Best AI Citation Placement Services in 2026: 7 Vendors Compared on Price and Risk
Turn this article into takeaways for your work.
Each assistant summarizes the article only for you and suggests best practices for your work.
You don't buy software here. You pay a company to research which third-party pages ChatGPT, Perplexity, and Google's AI Overviews already pull from in your category, pitch the publisher, and get your brand named on that page. Seven vendors do this as a real, purchasable product in 2026: Rhino Rank, FATJOE, Anchorial, Editorial.Link, Noble, DerivateX, and uSERP, priced from $135 a single placement to $10,000 a month for a managed program. This guide prices all seven on their own published rates, lays out what each one actually hands you before you pay, and covers the compliance questions none of their marketing pages answer.
This is not a ranking of AI visibility monitoring tools like Otterly.ai, Profound, or Rankscale. Those are software you buy to measure where you stand; see Best AEO Tools in 2026 for that comparison. Everything below is a service you pay a team of humans to execute on your behalf, and that distinction matters more than any feature list, because it changes what you're actually buying and what can go wrong. Whether paying for placement is wise at all is the narrower subject of Should You Pay for AI Citations?, which sets the case for and against side by side; this guide prices the seven vendors.
Key Facts
- Noble claims 85% of the sources AI assistants cite are third party, not the brand's own site, with no linked study or sample size published on its own site. Treat it as a marketing claim, not a measurement (thatsnoble.com).
- DerivateX, an SEO and GEO agency that sells the citation placement work this article reviews, publishes a disclosed methodology finding 88.4% of ChatGPT's software citations point to third-party pages rather than the vendor's own site, across 233 recommendations in 40 B2B SaaS categories (DerivateX).
- Google's spam policy allows paid links and sponsored placements, but requires a
rel="nofollow"orrel="sponsored"attribute on them; none of the seven vendors in this article states on its public site whether its placements carry that attribute (Google Search Central). - The FTC's endorsement guidance requires any material connection between a brand and the content promoting it to be disclosed clearly and conspicuously, a standard that applies to a paid listicle mention the same as it applies to a paid social post (FTC).
- Entry pricing across the seven vendors spans roughly 70x, from $135 for a single Rhino Rank listicle placement to a $10,000 monthly minimum at uSERP.
What You're Actually Buying
A citation placement service does three things a monitoring tool doesn't: it finds pages AI engines already cite in your category, it contacts the publisher on your behalf, and it gets your brand named, linked, or corrected on that page. None of the seven vendors here can promise an AI assistant will actually surface the new mention in an answer. What they sell is the input, a credible third-party page that now talks about you, not the output, a guaranteed citation. Several state that limitation plainly when you read their FAQs closely; most don't volunteer it on the pricing page.
The category splits into two shapes. Anchorial, Noble, Rhino Rank, FATJOE, and Editorial.Link sell placement as the product: you pick a package or a per-unit rate, and a publisher list gets built around your category. DerivateX and uSERP sell placement as one piece of a broader managed program that also includes content rewrites, technical SEO, and strategy calls, so a chunk of what you pay goes to work that isn't placement at all. Knowing which shape you're buying changes how you compare the sticker price.
Quick Comparison Table
| Vendor | What You Buy | Entry Price | Minimum Commitment | Best For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rhino Rank | Listicle, guest post, and curated link placements, sold à la carte | $135 per listicle placement | None published | Testing the category for the price of one placement |
| FATJOE | Productized Brand Mentions, Community Mentions, and Digital PR orders | $378 per Brand Mentions order | None published | A single, fast, self-serve order with no sales call |
| Anchorial | Three placement products: LLM Citation Links, Listicle and Roundup Placement, SaaS Link Building | $400 per placement (SaaS Link Building floor) | None published | One placement or a handful, no annual retainer |
| Editorial.Link | Manually researched editorial links and listicle mentions, sold in packages | $1,750 for a 5-link Startup package | 5-link package (no single-link purchase) | A small, DR-vetted link package with pre-approval on every target |
| Noble | Managed New Mention and Mention Refresh program, billed against a Mention Score | $2,000 per month (program minimum) | 12 months, billed monthly | An ongoing, budgeted program with a refund on unused spend |
| DerivateX | A GEO retainer bundling on-page content, technical guidance, and an off-site citation budget | $5,000 per month (Rank & Get Found tier) | 90-day pilot (Market Leader tier requires 6 months) | A brand that wants citation placement folded into a content and technical program |
| uSERP | A managed GEO/AEO program: commercial content, editorial placements, and technical support | $10,000 per month | 3-month initial engagement | Established brands with an active marketing team and budget for a full program |
The Founding Statistic, Checked
Every vendor in this category rests its pitch on one claim: most of what AI assistants cite isn't your own website, it's a third party, so optimizing your own site alone leaves most of the opportunity on the table. That claim is doing a lot of work, and it deserves more scrutiny than any price on this page.
| Source | Claim | Method Disclosed? | Who Publishes It | What They Sell |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Noble | 85% of AI citations are third party | No, no linked study or sample size | Noble | Managed citation placement, $2,000/mo minimum |
| DerivateX | 88.4% of ChatGPT's software citations are third party (233 recommendations, 40 B2B SaaS categories, 169 cited URLs) | Yes, method and sample size stated | DerivateX | GEO retainers from $5,000/mo, including the citation placement work reviewed in this article |
We found no measurement of this claim from a party with nothing to sell. DerivateX's figure is more useful than Noble's because the method is disclosed and a reader can judge it, but DerivateX is also one of the seven vendors profiled below, selling the exact service this statistic justifies. Two interested parties landing on a similar direction is worth reporting as exactly that, not as independent confirmation. The honest summary: the direction (AI assistants lean heavily on third-party pages) looks right, the precise number isn't independently verified, and the absence of a neutral measurement is itself worth knowing before you spend five or six figures on the strength of it.
Is Paying for a Mention a Good Idea at All?
Neither a vendor's own site nor this roundup can answer that for your specific business, but the trade-offs are consistent across all seven. Our standalone piece, Should You Pay for AI Citations?, takes the case for and against in full, including the statistic behind the pitch.
The case against. A purchased mention is a form of paid link placement, even when it's framed as accelerated earned coverage. Google's spam policy prohibits buying or selling links that pass ranking signal without the rel="nofollow" or rel="sponsored" attribute, and none of the seven vendors states on its public site whether its placements carry that attribute. An AI assistant's citation set is also not stable: a model update or a re-crawl can drop a page from the answer it returns, with no connection to anything you did and no refund tied to that outcome in most of these contracts. And attribution is close to unmeasurable, since there's no click-pixel or conversion log for an LLM's internal retrieval step.
The honest case for. If the target page already ranks well and gets crawled on a normal schedule, a placement on it is closer to a PR and distribution buy than ranking manipulation: you're paying for visibility on a page that would keep existing with or without you. Properly tagged sponsored content is explicitly allowed under Google's own policy, not banned by it. For a company with real budget for earned media and no realistic path to organic coverage on a short timeline, paying for a placement on an already-authoritative page, and treating any resulting AI citation as a bonus rather than the point, is a defensible way to spend the money.
If you're down to deciding between specifically Noble and Anchorial, the two vendors here built around AI-citation placement as the product rather than as one line on a broader link-building menu, Noble vs Anchorial goes deeper on contract terms, refund structure, and worked-out annual cost at different placement volumes than this roundup has room for.
Compliance and Risk: What the Rules Actually Say
This is the section most vendor pricing pages skip entirely, so it gets a real one here instead of a disclaimer line.
Google's rule. Buying or selling links intended to pass ranking signal is a spam violation, but paid links and sponsored placements are explicitly allowed when tagged with rel="nofollow" or rel="sponsored" (Google Search Central spam policies). That tag is what separates a compliant paid placement from a link scheme.
The FTC's rule. Any material connection between a brand and an endorsement, including a paid mention, must be disclosed clearly and conspicuously, in a way a reader doesn't have to click to find (FTC endorsement guidance). That obligation sits mainly with the publisher running the content, but it touches the brand paying for it too.
Here's what each vendor's public site says, and doesn't say, about both.
| Vendor | Disclosed as Sponsored on Publisher Page? | rel="sponsored"/nofollow Stated? |
Notable Risk |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rhino Rank | Not addressed | Not addressed | Lowest price point, least public detail on individual publisher vetting |
| FATJOE | Not addressed | Not addressed | Community Mentions places posts across Reddit and industry forums under your brand's influence; undisclosed brand-seeded posts carry both FTC exposure and a real risk of community backlash if detected |
| Anchorial | Not addressed | Not addressed | Public site states "zero PBNs" and a DR 40-90 publisher floor, but disclosure practice isn't stated |
| Editorial.Link | Not addressed | Not addressed | Markets explicit "Visible in AI search" and "LLM boost" positioning, the clearest statement of intent in this list |
| Noble | Not addressed | Not addressed | You approve copy before publication, which doesn't by itself resolve the sponsorship-labeling question |
| DerivateX | Not addressed | Not addressed | Off-site citation budget is scoped as a line item inside a broader retainer, so it's harder to isolate which spend is a paid placement |
| uSERP | Not addressed | Not addressed | Positions placement as one input among content and technical work, case studies report brand-mention rate lift without stating disclosure practice on the underlying placements |
Not one of the seven states, anywhere on its public marketing, whether the mentions or links it secures are labeled sponsored on the publisher's page, or whether they carry the attribute Google's policy requires. That's a real gap, not a formality. Ask for the disclosure language and the rel attribute in writing before you sign with any of them, and if a publisher doesn't disclose, remember that exposure sits partly with your brand's name, not only with the publisher.
The 7 Providers, Priced
1. Rhino Rank: The Cheapest Way to Test the Category
Rhino Rank sells individual placements à la carte with no retainer and no sales call. Curated Links and Visual Links start at $60 each, Guest Posts at $75, Press Releases at $99, and its most relevant product here, Listicles, starts at $135 per placement, described on its own pricing page as featured placement on "buyer-intent roundup pages cited by AI engines."
Best for: a single test placement on a near-zero budget, or an agency buying placements at volume for several clients. Not ideal for: anyone who wants publisher vetting, approval workflow, or reporting beyond the order itself; none of that is described on the pricing page.
| Product | Starting Price | What It Is |
|---|---|---|
| Listicles | $135 per placement | Entry in a buyer-intent roundup, positioned for AI citation |
| Curated Links | $60 per link | A link added into an existing ranking article |
| Guest Posts | $75 per post | A 750+ word original article on a live site |
| Press Releases | $99 per release | Distribution across 300+ news sites |
2. FATJOE: Productized Orders With a Published Turnaround
FATJOE runs a dedicated "AI SEO" product line with a fixed price and delivery window on every item, ordered through a self-serve dashboard rather than a sales call. Brand Mentions (from $378, 14-day delivery) places your brand in listicle and review-style content. Community Mentions (from $675, 30-day delivery) seeds posts across Reddit and industry forums to build what FATJOE calls your brand profile. Digital PR Campaigns (from $4,725, 90-day delivery) secures authority news links through earned media pitching.
FATJOE's own FAQ states plainly that it "cannot guarantee" its services lead to AI recommendations, since sources update regularly and results vary by query, a more direct admission than most competitors volunteer.
Best for: teams that want a fixed price and a dashboard order, not a sales process, and are comfortable ordering repeat small batches. Not ideal for: anyone uneasy with the Community Mentions product, which puts brand-promotional content into Reddit threads and forums where undisclosed brand involvement is both an FTC question and a platform-trust risk if a community notices.
| Product | Starting Price | Delivery | What It Is |
|---|---|---|---|
| Brand Mentions | $378 | 14 days | Listicle and review mentions |
| Community Mentions | $675 | 30 days | Reddit and forum posts about your brand |
| Digital PR Campaigns | $4,725 | 90 days | Authority news links via earned media |
3. Anchorial: No-Retainer Placement Across Three Products
Anchorial sells three distinct products under one roof. LLM Citation Links (from $600 per placement) targets pages AI engines already reference. Listicle and Roundup Placement (from $450 per placement) is an entry in articles exactly like this one. Premium SaaS Link Building (from $400 per placement) is closer to traditional contextual link building. Anchorial states you approve every publisher domain before outreach starts, targets DR 40 to 90 publishers, and runs "zero PBNs." A $500 audit credits toward your first month if you move forward.
Best for: one placement or a handful, with no annual commitment and domain-level approval before anyone contacts a publisher. Not ideal for: budgeting certainty; every published price is a floor, not a typical final number, and no minimum spend or contract length is published.
| Product | Starting Price | What It Is |
|---|---|---|
| LLM Citation Links | $600 per placement | Link on a page AI engines already cite |
| Listicle and Roundup Placement | $450 per placement | Entry in a "best of" style article |
| Premium SaaS Link Building | $400 per placement | Contextual links and guest posts |
Full comparison against Noble: Noble vs Anchorial.
4. Editorial.Link: Manually Vetted Packages With Pre-Approval
Editorial.Link, operating since 2016, sells editorial link and listicle placement in fixed packages rather than a single-unit purchase. The Startup package is $1,750 for 5 permanent do-follow editorial links at an average DR of 50 to 90. Growth is $6,000 for 20 links at the same DR range. Bespoke is custom-priced and adds a personal link-building strategist plus, per the vendor's own pricing page, "Listicles for LLM boost" as a named feature. No pre-payment is required; you pay after approving each target, and a trial link is offered before any commitment.
Best for: a small, carefully vetted package with target approval built into the process and no upfront payment risk. Not ideal for: anyone wanting a single placement; there's no unit purchase below the 5-link package.
| Package | Price | Links Included | Per-Link Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Startup | $1,750 | 5 | $350 |
| Growth | $6,000 | 20 | $300 |
| Bespoke | Custom | Custom | Custom |
5. Noble: The Managed Program With a Refund Safety Net
Noble prices against its own "Mention Score," a measure of placement-opportunity quality, inside a $2,000-a-month program on a 12-month commitment. Its fee scales from $100 (Standard tier) to $600 (Elite tier) per mention, plus a typical $100 to $300 publisher fee, landing around $400 all in on average across a program. Unused monthly budget carries forward within the 12-month term rather than expiring, and whatever's left unused at the end is refunded, "no questions asked," within roughly 90 days, assuming Noble honors that in practice, which we have no independent way to verify. You review and approve mention copy before it publishes.
Best for: a brand with a real annual budget that wants an ongoing program and values the refund structure as a hedge. Not ideal for: anyone wanting to test the category cheaply; there's no published entry point below the full 12-month, $2,000/month program.
| Mention Score Tier | Noble's Fee | Typical Publisher Fee | Approximate All-In Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard (1-29) | $100 | $100-300 | Roughly $200-400 |
| Plus (30-49) | $200 | $100-300 | Roughly $300-500 |
| Premium (50-69) | $400 | $100-300 | Roughly $500-700 |
| Elite (70-100) | $600 | $100-300 | Roughly $700-900 |
Full comparison against Anchorial: Noble vs Anchorial.
6. DerivateX: Placement Bundled Into a Content and Technical Retainer
DerivateX sells three tiered monthly retainers, each combining on-page content production, technical SEO guidance, and a separate off-site citation budget. Rank & Get Found is $5,000 a month (18 on-page assets per cycle, a $1,000 to $1,200 monthly citation budget, 90-day pilot). Own Your Category is $8,000 a month (30 assets, $1,500 to $2,000 citation budget). Market Leader is $12,000 a month (45 assets per quarter, $2,000 to $3,000 citation budget, 6-month minimum). A $3,500 standalone diagnostic is available first and credits fully toward the first retainer month if you convert within 30 days. DerivateX describes itself as a full-service SEO and GEO agency and is also, worth repeating, the publisher of the 88.4% third-party citation statistic cited earlier in this article.
Best for: a brand that wants citation placement handled as one line item inside a broader content and technical program, not as a standalone purchase. Not ideal for: isolating exactly what you're paying for placement specifically; the citation budget is scoped as an add-on inside a much larger retainer.
| Tier | Monthly Price | On-Page Assets | Off-Site Citation Budget | Commitment |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rank & Get Found | $5,000 | 18 per cycle | $1,000-1,200/mo | 90-day pilot |
| Own Your Category | $8,000 | 30 per cycle | $1,500-2,000/mo | 90-day pilot |
| Market Leader | $12,000 | 45 per quarter | $2,000-3,000/mo | 6 months |
| Diagnostic (one-time) | $3,500 | N/A | N/A | None, credits to month one |
7. uSERP: The Full Managed GEO Program
uSERP's AI search program starts at $10,000 a month and bundles three workstreams: commercial content (comparison and use-case pages written or rewritten to answer real buying questions), editorial authority (placements and links pursued on pages its research shows AI engines already cite), and technical support (indexing and rendering fixes that block AI crawlers from reading key pages). A 3-month initial engagement rolls month to month with a 30-day exit; a 12-month commitment lowers the effective monthly rate. uSERP's published case study for one 22-month client engagement reports Google AI Mode visibility rising from 66.6% to 92.0% and a 56.7% ChatGPT brand-mention rate by the end of the tracked period, explicitly labeled by uSERP as that one client's results, not a guaranteed outcome.
Best for: an established brand with an active marketing team and the budget to fund content, technical fixes, and placement together rather than buying placement alone. Not ideal for: a company that wants to isolate and test citation placement by itself; it's sold as one-third of a bundled program, not a standalone line item.
| Program | Monthly Price | What's Included |
|---|---|---|
| GEO/AEO/AI Search program | From $10,000 | Commercial content, editorial placements, technical support |
| Accelerate (link building only) | $10,000 | 11 DR 60+ links/mo, strategy, reporting |
| Dominate (link building only) | $15,000 | 16 DR 60+ links/mo, on-page briefs, internal linking strategy |
Buyer Due-Diligence Checklist
Before you commit a budget to any of these seven, this is what to ask for in writing. The table below shows what each vendor's own public site answers today, and where the gaps sit.
| Vendor | See Publisher List Before Committing? | Minimum Term | Reporting | If a Placement Is Removed | Who Owns the Publisher Relationship |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rhino Rank | Not stated | None published | Not detailed | Not addressed | Not addressed |
| FATJOE | Not stated | None published | Order status in dashboard | Not addressed; explicitly no AI-inclusion guarantee | Not addressed |
| Anchorial | Yes, domain approved before outreach | Not published | Not detailed publicly | "Lifetime link guarantee" per Anchorial, remediation specifics not public | Not addressed |
| Editorial.Link | Yes, you approve each target | 5-link package minimum | Order and link-live confirmation | Trial link offered first; no prepayment required | Not addressed |
| Noble | Not stated | 12 months | Real-time dashboard | Not addressed | Not addressed |
| DerivateX | Not stated | 90-day pilot (Market Leader: 6 months) | Weekly updates, board-ready monthly reports on top tier | Not addressed | Not addressed |
| uSERP | Not stated | 3-month initial, 30-day out | Monthly placement record, rank/KPI dashboard | Not addressed | Not addressed |
Treat every "Not addressed" as a real gap, not a formality. If a publisher pulls the article, redesigns the page, or de-indexes it a year from now, ask in writing what happens to your spend before you sign with any of these seven, since none commits to an answer on its own site today.
Decision Framework
| Situation | Reasonable Move |
|---|---|
| You want to test the category for the price of a single placement | Rhino Rank or FATJOE |
| You want domain-level approval before anyone contacts a publisher, with no retainer | Anchorial or Editorial.Link |
| You have an annual budget and want a refund structure on unused spend | Noble |
| You want placement bundled with content and technical fixes in one retainer | DerivateX or uSERP |
| You don't yet know where you stand in AI answers at all | Start with a monitoring tool before paying anyone to change the picture |
| Your own site isn't citable yet (thin content, no original data, weak structure) | Fix that first; see AI SEO tools and AI agents for SEO work |
| You're choosing specifically between the two best-known names | The dedicated head-to-head goes deeper than this roundup has room for |
The Unpaid Alternative
Paying for placement isn't the only lever, and for a lot of companies it isn't the first one worth pulling. A monitoring tool or the broader AI visibility comparison tells you where you already stand before you spend anything trying to change it, and it keeps working after any placement campaign ends, which none of the seven services above does on its own. If the real gap is that your own pages aren't giving AI assistants enough to cite, AI SEO tooling and a practical SEO buyer's tech stack guide close part of that gap directly, by making your own site more citable rather than renting space on someone else's. Understanding which AI engines your buyers actually use tells you where either the paid or the unpaid effort is worth concentrating first.
The slower route carries no disclosure risk: publish something genuinely useful enough that a journalist or another site links to it on its own, and the resulting citation needs no explanation later. How to get cited in AI answers lays out the unpaid levers by strength of evidence (skip the two popular shortcuts, llms.txt and schema markup, which the evidence doesn't back), and how to measure AI visibility shows how to check your baseline before and after any spend.
Frequently Asked Questions about AI Citation Placement Services
What's the difference between an AI citation placement service and an AEO monitoring tool?
A monitoring tool like Otterly.ai or Profound measures where your brand already stands in AI answers across ChatGPT, Perplexity, and similar engines. A placement service like Noble, Anchorial, or the other five vendors in this article pays publishers to add your brand to pages those AI engines already cite. One measures, the other tries to change the underlying pages.
Does any of these services guarantee an AI assistant will actually cite my new mention?
No. All seven place a brand mention or link on a third-party page that AI engines currently reference for related queries. None guarantees future AI citation behavior, since that's determined by the AI vendor's own retrieval and ranking, not by the placement service.
Is the claim that most AI citations go to third-party sites accurate?
Noble states 85% with no published methodology. DerivateX, which also sells the placement service this article reviews, publishes a disclosed study finding 88.4% across 233 ChatGPT software recommendations in 40 B2B SaaS categories. Both sources sell the remedy to the problem their own statistic describes, so treat the direction as credible and the exact number as unverified by any neutral party.
Is paying for a citation placement against Google's rules?
Not automatically. Google's spam policy prohibits unlabeled paid links meant to pass ranking signal, but explicitly allows paid placements when the link carries a rel="nofollow" or rel="sponsored" attribute. None of the seven vendors in this article states on its public site whether its placements use that attribute, so ask before you buy.
What's the cheapest way to test this category before committing a real budget?
Rhino Rank's Listicle product starts at $135 per placement with no retainer, and FATJOE's Brand Mentions product starts at $378 per order with a 14-day turnaround. Both let you test the category for less than a single month of any of the five retainer-based options.
Are these seven the only companies selling AI citation placement?
No, but this corner of the market is new, and many agencies that advertise "AEO" or "GEO" services publish little or nothing about price or process. Apply the same standard to any vendor not listed here that this article applies to these seven: verify what's actually published on the vendor's own site, label what isn't, and get the compliance questions answered in writing before you pay.
What to Do Next
Before you sign with any of these seven, ask for three things in writing that none states on its own public site today: whether the placement or link carries a rel="nofollow" or rel="sponsored" attribute, whether the publisher discloses the mention as sponsored content, and what happens to your spend if the page is edited, de-indexed, or removed after it publishes. If a vendor can't answer clearly, treat that gap as the real price of the purchase, not a footnote to it.

On this page
- Key Facts
- What You're Actually Buying
- Quick Comparison Table
- The Founding Statistic, Checked
- Is Paying for a Mention a Good Idea at All?
- Compliance and Risk: What the Rules Actually Say
- The 7 Providers, Priced
- 1. Rhino Rank: The Cheapest Way to Test the Category
- 2. FATJOE: Productized Orders With a Published Turnaround
- 3. Anchorial: No-Retainer Placement Across Three Products
- 4. Editorial.Link: Manually Vetted Packages With Pre-Approval
- 5. Noble: The Managed Program With a Refund Safety Net
- 6. DerivateX: Placement Bundled Into a Content and Technical Retainer
- 7. uSERP: The Full Managed GEO Program
- Buyer Due-Diligence Checklist
- Decision Framework
- The Unpaid Alternative
- What to Do Next