Close vs Nutshell vs Attio: Which CRM Fits Your Small Sales Team in 2026?

Turn this article into takeaways for your work.

Each assistant summarizes the article only for you and suggests best practices for your work.

Updated August 2026

You've already ruled out HubSpot and Salesforce. Maybe the implementation timeline felt wrong for a 12-person team, maybe the price jumped the moment you asked for a second pipeline, or maybe you just don't want to hire someone whose entire job is maintaining the CRM. Close, Nutshell, and Attio all pitch themselves at that exact reader: a small sales team that wants to start selling in a CRM this week, not this quarter.

But the three tools aren't interchangeable, and picking between them on price alone misses the point. Close is built around one motion: reps on the phone and in their inbox, with an AI agent that now makes some of those calls for them. Nutshell is the affordable option that pairs a pipeline with its own email marketing product from the same vendor, even though the two are billed separately these days. Attio is the one that refuses to assume it knows your sales motion, letting you define your own objects instead of forcing contacts, companies, and deals on you. Each has an honest case for winning, and each has a real limitation the other two don't share.

This comparison prices all three at 5, 15, and 40 seats, the range where most small sales teams actually live, using numbers pulled directly from each vendor's own pricing page in August 2026, not recycled from a listicle. If you want the wider CRM field first, the best CRM software of 2026 roundup covers 15 platforms; this one goes deep on three built specifically for small teams.

TL;DR

Dimension Close Nutshell Attio
Best known for Built-in calling, now with an AI agent that dials for you Affordable, all-in-one pipeline paired with its own email marketing product Fully configurable data model, spreadsheet-flexible objects
Core wedge Chloe, an AI sales agent that calls and qualifies leads inside the CRM One vendor for pipeline and email marketing, low entry price Define your own objects instead of a fixed contact-company-deal model
Realistic starting price $35/seat/mo (Essentials, billed annually, unlimited users) $13/seat/mo (Foundation, billed annually) $35/seat/mo (Plus, billed annually, caps at 10 seats)
Where it's genuinely strongest Outbound call volume and speed to first conversation Cost per seat and single-vendor simplicity Custom sales motions that don't fit a standard CRM shape
Where it falls short No native marketing tools, thin lead capture Email marketing is now a separate, separately priced suite No native calling; more setup work than the other two before it's productive
Ideal team size 5 to 80 reps doing real call volume 5 to 60 people wanting one vendor and low admin overhead 5 to 60 people, especially technical or ops-minded founders
Buyer persona Head of Inside Sales, SDR manager Small business owner, first Sales Manager hire Founder, RevOps lead, technical co-founder

Key Facts: Close, Nutshell, and Attio in 2026

  • Close's AI sales agent, Chloe, went generally available on June 3, 2026, after a beta with 306 businesses that made 818,787 calls and reached 111,915 prospects and customers. (Close, "Introducing Chloe")
  • Attio has raised more than $140 million to date, including a $52 million Series B in August 2025 led by GV, Google's venture arm. (Attio, "Attio raises $52m Series B")
  • Nutshell now sells email marketing as a separate Marketing Suite, priced and billed independently of its Sales Suite plans, a change from the single bundled price this category is often described with. (Nutshell Help Center)
  • Attio's Plus plan is hard-capped at 10 seats. Any team past that size has to move to Pro at $79/seat/mo billed annually, more than double the Plus rate. (Attio pricing)
  • Close's cheapest listed rate, $9/seat/mo, only applies to its 1-user Solo plan. A real team of any size starts at Essentials, $35/seat/mo billed annually. (Close pricing)

What Each Tool Is Actually Built For

Close: the phone is the product, and now it partly dials itself

Close was built on a simple bet: reps spend all day calling and emailing, so remove every click between a rep and the next conversation. That bet still holds in 2026, but the product has changed shape. In June, Close shipped Chloe, an AI sales agent built directly into the CRM that calls leads, qualifies them, books meetings, and updates the CRM record, often before a rep touches the phone. During Chloe's beta, 306 businesses used her to make more than 818,000 calls and log over 6,400 hours of conversation time, the equivalent of 268 straight days of calling. One beta customer told Close they booked 30 meetings and grew total meetings booked by more than 50% in their first week running Chloe. Close CEO Steli Efti frames the shift plainly: "The biggest opportunity with AI isn't replacing salespeople. It's giving small businesses leverage they couldn't afford before."

That AI layer sits on top of the calling infrastructure Close was already known for: a native power dialer from the Growth plan up, a predictive dialer at Scale, SMS, and email sequences, all built in, with no third-party VoIP integration required. What Close still doesn't do is marketing. There's no landing page builder, no campaign tool, and lead capture from forms or ads needs a third-party connector. If your growth motion depends even partly on inbound, Close has no answer for the top of the funnel. See the best Close alternatives if marketing coverage turns out to matter more than calling depth once you dig in.

Nutshell: one vendor, two suites, still the cheapest way to a real pipeline

Nutshell's pitch has always been that a small business shouldn't need a consultant to run a CRM. That's still true in 2026: Foundation, its entry tier, gets a team onto a shared pipeline with unlimited contacts and unlimited data storage for $13 a seat a month billed annually, the lowest realistic starting price of the three tools in this comparison, and it stays the cheapest option at every seat count.

What's changed is the marketing story. Nutshell historically sold itself as CRM-plus-email-marketing for one price. That's no longer accurate. Nutshell now runs a separate Marketing Suite for email campaigns, priced and billed independently of the Sales Suite plans covered here. You're still buying from one vendor and the data still lives in one system, but "bundled into one price" isn't the right way to describe it anymore. Ask Nutshell for current Marketing Suite pricing directly if campaigns factor into your decision; it's billed by contact list size, not by seat, and Nutshell doesn't publish exact current rates on a single page we could independently verify.

Where the Sales Suite itself earns its reputation is the Pro tier, $42/seat/mo annually, which adds five pipelines, sales automation, and email sequencing natively, no add-on required. For a small team that wants automation without Close's calling focus or Attio's configuration overhead, that's a real middle path. See the best Nutshell alternatives if Nutshell's ceiling turns out to be the actual problem.

Attio: the CRM that doesn't assume it knows your sales motion

Attio's premise is that most CRMs force your business into a contact-company-deal shape whether or not that shape fits how you actually sell. Attio doesn't. Every object, whether it's contacts, companies, deals, or something you define yourself, is configurable from the start. A recruiting agency can model candidates and placements. A fund can model portfolio companies and check sizes. That flexibility is real, not just a marketing claim, and it's backed by serious capital: Attio has raised more than $140 million, including a $52 million Series B in August 2025 led by GV.

The trade-off is setup time. A blank, configurable data model means someone on your team has to decide what the model should be before reps can use it productively, and the CRM data model design guide is worth reading before that first configuration session rather than after. Attio also doesn't do native calling: there's no power dialer here, and outbound-heavy teams need a separate VoIP tool. What it does have, even on the free tier, is "Ask Attio," an AI layer for querying and acting on your data, plus workflows and API access that Close and Nutshell gate behind higher tiers or don't offer at all. For a technical founder or an ops-minded first sales hire who wants to shape the tool rather than be shaped by it, that's the entire pitch. The best Attio alternatives guide is worth a look if configuration overhead turns out to be the dealbreaker.

Capability Close Nutshell Attio
Native calling / power dialer Yes, from Growth plan up No (third-party integration only) No (third-party integration only)
AI agent that takes action (calls, books meetings) Yes, Chloe, all plans No No, AI is query and assist, not autonomous calling
Email sequencing Yes, all plans Pro tier and up Pro tier and up
Native email marketing / campaigns No Separate Marketing Suite, extra cost No
Custom objects / configurable data model No, fixed CRM shape No, fixed CRM shape Yes, fully configurable
Free tier available No No Yes, up to 3 seats

How Each Tool Handles AI in 2026

AI is the one area where all three vendors have moved the furthest since the category's older comparison pages were written, and the three approaches are genuinely different, not just repackaged chatbots.

Close's Chloe is the clearest departure: she isn't a copilot suggesting what a rep should say, she's an agent that places outbound calls, has the conversation, qualifies the lead, and writes the CRM record herself. That's available starting on the $9/seat/mo Solo plan, with monthly AI credits (500 to start, rising to 2,000 on Scale) governing how much of the calling she does. Attio's "Ask Attio" sits at the other end: it's a query and action layer over your configured data model, answering questions and running workflows across whatever objects you've built, included even on the free tier, but it doesn't pick up a phone. Nutshell lists "AI capabilities" as part of its Pro tier and up, though unlike Close and Attio, Nutshell doesn't spell out on its public pricing pages exactly what that covers, which makes it the hardest of the three to evaluate sight unseen.

AI dimension Close (Chloe) Nutshell Attio (Ask Attio)
Takes autonomous action (calls, books meetings) Yes Not specified publicly No, assists and executes workflows, doesn't call
Available from Solo plan ($9/seat/mo annual) Pro plan ($42/seat/mo annual) Free plan ($0)
Usage model Monthly AI credits, scale by tier Not specified publicly Included in seat price
Best fit Outbound teams wanting fewer manual dials Unclear from public documentation Teams wanting to query or automate across a custom data model

Decision by Business Goal

Your goal Best fit Why
Get reps making more calls with less manual dialing Close Native power dialer plus Chloe, an AI agent that places and logs calls itself
Run pipeline and email marketing from one vendor without stitching tools Nutshell Same vendor for Sales Suite and Marketing Suite, even though pricing is separate
Build a CRM around an unusual sales motion (agencies, funds, PLG) Attio Configurable objects instead of a fixed contact-company-deal model
Get five people onto a shared pipeline as cheaply as possible Nutshell Foundation starts at $13/seat/mo annually, the lowest real price of the three
Use AI that actually acts, not just AI that drafts text Close Chloe books meetings and updates records directly, not just suggested replies
Avoid setup or configuration work before reps start selling Nutshell or Close Both ship an opinionated, ready-to-use pipeline out of the box
Keep room to add complex automation later without re-platforming Attio Workflows, API access, and custom objects available from Plus up

Team and Role Fit

Team / role Best fit Why
SDR or AE team doing 30+ calls a day Close Purpose-built for call volume; nothing else here comes close
Founder or first Sales Manager hire, no dedicated ops person Nutshell Fastest to a usable pipeline with the least configuration
RevOps lead or technical founder shaping the process themselves Attio The blank data model is a feature here, not friction
Small team also running its own email marketing Nutshell The only one of the three that sells a marketing product at all, even as a separate suite
Agency, fund, or relationship-first business with a non-standard pipeline Attio Custom objects handle candidates, portfolio companies, or partners as first-class records
Team where marketing has no seat at the table yet Close A purely sales-focused tool matches a purely sales-focused team
Company stage Close Nutshell Attio
Pre-revenue / just off spreadsheets Workable, but Chloe's value shows up once call volume exists Strong fit; fastest onboarding of the three Workable on the free tier, but setup time competes with everything else at this stage
Early revenue, first few reps hired Strong fit, especially outbound-led motions Strong fit Strong fit if someone owns the data model
Growing team, 20 to 40 people Strong fit if calling stays central to the motion Good fit, Business or Enterprise tier for reporting depth Good fit, though Plus's 10-seat cap forces a jump to Pro

Pricing at Real Team Sizes: 5, 15, and 40 Seats

Sticker price and real price aren't the same thing in this category. Each vendor's cheapest listed number belongs to a tier that either caps out fast or doesn't include the feature that makes the tool worth buying in the first place. Here's the full tier ladder for each, followed by what a real team actually pays.

Close plan Monthly billing Annual billing Seats What you get
Solo $19/user/mo $9/user/mo 1 user only Calling, email, SMS, basic CRM, 500 AI credits/mo, Chloe access
Essentials $49/user/mo $35/user/mo Unlimited All Solo features, team collaboration, forms, centralized inbox, 1,000 AI credits/mo
Growth $109/user/mo $99/user/mo Unlimited Automated workflows, Chloe in workflows, power dialer, bulk email, 1,500 AI credits/mo
Scale $149/user/mo $139/user/mo Unlimited Predictive dialer, role-based permissions, unlimited call recording, live call coaching, 2,000 AI credits/mo

Source: Close pricing

Nutshell plan Price, billed annually What you get
Foundation $13/user/mo Unlimited data storage, contact management, customizable pipeline
Growth $25/user/mo Foundation features plus activity/email reports, quotas, pipeline stage goals
Pro $42/user/mo Growth features plus 5 pipelines, sales automation, email sequencing, full reporting, AI capabilities
Business $59/user/mo Pro features plus full Scheduler, 10 pipelines, revenue reporting, Gmail template integration
Enterprise $79/user/mo Unlimited pipelines, unlimited custom fields, multiple currencies, read-only SQL access, dedicated support

Source: Nutshell Help Center, billing and pricing plans. Nutshell's Marketing Suite (email campaigns) is priced and billed separately by contact list size; get a current quote directly from Nutshell rather than assuming it's included.

Attio plan Monthly billing Annual billing Seats Records What you get
Free $0 $0 Up to 3 50,000 Real-time contact syncing, automatic enrichment, basic integrations, Ask Attio
Plus $44/user/mo $35/user/mo Up to 10 250,000 Private lists, enhanced email sending, up to 15 reports
Pro $99/user/mo $79/user/mo Unlimited 1,000,000 Call intelligence and sequences, permission controls, up to 100 reports
Enterprise Custom Custom Unlimited Custom Unlimited objects, unlimited teams, security and admin controls, 100+ reports

Source: Attio pricing

Attio's Plus plan is the cheapest way to run a small team on Attio, at $35/seat/mo annually, the same rate as Close Essentials. But Plus is hard-capped at 10 seats. A 15-person or 40-person team can't stay on Plus at any price; Attio pushes the entire team to Pro, $79/seat/mo annually, more than double the Plus rate. That's a real cliff, not a gradual scale-up, and it's worth knowing before you commit to Attio at 8 seats and assume seat 12 costs the same as seat 1.

Tool and tier 5 seats 15 seats 40 seats
Close Essentials ($35/seat/mo) $2,100/yr $6,300/yr $16,800/yr
Close Growth ($99/seat/mo, adds power dialer + Chloe in workflows) $5,940/yr $17,820/yr $47,520/yr
Nutshell Foundation ($13/seat/mo) $780/yr $2,340/yr $6,240/yr
Nutshell Pro ($42/seat/mo, adds automation + sequencing) $2,520/yr $7,560/yr $20,160/yr
Attio Plus ($35/seat/mo, caps at 10 seats) $2,100/yr Not available past 10 seats Not available past 10 seats
Attio Pro ($79/seat/mo, unlimited seats) $4,740/yr $14,220/yr $37,920/yr

At entry tiers, Nutshell Foundation is the cheapest way to get any of these three tools running for a small team, at every seat count, by a wide margin. But entry tiers don't include each tool's actual reason for existing: Foundation doesn't include sales automation, Essentials doesn't include the power dialer or Chloe in workflows, and Plus caps out before a 15-person team can use it at all. Once you price the tier that includes the feature you're actually buying the tool for, Nutshell Pro stays cheapest at every seat count, Attio Pro lands in the middle, and Close Growth is the most expensive of the three, roughly 2.4x Attio Pro and 2.9x Nutshell Pro at 40 seats. That's the real trade-off: Close's calling and AI-agent depth costs more per seat than either alternative once you're on the tier that actually dials for you. Before you run this math against your own headcount, the How to Pick a CRM in 2026 checklist covers the questions worth answering first.

Implementation and Change Management

Dimension Close Nutshell Attio
Time to first deal tracked 1-2 days Under 1 day 3-5 days, data model setup comes first
Setup style Self-serve; tuning Chloe's call scripts takes longer than basic CRM setup Self-serve, no consultant needed Self-serve, but benefits from an ops-minded owner
Who maintains it long-term A sales manager can own dialer scripts and Chloe's call flows A sales manager or owner, no dedicated admin needed Works best with someone comfortable owning the data model
Training load Moderate; reps need to trust an AI agent making some of their calls Low; the UI is built for non-technical teams Moderate to high; the team needs to understand the object model before it's productive
Where migration risk hides Porting call scripts and sequences from a previous dialer tool Moving contacts and campaign lists into two separate suites instead of one Deciding the object model before importing data, not after

If you're migrating off a spreadsheet or a previous CRM into any of these three, the CRM migration guide covers the cleanup work most teams underestimate regardless of which vendor they land on.

Risk and Governance

Risk dimension Close Nutshell Attio
Company maturity Founded 2013, established inside-sales CRM vendor Launched 2010, established SMB CRM vendor Founded 2019, high-growth venture-backed startup
Funding / stability signal Privately held, no recent large raise publicized Acquired by WebFX, a digital marketing agency, in October 2022; still operates under the Nutshell brand and its own pricing $140M+ raised, including a $52M Series B in August 2025 led by GV
Data portability Standard CSV export; call and SMS history are Close-specific formats Standard CSV export A custom object model needs re-mapping into any other tool's fixed schema
AI data handling to review Chloe places calls and reads CRM data to act on her own; check current data handling terms before turning her loose on live customer calls AI features are limited to Pro tier and up; smaller data exposure surface Ask Attio and AI agents touch your entire configured data model; review its data terms given how much the platform can see
Vendor lock-in risk Moderate; dialer scripts and call data are Close-specific Low; the pipeline structure is a standard CRM shape Higher; a custom object model is harder to migrate out of than a standard one

Attio's youth cuts both ways. The funding signals real staying power and a fast product cadence, but "still maturing" is an honest description of its enterprise governance and reporting depth next to two vendors that have run small-business CRMs for over a decade. Weigh that against how much your team actually needs from year one.

Worth knowing on the Nutshell side specifically: it isn't an independent company anymore. Digital marketing agency WebFX acquired Nutshell in October 2022 (WebFX press release). Nutshell still ships under its own name with its own pricing and product roadmap, so it doesn't change anything in the comparison above, but it's a fair question to ask on a sales call if vendor independence matters to you.

When Close Is the Right Call

  • Your team's day is genuinely built around the phone: 20 or more dials a rep, short cycles, high call volume.
  • You want an AI agent making some of those calls for you instead of just drafting an email, and you're comfortable being an early adopter of that workflow.
  • You don't have a marketing function yet, or marketing already runs in a separate, dedicated tool.
  • You're fine paying the highest per-seat price of the three once you're on the tier that includes the power dialer and Chloe's deeper workflow automation.

When Nutshell Is the Right Call

  • Budget is the binding constraint and you want the lowest real per-seat price of the three, at every team size.
  • You want pipeline and email marketing from one vendor, even knowing they're billed as two separate suites now.
  • Nobody on the team has time to configure a data model; you want something that works the day you log in.
  • Your sales motion is a standard pipeline, not something that needs custom objects or heavy dialer infrastructure.

When Attio Is the Right Call

  • Your business doesn't fit a standard contact-company-deal shape (agencies, funds, marketplaces, or PLG motions with unusual entities to track).
  • You have a technical or RevOps-minded person willing to own the data model before the team starts using it daily.
  • You want a genuine free tier to start on (up to 3 seats) before committing any budget at all.
  • You're comfortable adding a separate calling tool later if outbound volume becomes a bigger part of the motion.

Decision Framework

If you need... Pick...
The most calls made per rep per day, with an AI agent doing some of the dialing Close
The lowest real cost per seat at 5, 15, or 40 people Nutshell
One vendor for pipeline and email marketing, accepting they're priced separately Nutshell
A CRM shaped around your business instead of the other way around Attio
A genuine free tier to test before paying anything Attio
The fastest setup with zero configuration decisions Nutshell or Close
Room to add complex, multi-object workflows later without switching tools Attio

What to Do Next

Pick based on the tier that includes the feature you're actually buying the tool for, not the cheapest number on the pricing page. Run a two-week pilot with real leads on that tier: Close Growth if calling depth and Chloe are the draw, Nutshell Pro if you want automation without dialer overhead, Attio Plus or Pro depending on your seat count if a flexible data model is the point. Load real contacts, work real deals, and watch which tool your reps actually open on Monday morning without being reminded.

If none of the three quite fits by the time you're at the upper end of this range, that's worth naming honestly. A 40-person team whose leads now arrive from ads, WhatsApp, chat, and referrals all at once has usually outgrown what any single-motion small-team CRM was built to handle, whichever of these three you picked first. That's a different, larger category (CRM, lead routing, and a shared inbox in one system), and it's not what Close, Nutshell, or Attio are trying to be. Rework is built for that specific gap, but it's aimed at teams past the 20-person mark, not a 5-person team just getting off spreadsheets. For that team, the three tools above are still the right shortlist.

Before you demo any of them, the How to Pick a CRM in 2026 checklist and the how to choose a CRM for a small business guide both cover the questions worth answering first. And if Nutshell's marketing suite split above changes your calculus, the marketing automation vs CRM guide walks through when you actually need both bought together versus bought separately.

Frequently Asked Questions about Close vs Nutshell vs Attio

Which of the three is cheapest for a 5-person team?

Nutshell is cheapest at every seat count. Its Foundation plan runs $13/seat/mo billed annually, or $780/yr for 5 seats. Close's realistic entry price is $35/seat/mo (Essentials), and Attio's is also $35/seat/mo (Plus), both landing at $2,100/yr for 5 seats.

Does Close still have a power dialer, or has it been replaced by AI?

Both exist side by side. Close's power dialer is native from the Growth plan up ($99/seat/mo billed annually), and Chloe, its AI sales agent, calls, qualifies, and books meetings on top of that infrastructure, available from the Solo plan up with usage governed by monthly AI credits.

Is Nutshell's email marketing included in the CRM price?

Not anymore. Nutshell now sells email marketing as a separate Marketing Suite, priced independently of the Sales Suite plans covered in this comparison. You're still buying from one vendor, but it's two separate bills.

Can a small sales team actually run on Attio's free tier?

Yes, for up to 3 seats and 50,000 records, with real-time contact sync, enrichment, and Ask Attio included. Teams past 3 people need Plus, $35/seat/mo billed annually.

What happens to Attio's price once a team grows past 10 seats?

Attio's Plus plan is hard-capped at 10 seats. Any team larger than that has to move to Pro, $79/seat/mo billed annually, more than double the Plus rate, even for the 11th seat.

Which CRM is best for a team doing high-volume outbound calling?

Close, by a clear margin. It's the only one of the three with a native power dialer and predictive dialer, and its AI agent Chloe is built specifically to make and log outbound calls, not just assist with drafting.

Are Close, Nutshell, and Attio all still independently purchasable?

Yes, all three are active products you can buy directly as of August 2026. Close (founded 2013) and Attio (founded 2019, over $140 million raised including a 2025 Series B led by GV) remain independent companies. Nutshell (launched 2010) was acquired by digital marketing agency WebFX in October 2022 but still ships under its own name, pricing, and roadmap.

Do any of these three include native marketing automation?

Not the way HubSpot does. Close has none. Attio has none. Nutshell comes closest with its separate Marketing Suite, but that's billed and configured independently of the core CRM.

About the author

Camellia

Camellia

Principal Product Marketing Strategist

Camellia is Principal Product Marketing Strategist at Rework, helping B2B buyers pick the right software with confidence. With 6+ years in product marketing and 150+ SaaS tools evaluated across CRM, project management, and sales engagement, Camellia turns competitive intelligence into clear, honest comparisons. Readers get vendor evaluations they can trust to cut through marketing noise and decide faster.