ZoomInfo vs Cognism (2026): Phone Data, Regional Coverage, Credits, Contracts and Compliance Compared

ZoomInfo vs Cognism: What's the Difference?: Left: an airy cream hub connects one account folio to a simple funnel and campaign flag, with broad flowing navy curves. Right: a cream handset sits over a contact folio next to a screening gate. Balanced silhouettes, one tiny coral tab each, no dense networks.

Turn this article into takeaways for your work.

Each assistant summarizes the article only for you and suggests best practices for your work.

You're a CRO, a VP Sales or a RevOps lead, and both of these vendors are on your shortlist for the same reason: your reps need verified contacts, and they need phone numbers that connect. Neither vendor publishes a price. Both sell through a sales conversation. So the real questions are narrower than a feature list suggests. Where is your territory? How much of your outbound is phone? And what happens to your budget when the quote lands?

ZoomInfo is the larger, platform-style option. It sells editions priced by features, licenses and credit usage, and it publishes a regional breakdown of its database that leans heavily to North America. Cognism sells two plans with five seats each, leads its marketing with phone-verified mobile numbers and built-in call screening, and positions itself as "built for growth in Europe". This page compares them as data platforms and as buying decisions: verification claims, regional coverage, credit mechanics, contract terms and the compliance rules that apply when you call or email what you buy. For the wider market, start with the best sales intelligence tools hub, or the best B2B data providers comparison.

TL;DR

Factor ZoomInfo Cognism
What it is Data and go-to-market platform with intent data, Copilot and enrichment Sales intelligence platform led by phone-verified mobiles, intent data and compliance
Pricing model Pricing on request, set by features, licenses and credit usage Pricing on request, tailored; two plans (Standard, Pro) with 5 seats each
Credit unit 1 credit per exported contact or company profile 1 credit per revealed contact; viewing it again is free
Entry point Free trial of the paid platform Demo and free data sample, no free trial listed
Reported spend Vendr median $33,500/yr (reported) Roughly $15,000 platform plus about $1,500 per user/yr on Standard (reported)
Regional stance Published breakdown; North America is the largest block European-first, with EMEA, US and APAC named
Phone data claim 87% mobile number accuracy (vendor claim) Phone-verified mobiles, up to 3x higher connect rates (vendor claim)
Call screening Not stated on its data page Scrubbed against Do Not Call and TPS lists in 12 countries per its FAQ
Best for US-weighted teams wanting breadth, intent and a platform Europe-heavy outbound that dials mobiles

Key Facts

Who Each Platform Is Built For

ZoomInfo and Cognism overlap on the core job: a verified email or mobile number for a named buyer. They differ on where that buyer is likely to sit and what you're expected to buy around the data.

ZoomInfo is built as a platform. Its pricing page lists three sales editions (Professional, Copilot Advanced and Copilot Enterprise) and three marketing editions (Demand, ABM Lite and ABM Enterprise), and the price depends on features, number of licenses and credit usage. That shape suits a company where RevOps governs the data, marketing and sales share account lists, and intent signals feed territory planning.

Cognism is narrower. Its pricing page offers Standard and Pro, each with five seats included, and the pitch is data quality on the phone plus compliance. Pro adds higher-quality mobile data, on-demand verification and buying-intent prioritisation. CRM enrichment is sold as an add-on or on its own. That suits a sales team whose reps spend their day dialing decision-makers, especially in Europe.

Dimension ZoomInfo Cognism
Typical buyer VP Sales, CRO, RevOps or Marketing Ops with procurement VP Sales or Head of Revenue running phone-led outbound
Purchase path Sales-led quote, negotiated terms Sales-led quote, demo first
Packaging Six editions across sales and marketing Two plans, plus a CRM Enrichment add-on
Seats Licenses set in the quote 5 seats included per plan
Free way in Free trial of the paid platform Demo and free data sample
Stated home market Global, with a regional breakdown "Built for growth in Europe", EMEA, US and APAC named

Team Fit

Team ZoomInfo Cognism
SDR and BDR teams dialing mobiles Strong data, phone quality depends on region and tier Core use case, verified mobiles and on-demand verification on Pro
Account executives Good for buying-committee mapping Good for finding the right mobile on named accounts
Marketing and demand gen Dedicated editions (Demand, ABM Lite, ABM Enterprise) Limited; CRM Enrichment add-on and intent data
RevOps Built for enrichment, routing and CRM hygiene at scale CRM Enrichment add-on or standalone
European sales teams Covered, with Europe a smaller share of the stated database The vendor's stated focus
US-only teams Largest block of the stated database Covered, though the vendor leads with Europe
Founders and tiny teams Hard to justify at quote-only pricing Hard to justify, two plans with 5 seats each

Data Claims Compared

Both vendors make claims, and none of the numbers below is an audited count. Each defines "accuracy" its own way, so read them as marketing positions and test them on your own list.

ZoomInfo's data page claims 500M+ professional profiles, 300M+ verified business emails and 135M+ direct dial numbers, plus a 96% email deliverability rate and 87% mobile number accuracy. The same page gives the company count as both 122M+ and 100M+ in different places, which is a good reason to ask the rep which figure applies.

Cognism publishes no total contact count. Its homepage says decision-maker data is "refreshed every 30 days", its FAQ says Director-level and above data is continually refreshed on a 30-day basis, and its pricing page says it is trusted by "4000+ companies worldwide", which counts customers, not records. The comparison is therefore asymmetrical: ZoomInfo gives you big numbers to question, Cognism gives you a verification method to question.

Capability ZoomInfo Cognism
Contacts claimed 500M+ professional profiles Not published
Companies claimed 122M+ (also shown as 100M+ on the same page) Not published
Verified emails 300M+ claimed Not published
Direct dials / mobiles 135M+ direct dial numbers claimed Not published
Email quality claim 96% email deliverability Not published as a single figure
Mobile quality claim 87% mobile number accuracy Up to 3x higher connect rates, no baseline given
Refresh claim 60-day average refresh cycle for technology stack data 30 days for Director-level and above
Intent data Streaming Intent add-on (confirm topic count with the vendor) Bombora Company Surge, up to 12 topics from 11,000+ (Pro)
Security certifications SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, ISO 27701 SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, ISO 27701

Phone Verification: What Each Vendor Actually Says

Phone data is the reason most buyers shortlist Cognism, so it deserves its own section.

ZoomInfo vs Cognism: How Are Mobiles Verified?: Left: a cream handset beside a broad outlined measurement dial with no numerals. Right: an equal cream handset passes beside two open inspection frames and a small lens. Each has one coral contact mark. No checkmark guarantees.

Cognism's homepage says its mobile numbers "go through additional verification layers to improve accuracy and reliability" and claims up to 3x higher connect rates, without defining the baseline. Its FAQ says it uses "proprietary data validation methodologies, which also include manual data verification" and that a research team manually verifies customers' most desired contacts. A comparison page on its own site says numbers are validated directly by its research team and that customers can request verification on demand. The pricing page puts on-demand mobile verification in the Pro plan. Its Diamond Data product, announced in a 4 October 2021 press release, is described as phone-verified data cross-checked against global DNC lists, with "Diamonds on Demand" letting customers flag the contacts most valuable to them. The press release gives no accuracy percentage.

ZoomInfo's data page gives a number instead of a method: 87% mobile number accuracy, and 135M+ direct dials. It doesn't describe how the number is measured.

So the two vendors answer different questions. Cognism tells you how it tries to get a mobile right (manual and on-demand verification). ZoomInfo tells you how often it says it's right (a percentage). Neither gives you what you actually need, which is the connect rate on your own list.

Phone question ZoomInfo Cognism
Stated method Not described on the data page Additional verification layers, manual verification by a research team
On-demand verification Confirm with vendor Pro plan
Stated quality figure 87% mobile number accuracy Up to 3x higher connect rates, no baseline
Premium tier name None on the data page Diamond Data
Do Not Call screening Not stated on the data page Stated, scrubbed against registries in several countries
Independent evidence of either claim None cited None cited

Regional Coverage: US vs EMEA vs APAC

This is where the two diverge most, and where you should be most careful about what is a fact and what is a claim.

Test B2B Data Coverage by Region: Exactly three large distinct cream territory folders stand side by side, with short visual-native labels US, EMEA and APAC above them. Each folder contains a different arrangement of open contact cards and a separate phone outline, no fabricated bars or counts. One tiny coral bookmark marks a selected test folder.

ZoomInfo publishes a regional table on its data page. The figures are the vendor's claims, but they are specific enough to reason about. The share of contacts that have a mobile number, calculated from those claims, drops from roughly half in North America to under a third in Europe and under a fifth in Asia.

Region (ZoomInfo's stated figures) Companies Contacts Mobile numbers Mobiles per contact (our arithmetic)
North America 79.6M+ 157.8M+ 77.7M+ about 49%
Europe 20.5M+ 66M+ 18.5M+ about 28%
Asia 4.8M+ 68.3M+ 12.9M+ about 19%
Australia and NZ 2.2M+ 12.7M+ 4.1M+ about 32%
South America 2.6M+ 28.7M+ 2.3M+ about 8%
Africa 824K+ 18.1M+ 2.8M+ about 15%

Read that table for what it is: the vendor's own count of records, not a measure of accuracy. But it does show where the weight sits. If your reps call into North America, ZoomInfo's stated mobile coverage there is large. If they call into Europe or Asia, the stated pool is a fraction of that, and you'll want to test it.

Cognism gives no breakdown. Its homepage says "Built for growth in Europe". Its FAQ refers to decision-makers in EMEA, the US and APAC, and a comparison page lists EMEA, NAM and APAC while claiming deep UK and EU coverage and strong mobile coverage across Europe, with no country-level figures. Its Do Not Call screening list also leans European: the UK, US, Australia, New Zealand, Germany, France, Ireland, Spain, Portugal, Croatia, Sweden and Belgium, per its compliance FAQ.

Territory What ZoomInfo states What Cognism states What to test
US and Canada Largest block: 157.8M+ contacts, 77.7M+ mobiles US named; no volume given Mobile hit rate on 200 named US contacts
UK and Western Europe 66M+ contacts, 18.5M+ mobiles for Europe Core focus, DNC screening in several countries Mobile hit rate and connect rate by country
APAC Asia 68.3M+ contacts, 12.9M+ mobiles; Australia and NZ shown separately APAC named, no figures Ask each vendor for country-level coverage
Southeast Asia Not broken out by country Not broken out by country Test your own list; confirm PDPA handling

How to Test Data Accuracy Before You Buy

Every vendor shows its best number. The only one that decides the purchase is the one from your own list. Cognism offers a demo and a free data sample, and ZoomInfo links to a free trial of the paid platform, so you can run this without a signed contract.

Run a 300-Contact Data Pilot: Three equal cream input folios with short labels 100, 100, 100 sit across the upper row. Below, one broad open evaluation bench holds an envelope inspection station, a handset and a simple screening gate. A single coral contact card rests at the successful-call station. No arrows or extra numbers.

  1. Build a pilot list of 300 contacts you can verify independently. Use 100 from accounts you already sell to, 100 from accounts you're prospecting now and 100 from a territory you want to enter. Weight it by region: if half your outbound is US and half is EMEA, split the list that way.
  2. Pull the same 300 from each vendor. Record the email, the mobile and the title each returns.
  3. Verify emails with a separate checker, then send a small test from a domain you can afford to risk.
  4. Dial the mobiles. Have two reps call each set at the same times of day and log whether the right person answered.
  5. Count empty results. A vendor that returns nothing for a third of your list is expensive even if what it returns is clean.
  6. Check call-screening flags. For the UK and EU contacts, note how each platform marks numbers on Do Not Call or TPS lists.
Test metric What to measure Why it decides the purchase
Match rate by region Share of the 300 returned with an email and a mobile, split US, EMEA, APAC Shows where each vendor is thin
Mobile connect rate Calls that reach the named person The metric Cognism's "3x" claim is about, measured on your list
Hard bounce rate Bounces from a test send Drives sender reputation and rep trust
Title accuracy Titles that match the company site Wrong titles break routing
Screening coverage Share of numbers flagged as DNC or TPS Decides how much a separate screening step costs you
Cost per connected conversation Spend divided by calls that reach the right person The only fair price comparison

Credit Models Compared

Credits behave differently on the two platforms, and neither vendor prints a per-credit price.

Export vs Reveal Credits: What's the Difference?: Left: a cream contact card crosses a broad cabinet exit gate into an external tray. Right: a cream contact folio opens on a hinge and remains open beside a small circular viewing lens. One coral handle on each, no arrows.

ZoomInfo's pricing page defines a credit as "the consumption (export) of a professional or company profile". Each export costs one credit, whether it happens as a CSV or application export, through an integration, or through the ReachOut Chrome Extension. Basic credits cover standard demographic and firmographic data, while more advanced credits cover items like technographics and org charts. Add-ons such as Streaming Intent and integrations can also affect the price.

Cognism's pricing page says "1 credit = 1 revealed contact". Viewing a previously revealed contact costs nothing. Each seat includes an allocation of credits (the page doesn't state how many), more can be bought at any time, and credits work across the platform, Enrich and the API. For CRM Enrichment, a credit is used on a new record and again only when key details change, such as a job move.

Credit detail ZoomInfo Cognism
Unit 1 credit per exported contact or company profile 1 credit per revealed contact
Re-viewing a record Confirm whether re-exporting a record costs another credit Free for previously revealed contacts
Phone premium Confirm whether mobile reveals cost more than email exports No separate phone credit stated on the pricing page
Advanced data Advanced credits for technographics and org charts Not stated
Where credits live Allocated by contract Per seat, more purchasable any time
Integrations and API Credit use applies Credits work across platform, Enrich and API
Rollover Confirm in the contract Confirm in the contract
Number of credits per seat Set in the quote Not published

The practical difference is repeat access. If your reps revisit the same accounts over a long cycle, Cognism's free re-viewing of revealed contacts matters. If you export in bulk to a CRM or sequencer, ZoomInfo's per-export meter is the thing to model. Ask each vendor for the credit count in writing and compute cost per connected conversation, not cost per credit.

Pricing and Packaging

Neither vendor prints a price. That removes the usual first step in a comparison, so this section lays out what each vendor says and what buyers report.

ZoomInfo vs Cognism: How Are Plans Packaged?: Left: a cream contract binder has three separate adjustable tabs for edition, seat and usage, represented by simple abstract symbols only. Right: a cream binder holds five equal seat tokens and one detached enrichment sleeve. One tiny coral tab per side.

ZoomInfo item What the vendor states
Sales editions Professional, Copilot Advanced, Copilot Enterprise
Marketing editions Demand, ABM Lite, ABM Enterprise
Price Based on licenses and credit usage, as well as desired features
Free options Free trial of the paid platform
Cognism item What the vendor states
Plans Standard and Pro, each with 5 seats included
Pro adds Higher-quality mobile data, mobile verification on demand, buying-intent prioritisation
Intent data Bombora Company Surge, up to 12 topics from a library of 11,000+
CRM Enrichment Add-on to Standard or Pro, or standalone
Price Tailored, personalised quote
Free options Demo and free data sample

Reported spend is the only way to size a budget. Vendr reports a median ZoomInfo contract value of $33,500 a year, from $7,247 to $156,032, across 1,578 purchases (reported). Source: Vendr. For Cognism, the only reported figures come from a competitor's blog: roughly $15,000 platform fee plus about $1,500 per user a year on Standard, and roughly $25,000 plus about $2,500 per user a year on Pro (reported). Source: Amplemarket. Amplemarket sells a rival product and attributes the figures to several third-party sources, so treat them as a planning range and ask Cognism for a written proposal.

Spend lens ZoomInfo Cognism
Published list price None, pricing on request None, pricing on request
Reported midpoint or range Median $33,500/yr, range $7,247 to $156,032 (reported) About $15,000 plus about $1,500 per user/yr on Standard (reported)
Five-seat team on Standard Quote required Quote required; the reported platform fee plus per-user fee is the planning range above
Source quality Vendr marketplace data Competitor blog estimates

Don't read the table as a ranking. The ZoomInfo figure is a median across all editions and buyers, the Cognism figures are estimates for two plans, and neither is a quote for your headcount.

Contract Terms and What to Ask For

For ZoomInfo, Vendr's page gives a useful picture of how these contracts work. Terms run one to three years, multi-year commitments are described as unlocking lower annual pricing, auto-renewal clauses are common and often carry a 5 to 10% annual escalation, notice periods are typically 30 to 90 days, and seat and credit changes are often restricted. Vendr's page suggests negotiating a longer notice window and the right to adjust seats and credits annually.

Negotiate B2B Data Contract Terms: A large cream contract scroll is held open by four small outlined tabs; a magnifying lens inspects the renewal tab while a coral bookmark marks the exit clause. No generated wording, currency or signatures.

For Cognism, the same competitor blog reports that annual contracts are required, that onboarding fees of about $500 to $1,500 are usually charged separately, that auto-renewals carry 60 to 90 day notice, and that minimum seat commitments apply (reported). Source: Amplemarket. Cognism's own pricing page doesn't state any of this, so confirm each point.

Contract term ZoomInfo (reported by Vendr) Cognism (reported by Amplemarket)
Term length 1 to 3 years Annual contracts required
Multi-year discount 15 to 30% off initial quotes Discounts reported on multi-year or end-of-quarter deals
Annual prepay discount 10 to 20% off initial quotes Not reported
Auto-renewal Common, often with a 5 to 10% annual escalation Typical 60 to 90 day notice
Notice period Typically 30 to 90 days 60 to 90 days
Seat and credit changes Often restricted Credit allocations reset annually, user reductions need a sales conversation
One-off fees Not stated Onboarding about $500 to $1,500

Whichever vendor you pick, put these questions to the rep and get answers in writing:

Question Why it matters
What is the term, and does it renew automatically? Renewal terms decide whether you can leave
What is the uplift at renewal? A year-one discount can become a bigger year-two bill
How many credits are included and what happens to unused ones? Credits that expire are money already spent
Is mobile access priced differently from email? Phone-led teams live or die on this
Which countries are covered by call screening, and how often do lists refresh? Decides your separate screening cost
Are bounced or wrong records credited back? Shifts data risk to the vendor
Can seats and credits be reduced mid-term? Headcount changes faster than contracts
What happens to exported data if we cancel? Matters for your CRM after the contract ends

Compliance and Data Rights

The vendor supplies data and a compliance posture. You still send the email or place the call, so the legal duty sits with you. What differs is how much each vendor tells you about its own handling, and how much of the call-screening job it takes on.

Review Data Rights and Call Screening: One cream phone contact card waits before a broad navy-outlined screening gate; beyond it a second independent cream shield protects a campaign envelope. A tiny coral suppression tab sits outside the gate. Both controls remain distinct, no guarantee checkmarks.

GDPR and the EU. Cognism's compliance page says it relies on legitimate interest under Article 6.1(f), notifies business contacts of their inclusion "within GDPR timeframes", keeps data generally inside the EEA and uses standard data protection clauses for transfers elsewhere, and notifies clients of a breach no later than 72 hours after it occurs. ZoomInfo's data page shows GDPR Compliant and CCPA Compliant badges and TRUSTe certification. A badge tells you the vendor has a program. It doesn't give you a lawful basis for your campaign.

A fine worth knowing about. Kaspr is a separate Cognism-owned product, not Cognism itself, and the ruling was not about Cognism. Cognism acquired Kaspr in 2022, for an undisclosed sum. The French regulator then fined Kaspr EUR 240,000 in a decision dated 5 December 2024, published by the EDPB on 23 January 2025, for collecting contact details through a Chrome extension from LinkedIn and other sources into a database of about 160 million contacts, citing Articles 5(1)(e), 6, 12, 14 and 15. The lesson isn't about either vendor. It's that source and transparency decide enforcement, so ask any vendor where its contacts come from and how it informs the people in its database.

CCPA and US state laws. Cognism says it is registered as a data broker with the California Attorney General and offers an opt-out form for sale of data. ZoomInfo shows a CCPA badge. Neither removes your own duties, and California's Attorney General notes that the exemptions for business-to-business transaction data expired on 31 December 2022, so B2B contact data isn't exempt by default.

PDPA in Southeast Asia. Singapore, Malaysia and Thailand each run their own data protection law with consent and notice rules that differ from the GDPR model. Neither vendor's compliance material gives a country-by-country PDPA statement. Ask each how it sources and flags contacts in the countries you target, and read the local regulator's guidance, such as the Singapore PDPC, before dialing.

Phone data and Do Not Call. This is where mistakes get expensive and where the two vendors differ most. Cognism says it matches phone numbers against Do Not Call registries and marks matches in the platform, scrubbing against lists in the US, Australia, the UK (TPS and CTPS), France, Germany and other European countries. ZoomInfo's data page doesn't mention call screening, so assume you need a separate step and ask the rep.

The rules themselves point in different directions by country. The FTC says most business-to-business calls are exempt from the Telemarketing Sales Rule, and that includes the National Do Not Call Registry provisions. Calls and texts to cell phones can still bring a private claim under the TCPA, which allows $500 in damages for each violation, trebled for willful or knowing violations. In the UK, the ICO fined Energy Prices Direct Limited GBP 160,000 for over 700,000 unsolicited sales calls between January 2024 and January 2025 to numbers on the TPS and CTPS registers. The US exemption and the UK rule pull in opposite directions, which is why a team calling both markets needs screening that covers both.

Compliance item ZoomInfo Cognism
GDPR Badge on data page Legitimate interest under Article 6.1(f), contacts notified, 72-hour breach notice to clients
CCPA Badge on data page Registered California data broker, opt-out form
Security certifications SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, ISO 27701 ISO 27001, ISO 27701, SOC 2 Type II
Do Not Call and TPS screening Not mentioned on data page Stated, with registries in 12 countries named in its FAQ
PDPA (Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand) Confirm with vendor Confirm with vendor
Data location Confirm with vendor Generally inside the EEA, standard clauses for transfers out
Your own duties Lawful basis, notice, suppression, opt-out Same, no vendor can take them over

One inconsistency to raise with Cognism: its compliance page says "15 major Do Not Call and TPS lists", while its FAQ names 12 countries (13 registries if you count the UK's two lists separately). Ask for the exact list in writing before you rely on it.

Integrations and Workflow Fit

ZoomInfo is closest to a data and orchestration layer. It feeds your CRM, your marketing automation and your sequencing tool, and its credit rules mean integrations need planning rather than a casual click. Its editions add Copilot on the sales side and Demand and ABM options on the marketing side.

Cognism is closest to a prospecting tool with a compliance backbone. Its API and Enrich credits are shared with the platform, CRM Enrichment is sold separately, and intent data comes from Bombora's Company Surge topics on the Pro plan.

Workflow need ZoomInfo Cognism
Prospecting search Core feature Core feature
CRM enrichment Core use case, credit-metered Add-on or standalone product
API access Credit use applies Credits work across platform, Enrich and API
Intent and buying signals Streaming Intent add-on and intent topics Bombora Company Surge, Pro plan
Marketing and ABM Demand, ABM Lite, ABM Enterprise Not a stated focus
Call screening in workflow Confirm with vendor Matches flagged as DNC in the platform
On-demand verification Confirm with vendor Pro plan

Implementation and Time to Value

Phase ZoomInfo Cognism
Day 1 Demo, scoping call, trial access Demo, free data sample
Week 1 Trial list pulls, security review Sample review, security review
Weeks 2 to 4 Quote negotiation, contract signed, CRM and integration setup Quote, contract signed, seat setup
Month 2 and after Rollout to teams, credit governance, intent routing Rep onboarding, credit tracking, on-demand verification requests
Training load Heavier, several modules and admin controls Lighter, a narrower product
Who owns it Usually RevOps or Sales Ops Usually the sales leader

If your company needs a vendor security review first, both vendors list SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and ISO 27701, which should speed the questionnaire.

When ZoomInfo Is the Right Call

Your outbound is weighted to North America. The vendor's own regional table puts 157.8M+ contacts and 77.7M+ mobiles in North America, the largest block it shows. If most of your calls land in the US and Canada, that is where its stated depth sits.

Sales and marketing share one data layer. The Demand, ABM Lite and ABM Enterprise editions put the same data behind account-based campaigns. A team that wants one source of truth for both functions gets more from a platform built that way.

You want breadth, not just mobiles. Technographics, org charts and intent topics are part of the credit design. If your motion needs account intelligence as well as contact data, ZoomInfo's scope is wider.

You want a free look first. ZoomInfo links to a free trial of the paid platform, which makes a pilot easier than a demo-only process. If cost is the sticking point, the best ZoomInfo alternatives page covers the field.

When Cognism Is the Right Call

Your outbound is weighted to Europe. Cognism's positioning, its research teams and its call-screening list all lean European. For reps dialing into the UK, Germany, France and neighboring markets, that focus is what you're paying for.

You dial mobiles and need screening built in. Cognism says it matches numbers against Do Not Call and TPS registries and flags matches in the platform. If you'd otherwise buy a separate screening service, that bundled step has real value.

You want verification on demand. The Pro plan includes on-demand mobile verification, so reps can send priority prospects to Cognism's research team. That suits a team working a short list of named accounts.

You re-open the same accounts a lot. Viewing a previously revealed contact is free, which is a better fit for long, multi-threaded cycles. If you're weighing Cognism against other options, see the best Cognism alternatives page.

Not the Right Fit for Either

If you're a small team that wants published prices, a free plan and sequencing in one tool, neither is the natural fit. Compare Apollo vs ZoomInfo for that route, or Lusha vs Apollo if phone data on a small budget is the deciding factor. If you mainly need enrichment on an existing list, the best data enrichment tools page is a better start. And if you're still choosing a category before a vendor, the guide on how to choose sales intelligence software sets out the questions to ask first.

Decision Framework

If this describes you Pick Why
Most calls go to the US and Canada Run the pilot, lean ZoomInfo Largest stated block of contacts and mobiles
Most calls go to the UK and Europe Run the pilot, lean Cognism European focus and bundled call screening
You split between US and EMEA Pilot both, split the list by region Regional strengths differ, so one vendor may not win both
Mobile connect rate is your key metric Pilot both Cognism's 3x and ZoomInfo's 87% are both unbenchmarked claims
You need marketing and sales on one data layer ZoomInfo Dedicated marketing and ABM editions
You need DNC and TPS screening included Cognism Stated in the platform; ZoomInfo's data page is silent
Procurement wants a negotiated multi-year deal Either Both are quote-based; negotiate term, uplift and credits
You can't tell yet Run the 300-contact pilot Your own connect rate beats either vendor's claim

Frame it as a question about your own territory: how many of your best-fit contacts does each vendor return with a working mobile, how many of those calls reach the right person, and what does a connected conversation cost you at your real volume. If the answers are close, pick the vendor with the easier exit.

What to Do Next

Build the 300-contact pilot list this week, split by the regions you actually call. Ask Cognism for its free data sample, ask ZoomInfo for a trial of the paid platform, and pull the same contacts from each. Dial the mobiles, verify the emails with a separate checker and log the connect rate by region. Take the cost per connected conversation to both quote conversations and use it to push on price, credit counts and renewal terms. If neither wins clearly, widen the field with the best sales intelligence tools hub before you commit.

About the author

Laurel

Laurel

Principal CRM Strategist

Laurel is Principal CRM Strategist at Rework, focused on the top of the funnel: opening new demand through outbound and outreach, and capturing it before it goes cold. Laurel writes about cold email and cold calling, multichannel sequences, ABM, the sales engagement tools that run outbound, and the lead management that turns replies into pipeline.