for select merchants in the US, Canada and Australia | Goodie, Rankscale, Semrush Enterprise |
| Bing Copilot Shopping | Not verified | Not verified | Rankscale, Scrunch |
| Amazon Alexa for Shopping | Not verified (Goodie lists a Seller Central integration) | "Buy for Me" purchases for eligible products, per Amazon | Goodie, LLM Pulse (add-on) |
| Walmart Sparky | Not verified | Not verified | Goodie |
Primary sources back the checkout column. OpenAI's help page says Instant Checkout appears only "for some eligible products and merchants". Forrester reads OpenAI's March 2026 change as a retreat from in-chat checkout and calls buying inside an answer engine the least-adopted use case. Google's Merchant Center help limits UCP checkout to select merchants in three countries. Most shoppers still discover in the assistant and buy on a site, which is why clicks and referrals matter.
Amazon's May 2026 announcement describes Alexa for Shopping as combining Rufus's product expertise with Alexa+. LLM Pulse calls it "formerly Amazon Rufus" and Goodie's pages use both names, so ask which one a vendor tracks.
What changed in ChatGPT in July 2026
Profound analyzed 1,757,723 ChatGPT Shopping prompt runs in July 2026 and reported a sharp shift to feed-sourced products.
| Measure | Before 10 July 2026 | After |
|---|---|---|
| Feed-integrated product picks | 8.26% | 61.54% on 10 July; about 65% by 3 September |
| Share of references going to the top 10 stores | 22.5% | 41.8% |
| Unique merchants referenced | 13,524 | 10,607 |
| Customers losing at least a third of Shopping visibility (7 to 9 July versus 10 to 12 July) | 450 of 687 | 67 gained by the same margin |
| Share of feed retrieval traced to Shopify | Not stated | Roughly 35% |
Source: Profound, 3 September 2026, as reported by Search Engine Journal. Profound sells Shopping Analysis, the data is "one vendor's tracked prompts", not shopper sessions, and OpenAI has not confirmed the cause.
Peec AI's own research argues OpenAI is A/B testing its own product index. Both findings can hold, and both come from vendors selling shopping analytics. Either way, your feed is now a ranking input, so a tool that only reads answers covers half the job.
Catalog Intake: Who Reads Your Products
A product-level tool needs to know what your products are, or it can't tell your SKU from a competitor's.
| Tool | Shopify | CSV | Google Merchant Center | Other |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Peec AI | Paste your storefront domain (products.json) | Yes (title and brand required) | Yes, feed accepted as is (CSV, TSV, JSON) | Works without a catalog: "All products" shows what it finds in chats |
| Goodie | Integrates | Not stated | Integrates | BigCommerce, Meta Catalog, Amazon Seller Central, custom APIs; pushes feed fixes back |
| Scrunch | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Launch post says feed intake is "on the roadmap" |
| Profound | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Help page doesn't describe catalog matching |
| Rankscale | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Product Cockpit is built from shopping results |
| LLM Pulse | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | You mark which products are yours; free ChatGPT feed checker (vendor claim) |
| AthenaHQ | Listed integration | Not stated | Not stated | Webflow also listed; plan not stated |
| Alhena | Connector listed | Not stated | Not stated | WooCommerce, Salesforce Commerce Cloud listed |
Only Peec AI documents all three intake routes in plain steps, and it says products appear within a few minutes of upload.
Google AI Overviews and AI Mode
Retail discovery doesn't live in one assistant. Google's own help page lists where free product listings can appear: Search, Images, Lens, YouTube, the Shopping tab and Gemini. So Google coverage is hard to skip, and here the market splits.
| Tool | Google AI Overviews | Google AI Mode | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Peec AI | Yes, one of 6 selectable models | Yes, same pool | You choose 3 on Starter to Advanced; shopping data is ChatGPT only |
| Goodie | Yes (Core) | Yes (Core) | AI Mode also sits in the Pro commerce suite |
| Rankscale | Yes | Yes | Shopping analysis covers AI Mode; ads tracking covers AI Overviews |
| Profound | Yes | Not named | Up to 9 engines on Enterprise |
| Scrunch | Yes | Enterprise on our layout | Another layout lists both on every tier |
| LLM Pulse | Yes | Yes | In every plan |
| AthenaHQ | Yes | Starter and up | |
| Writesonic GEO | Yes | Not named | Enterprise adds up to 10 platforms |
| Trakkr | Yes | Not named on its pricing page | 8 models on every tier |
| Otterly.ai | Yes (core 4) | Add-on | |
| Ahrefs Brand Radar | Yes | Yes | |
| Semrush toolkit | "Google AI" | Not named | Four engines listed |
| HubSpot AEO | No | No | ChatGPT, Gemini and Perplexity only |
HubSpot AEO is the clear casualty. Its page names three engines and none is a Google surface, so a retailer whose shoppers start on Google should treat it as a free trial, not a tracker. The tension that does exist is different from what you might expect. Peec AI tracks AI Overviews and has SKU-level shopping, so it's strong on both axes. But its product-level data comes from ChatGPT alone, so inside Google you get brand-level visibility, not a per-product view. Only Goodie Pro, Rankscale and Semrush Enterprise name product-level coverage of Google's AI Mode shopping. None of these tools claims it for AI Overviews.
What It Costs at a Real Workload
Headline prices in this category mislead in a specific way: the price on the front of the page usually buys brand-level tracking, and the product-level module sits one tier up.
| Tool | Entry Price | Product-Level Plan | Billing Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Peec AI | Starter $95/mo (50 prompts, 3 of 6 models) | Same tier; Pro $245 (150 prompts), Advanced $495 (350) | Monthly shown; 15% off annual; extra model $35, $85 or $165/mo by tier ($30, $70, $140 annual); unlimited users |
| Rankscale | Essentials $20/mo ($17 yearly only) | Pro $99 (1,200 credits, up to 4,800 answers); Pro+ $229 (3,000 credits, 12,000 answers) | Credits typically 0.25 per answer; no shopping in Essentials |
| Goodie | Core $399/mo billed annually | Pro $999/mo billed annually | Monthly toggle shows $478.80 and $1,198.80; Pro is demo-gated |
| LLM Pulse | Starter EUR 49/mo (weekly) | Scale EUR 299/mo weekly, EUR 449 daily (450 prompts) | Euros as served; 10 times monthly for yearly |
| Writesonic GEO | Starter $79/mo billed annually | Enterprise, not published | Basic $199 and Growth $399 also annual; no shopping below Enterprise |
| Scrunch | Core $250/mo (one layout) | Enterprise, not published | Other layout: Starter $250 annual ($300 monthly), Growth $417 annual ($500) |
| Profound | Free 7-day trial | Enterprise, not published | Trial excludes ChatGPT Shopping |
| Semrush | Base $99/mo per domain, billed annually | Enterprise AIO, not published | 25 custom prompts on Base |
| Alhena | Essentials $199/mo billed annually ($239 monthly) | Not stated | Priced on support conversations (200/mo) |
Scrunch's pricing page differs by region. One layout shows Core at $250 a month (125 prompts, 4 models including AI Overviews) plus Enterprise, with Product Observability listed for Enterprise only. A fetch from another location the same day returned Starter, Growth and Enterprise tiers and no feature matrix. Confirm what your own region sees.
Now the workload. Say one brand wants SKU-level tracking on ChatGPT plus Google AI Overviews and AI Mode, 100 prompts, checked daily. That's 100 prompts across 3 engines for 30 days, or 9,000 AI answers a month.
| Tool | Plan That Fits | Monthly Cost | Fits the Scenario? | Why |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rankscale | Pro+ | $229 | Yes | 9,000 answers at 0.25 credit is about 2,250 credits; Pro's 4,800-answer cap only fits weekly checks, at $99 |
| Peec AI | Pro | $245 | Yes | 150 prompts, pick ChatGPT, AI Mode and AI Overviews; shopping data is ChatGPT only |
| AthenaHQ | Starter | $295 | Partly | 3,600 credits (1 credit per AI response) cover about 40% of 9,000 answers; product feature unconfirmed |
| LLM Pulse | Scale, daily | EUR 449 | Yes | 450 prompts, 5 models in every plan; shopping is ChatGPT, Alexa extra |
| Goodie | Pro | $999 annual, $1,198.80 monthly | Yes | 250 prompts, 8 models; demo-gated |
| Profound, Scrunch, Writesonic, Semrush | Enterprise | Not published | Unknown | Demo-gated; ask for the product-level module in writing |
Scenario: 1 brand, 100 prompts, 3 engines, daily.
The ranking flips twice. Peec AI's $95 tier can't hold 100 prompts (it caps at 50), so the real price is $245. And Goodie's $399 Core (annual billing) looks like the commerce tool on its marketing pages, but SKU tracking starts at Pro, $999 a month on annual billing.
The 14 Tools
The order below reflects fit for a retailer who needs product-level tracking on a mid-market budget. It isn't a judgment of overall quality.
1. Peec AI: Cheapest Self-Serve SKU Tracking
Peec launched AI Shopping Analytics on 17 June 2026, and its pricing page lists the full AI Shopping feature set on all four tiers, Starter included. Per product it reports visibility, position and win rate, the price the assistant quoted against your catalog price, attribute comparisons and the merchants behind each recommendation. Catalog intake takes a Shopify domain, a CSV or a Merchant Center feed. Peec's pricing page also lists Perplexity as an add-on rather than a default engine. Agencies have a separate price list at $245, $495 and $795 a month.
Best for: Shopify and mid-size DTC teams that want product tracking without a sales call. Not ideal for: retailers whose buyers live in Google AI Mode or on Amazon, since shopping data is ChatGPT only.
| Strength | Limitation |
|---|---|
| AI Shopping on every tier, Starter included | Product-level data is ChatGPT only today |
| Three intake routes, and it works without a catalog | Prompt caps of 50, 150 and 350 by tier |
| Win rate and quoted-price check per product | Extra models cost extra; Claude is Enterprise only |
2. Rankscale: SKU Tracking Beyond ChatGPT From $99
Rankscale's changelog shows shopping analysis arriving on 19 March 2026 for ChatGPT and AI Mode, Copilot on 11 April, and Merchant and Product Cockpits on 16 May. The Merchant Cockpit shows competing merchants, price competitiveness and buy-box wins, and the Product Cockpit serves product brands. On the pricing page, shopping analysis is ticked from Pro up and crossed out for Essentials. It also tracks sponsored placements in AI shopping answers.
Best for: budget teams that want shopping data from three surfaces and can live with a credit meter. Not ideal for: stores that want to define a catalog and track named SKUs, because no intake route is documented.
| Strength | Limitation |
|---|---|
| Three shopping surfaces, plus ads tracking | No catalog upload documented |
| Product analysis ticked from Pro up | Daily tracking across engines pushes you up a tier |
| Unlimited seats | Credit math takes a calculator to predict |
3. Goodie: The Broadest Retail Suite, Behind a Demo
Goodie's Agentic Commerce Suite tracks mentions by product, ranking in comparisons, competitor placement and price-mention accuracy. It also fixes things: feed remediation, generated product copy and FAQs, schema injection and image optimization pushed to storefronts and ad feeds. Its pricing page lists SKU-level coverage on Pro and Enterprise only, across ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Mode, Alexa and Sparky, which is Walmart's assistant. Core, the self-serve tier, tracks five models at brand level. Goodie cites a 127% rise in AI-driven conversions for Dermalogica, a vendor claim.
Best for: brands that want tracking and feed fixes in one place, plus Amazon and Walmart coverage. Not ideal for: anyone who needs to see the SKU price before talking to sales.
| Strength | Limitation |
|---|---|
| Widest surface list, including Alexa and Sparky | SKU-level starts at Pro |
| Fixes feeds, copy and schema, not only reports | Core's headline price assumes annual billing |
| Revenue attribution from Core up | Pro and Enterprise need a demo |
4. Profound: Shopping Analysis for Enterprise Teams
Profound's help page says Shopping Analysis captures the full AI response, including product tiles, images, prices, merchant links and buy buttons, and tracks individual SKUs rather than brand mentions. It also reports how many tracked prompts trigger shopping answers and which retailers get the checkout. Its pricing page shows ChatGPT Shopping as "No" in the free trial and "Yes" on Enterprise, which has no published price. And Profound has repositioned around an "AI Marketer" agent, so judge it as that product.
Best for: enterprise retail teams with a vendor-evaluation process. Not ideal for: small teams, since shopping is demo-gated and ChatGPT-focused.
5. Scrunch: Retailer Share Views
Sitecore announced its acquisition of Scrunch on 3 June 2026 without disclosing terms (Bloomberg reported about $225M). Scrunch Shopping tracks how many products appear in AI shopping answers, share of shelf, first-position win rate and which retailers capture the click. Its launch post says ChatGPT and Copilot are covered, with Perplexity coming. The same post says feed intake is on the roadmap, so products are tracked from answers. On the layout we saw, Product Observability is Enterprise only.
Best for: teams that want to see which retailers intercept their clicks. Not ideal for: anyone who needs a published price for the product module.
6. Writesonic GEO: Own Site Versus Retailer
Writesonic's Shopping Tracker documentation defines a metric most tools skip: Direct Purchase Link share, the portion of AI shopping cards that link to your own site rather than a third-party retailer. It also reports shopping visibility, share of voice and average rank, with a top-products table. The pricing page puts Shopping and Agentic Commerce in Enterprise only, and Writesonic's roots are in AI content writing.
Best for: brands whose margin depends on selling direct. Not ideal for: self-serve buyers, since shopping isn't in Starter, Basic or Growth.
7. Semrush: AI Shopping Report, Enterprise Only
Semrush added an AI Shopping report to Enterprise AIO on 6 March 2026, covering ChatGPT Shopping and Google AI Mode shopping in merchant and product views. The $99 AI Visibility Toolkit is a different thing: 25 custom prompts per domain, four engines, brand-level. Semrush's own pages disagree on whether that $99 is billed annually (pricing page) or monthly (knowledge base), so confirm before you budget. Adobe completed its Semrush acquisition on 28 April 2026 and says Semrush keeps operating as a subsidiary.
Best for: enterprise retailers already inside Semrush's SEO suite. Not ideal for: a team expecting the $99 toolkit to show product placement.
| Tool | Strength | Limitation | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Scrunch | Retailer share and first-position win rate | Feed intake on roadmap; gated on one layout | Core $250/mo; product module not published |
| Writesonic GEO | Direct Purchase Link share | Enterprise only; ChatGPT only | Starter $79/mo annual; shopping not published |
| Semrush | ChatGPT and AI Mode shopping in one report | Enterprise only; toolkit is brand-level | Base $99/mo per domain annual; Enterprise custom |
8. LLM Pulse and the Retail-Native Newcomers
LLM Pulse includes ChatGPT Shopping tracking on its Scale plan, adds Alexa for Shopping as a paid add-on, and offers a free ChatGPT shopping feed checker that it says validates a feed against OpenAI's specification. Alhena bundles an AI visibility module into an AI support agent, priced on conversations.
| Tool | What It Offers | Limitation | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| LLM Pulse | ChatGPT Shopping, free feed checker, Alexa add-on | ChatGPT-centric; small vendor | Scale EUR 299/mo weekly, EUR 449 daily |
| Alhena | "Product-level tracking" bundled with a support agent | Priced on conversations; "only platform" claim is wrong | Essentials $199/mo annual |
| Evertune | Shopping Intelligence for ChatGPT | Demo only | Not published |
| Yotpo Discover | Product-by-product tracking plus review and loyalty data | Waitlist, per its own page | Not published |
Evertune and Yotpo are noted, not ranked.
9. Brand-Level Tools: AthenaHQ, Trakkr, Otterly.ai, Ahrefs, HubSpot AEO
These five track brands and prompts, and none lists a product module on its pricing page. AthenaHQ's ecommerce page says it tracks SKUs at product, category or brand level and cites a 30% rise in AI-referred product page sessions, but it names no study or customer, and its plans page lists no product feature. Trakkr fits multi-brand groups that need AI Overviews. Otterly is the cheapest honest brand tracker and adds ChatGPT ads tracking. Ahrefs Brand Radar covers AI Overviews and AI Mode, and HubSpot AEO covers neither.
| Tool | Price | Engines of Note | Limitation |
|---|---|---|---|
| AthenaHQ | Free (300 credits); Starter $295/mo, $245 annual | 11 models including AI Overviews and AI Mode | Product feature claimed, not on the plans page |
| Trakkr | Growth $100/mo; Scale $500 (10 brands); Enterprise from $1,000 | 8 models including AI Overviews | 50 prompts per brand; no shopping module |
| Otterly.ai | Lite $29, Standard $189, Premium $489; annual $25, $160, $422 | 4 core including AI Overviews; AI Mode, Gemini, Claude add-ons | 15 prompts on Lite; no shopping module |
| Ahrefs Brand Radar | Custom Prompts free on paid Lite and up; standalone £40/mo as served to us | AI Overviews, AI Mode, ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Copilot, Claude (8 checks per update) | Region-priced; no shopping module |
| HubSpot AEO | $50/mo, $45 annual (beta) | ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity | No Google surfaces; 25 prompts |
What These Tools Can't Measure
Adobe's numbers say AI visits convert well. But a citation without a click leaves no trace in your analytics, and Pew found only 1% of visits clicked a link inside an AI summary. Share of shelf is a leading indicator. Referral traffic and revenue are the lagging ones, and you need both.
| Tool | AI-Referral Tracking | Connects To | Revenue or Commerce Link |
|---|---|---|---|
| Peec AI | AI referrals, crawl insights | Google Analytics, Cloudflare, Vercel, AWS CloudFront, Akamai, WordPress | Not listed |
| Goodie | Traffic attribution, agent analytics | Google Analytics, Search Console, Bing Webmaster Tools | Revenue attribution (Core up) |
| Profound | Agent Analytics | Google Analytics, Cloudflare, Akamai, Fastly, Vercel | Not listed |
| Rankscale | Traffic tab | Search Console and GA4 (beta, May 2026) | Not listed |
Is Paid Tracking Worth It Yet?
For a small store, not always. Run 20 shopping prompts yourself in ChatGPT, write down which of your products appear and which competitor wins, and repeat weekly for a month. Try LLM Pulse's free checker on your feed too. Our guides to free AI visibility tools and measuring AI visibility cover the manual method. A paid tool earns its price once you have dozens of SKUs and need daily trends. Paid placement services are a different purchase, covered in our citation placement guide. Should You Pay for AI Citations? argues both sides.
What Changed in 2026
- March 2026: Rankscale and Semrush Enterprise added shopping reports, and OpenAI scaled back in-chat checkout.
- April to June 2026: Adobe closed its Semrush deal (28 April), Amazon launched Alexa for Shopping (May), Sitecore announced its Scrunch acquisition (3 June), and Peec launched AI Shopping Analytics (17 June).
- July 2026: ChatGPT Shopping shifted toward feed-sourced picks, per Profound.
How to Choose: Decision Framework
| If You Need... | Pick... |
|---|---|
| The cheapest self-serve SKU tracking for a Shopify store | Peec AI Starter, $95/mo (ChatGPT only) |
| Product views beyond ChatGPT under $250 | Rankscale Pro or Pro+ |
| Alexa and Sparky coverage plus feed fixes | Goodie Pro (demo-gated) |
| An enterprise module with procurement behind it | Profound, Scrunch, Writesonic or Semrush Enterprise |
| To see own-site versus retailer link share | Writesonic GEO, or Scrunch's retailer view |
| AI Overviews across several brands | Trakkr Scale ($500/mo), or Peec AI agency plans |
| Brand-level tracking inside a tool you already pay for | Ahrefs Brand Radar or Semrush toolkit |
| A no-cost first look | A manual prompt log and LLM Pulse's free feed checker |
For every platform in this category, see our AEO tools roundup. If one tool is already shortlisted, our alternatives guides cover Peec AI, Goodie, Profound, Rankscale and Scrunch. Tracking only helps when the basics are sound, so pair it with an ecommerce SEO strategy and a clean Google Shopping feed.
Frequently Asked Questions about AEO Tools for Ecommerce
What is the best AEO tool for an ecommerce store?
For self-serve product-level tracking at the lowest verified price, Peec AI starts at $95 a month and Rankscale at $99, though Peec's shopping data is ChatGPT only. If you need Amazon Alexa and Walmart Sparky coverage plus feed fixes, Goodie's SKU-level tier starts at $999 a month billed annually and requires a demo.
Do AEO tools track individual products or only brands?
Some track products. Peec AI, Rankscale, Goodie (Pro), Profound (Enterprise), Scrunch, Writesonic (Enterprise) and LLM Pulse (Scale) have product-level shopping modules. Otterly.ai, Trakkr, Ahrefs Brand Radar and HubSpot AEO track brands and prompts and list no product module.
Do I need a product feed for ChatGPT Shopping?
OpenAI says Shopify merchants are connected through Shopify Catalog with no extra work, and other merchants can apply for a direct feed in CSV or JSON. Profound's July 2026 data suggests feed-integrated sources now supply most product picks, so feed quality matters.
Which tools cover Google AI Overviews?
Peec AI, Goodie, Rankscale, Profound, Scrunch, LLM Pulse, Trakkr, Otterly.ai and Ahrefs name AI Overviews. HubSpot AEO covers only ChatGPT, Gemini and Perplexity. None of these tools claims product-level tracking inside AI Overviews.
Can I pay to rank in ChatGPT Shopping?
OpenAI says ChatGPT product results are selected independently and are not ads, and that ads are separate. You can influence your feed and product pages, but you can't buy a product slot. Paid citation placement is a different service for third-party pages.
Does AI shopping traffic actually convert?
Adobe reported that in March 2026 AI traffic to US retail sites converted 42% better than non-AI traffic, a year after converting 38% worse. Adobe sells analytics and AI visibility tools, and a conversion rate says nothing about volume, so treat it as a trend, not a promise.
What to Do Next
Run the manual test this week: 20 shopping prompts, your top 10 SKUs, a note of who wins each slot. If your products rarely appear, check your feed before buying a tracker. Schema Markup for AI Search explains what Product and Offer schema still earn for AI shopping feeds, and why visible price and availability text still matters. Then pick one product-level tool and run it for a month: Peec AI or Rankscale if you want self-serve, a demo with Goodie or Profound if you're an enterprise team. Judge it on whether it changes a merchandising or feed decision, not on how good the dashboard looks. If you manage retail clients rather than one store, Best AEO Tools for Agencies in 2026 prices largely the same tools per client, and if you sell software rather than products, Best AEO Tools for B2B SaaS in 2026 scores them on competitor tracking instead.

On this page
- Key Facts
- Quick Comparison Table
- Why Ecommerce Is a Different Problem
- Who Really Tracks Products
- How Shopping Surfaces Differ From Chat Answers
- What changed in ChatGPT in July 2026
- Catalog Intake: Who Reads Your Products
- Google AI Overviews and AI Mode
- What It Costs at a Real Workload
- The 14 Tools
- 1. Peec AI: Cheapest Self-Serve SKU Tracking
- 2. Rankscale: SKU Tracking Beyond ChatGPT From $99
- 3. Goodie: The Broadest Retail Suite, Behind a Demo
- 4. Profound: Shopping Analysis for Enterprise Teams
- 5. Scrunch: Retailer Share Views
- 6. Writesonic GEO: Own Site Versus Retailer
- 7. Semrush: AI Shopping Report, Enterprise Only
- 8. LLM Pulse and the Retail-Native Newcomers
- 9. Brand-Level Tools: AthenaHQ, Trakkr, Otterly.ai, Ahrefs, HubSpot AEO
- What These Tools Can't Measure
- Is Paid Tracking Worth It Yet?
- What Changed in 2026
- How to Choose: Decision Framework
- What to Do Next