Noble vs Anchorial: Should You Pay for AI Citation Placement?

Turn this article into takeaways for your work.

Each assistant summarizes the article only for you and suggests best practices for your work.

You've noticed that ChatGPT, Perplexity, and Google's AI Overviews recommend your competitors and skip you, or they mention you off a review that's two years stale. Two companies, Noble (thatsnoble.com) and Anchorial (anchorial.io), are built around selling a direct fix for that gap. They are not the only firms that will do it, several link-building and digital-PR agencies now reach the same outcome, but these two make it the product, which is why they are the pair worth comparing closely. Neither one is software. Neither hands you a dashboard and leaves the work to you. You pay, they research which third-party pages the AI models already pull from in your category, they pitch the publisher, and your brand gets named on that page. The bet is that the next time an AI assistant answers a question in your category, it cites the page that now mentions you.

That is a different purchase than an AI visibility tracker, and it deserves a different kind of scrutiny. A monitoring tool tells you where you stand today. A placement service tries to change where you stand, for a fee, on a page you don't own and can't edit after the fact. This article compares what Noble and Anchorial actually deliver, what each one costs once you price a real program instead of the headline number, and whether paying for a citation is a defensible line item or a risk you're underpricing.

TL;DR

Noble Anchorial
What you buy New brand mentions, and corrections to outdated or wrong existing mentions, placed into articles AI models already cite Three separate products: LLM citation links, listicle and roundup placements, and SaaS link building
Entry price $2,000 a month minimum, on a 12 month commitment From $400 to $600 per placement, no published minimum spend
How price scales Mention Score tiers from $100 to $600 Noble fee, plus a $100 to $300 publisher fee, roughly $400 all in on average A flat starting ("from") price per product line, billed per placement
Contract Annual, billed monthly; unused budget carries forward and is refunded after the term Not published
Publisher review You approve the copy before it publishes; whether you see the publisher list beforehand is not stated You approve every domain before outreach, per Anchorial's own site
Reporting Real-time dashboard: mentions in progress, live placements, spend Not detailed on the public site
Disclosed as sponsored Not addressed on the public site Not addressed on the public site
Best fit A brand with an annual budget that wants an ongoing, managed program A brand that wants one placement, or a handful, without a retainer
Vendor Domain Live and independently purchasable? Category
Noble thatsnoble.com Yes Paid citation placement, retainer-based
Anchorial anchorial.io Yes Paid citation placement, per-placement

A live, well-rendered pricing page is a starting signal, not final proof a company will still exist or honor terms a year into a 12-month contract, so re-confirm before you sign anything long-term.

What Noble Actually Sells

Noble runs two products. New Mention finds articles that AI models already cite for your category but that don't mention your brand, then pitches the publisher to add you. Mention Refresh does the same thing for existing mentions that are wrong, outdated, or missing a detail you'd rather the AI model surface instead. Noble handles the research, the outreach, the negotiation with the publisher, and the follow-up, and you review and approve the copy before anything goes live.

The pitch rests on a specific claim: that most of what AI assistants cite isn't your own website, so optimizing your own site only addresses part of the problem. That claim gets its own test below, because it's doing a lot of work in Noble's sales pitch and it's worth knowing whether it holds up.

What Anchorial Actually Sells

Anchorial sells three distinct things under one roof, and it's worth keeping them separate because they carry different risk profiles. LLM Citation Links places your brand on pages AI engines already reference, similar to Noble's core product. Listicle and Roundup Placement gets you an entry in "best of" articles, the exact article type this page is. Premium SaaS Link Building is closer to traditional link building: contextual links and guest posts, sold as a category rather than tied specifically to AI citation.

Anchorial states that you approve every domain before outreach starts, that it targets publishers in the DR 40 to 90 range (a third-party domain authority metric, not something the publisher assigns itself), and that it runs "zero PBNs," meaning no private blog networks, a tactic search engines have penalized for over a decade. It also offers a $500 audit, credited toward your first month if you move forward.

Need Noble product Anchorial product
Get a new brand mention on a page AI models already cite New Mention LLM Citation Links
Fix a mention that's wrong, outdated, or missing Mention Refresh Not offered as a separate product
Get listed inside a "best of" or roundup article specifically Not a separate product; falls under New Mention Listicle and Roundup Placement
General link building not tied to a specific AI-cited page Not offered Premium SaaS Link Building
A one-time audit before committing Not offered $500, credited to month one

Is Paying for a Citation a Good Idea at All?

This is the question that matters more than which vendor to pick, and neither vendor's own site is going to answer it honestly for you.

The case against. A purchased mention is a form of paid link placement, even when it's framed as "earned" coverage you're simply accelerating. Google's own spam policy prohibits buying or selling links intended to pass ranking signal, and requires a rel="nofollow" or rel="sponsored" attribute on any paid link to stay compliant (Google Search Central, spam policies for Google web search). Neither Noble nor Anchorial's public site states whether the links or mentions they place carry that attribute, or whether the publisher labels the content as sponsored at all. That matters for two separate reasons: it's a real compliance question for the publisher under the FTC's endorsement rules, which require any material connection between an advertiser and content to be disclosed clearly (FTC, "The FTC's Endorsement Guides: What People Are Asking"), and it means neither you nor the AI model reading that page has any signal that the mention was purchased.

On top of that, an AI assistant's citation set is not stable. A model update, a re-crawl of the source page, or a change in how the assistant ranks sources can drop a page from the answer it returns, with no connection to anything you did and no refund tied to that outcome. And attribution is close to unmeasurable: there's no click-pixel or conversion log for an LLM's internal retrieval step. You can watch whether a tracked phrase starts appearing in AI answers after a placement goes live, but you cannot prove that placement caused it rather than a dozen other changes happening on the same timeline.

The honest case for. None of that makes paid placement indefensible. If the target page already ranks well, already pulls organic traffic, and gets crawled on a normal schedule, a placement on it is closer to a PR and distribution buy than a ranking manipulation: you're paying for visibility on a page that would keep existing with or without you, and a disclosed sponsored placement on a reputable site is a long-standing, legitimate category of spend. Properly tagged sponsored content and advertorials are explicitly allowed under Google's own policy, not banned by it. For a company with a real budget for earned media and no realistic path to organic coverage on a six-month timeline, paying for a placement on an already-authoritative page and treating any AI citation as a bonus, not the point, is a reasonable way to spend the money.

The honest answer is that this is a trade, not a verdict. Weigh it like any other PR or link-building spend: real cost, uncertain and unmeasurable upside, a compliance question that sits mostly on the publisher but still touches your brand name.

Noble's 85% Claim, Checked

Noble's homepage states that 85% of the sources AI models cite are third party, not the brand's own site. That's the entire logical foundation for why you'd pay for third-party placement instead of just improving your own website. We looked for a primary source or methodology behind that 85% figure on Noble's own site and found none: no linked study, no sample size, no date. Treat it as Noble's own marketing claim, not an independently verified statistic, and say so if you repeat it internally.

A second study points in the same direction, and it comes with a disclosed method, but read it with its author in mind. DerivateX, which describes itself as a full-service SEO and GEO agency for B2B SaaS companies and which sells what it calls citation engineering, analyzed 233 tool recommendations across 40 B2B SaaS categories, pulling 169 cited URLs from ChatGPT with web search enabled. It found the recommended tool's own website was cited only 11.6% of the time, meaning 88.4% of citations pointed to third-party pages (DerivateX, "B2B SaaS AI Citation Study: How ChatGPT Recommends Software").

That figure is more useful than Noble's because the sample size and method are stated, so you can judge it. But it is not neutral research, and we are not going to present it as such: an agency that sells third-party citation placement has a direct commercial interest in the finding that third-party citations dominate. The same caution applies to most numbers circulating in this category, because nearly everyone publishing them sells the remedy. What you can reasonably take from it is directional, that AI assistants lean heavily on third-party pages rather than brand-owned ones, a direction two separate interested parties agree on while neither independently confirms the other's number. We found no measurement of this from a party with nothing to sell. That absence is worth knowing before you spend $2,000 a month on the strength of it.

Noble Pricing, Tier by Tier

Noble prices on a "Mention Score" scale, a measure Noble assigns to the placement opportunity itself, with your fee rising alongside the publisher fee.

Mention Score tier Noble's fee Typical publisher fee Approximate all-in cost
Standard (1 to 29) $100 $100 to $300 Roughly $200 to $400
Plus (30 to 49) $200 $100 to $300 Roughly $300 to $500
Premium (50 to 69) $400 $100 to $300 Roughly $500 to $700
Elite (70 to 100) $600 $100 to $300 Roughly $700 to $900
Program average, per Noble Blended across tiers Blended across tiers About $400 per mention

Noble's program requires a $2,000/month minimum on a 12 month commitment; these per-mention figures apply within that program, not as a standalone purchase.

Two mechanics matter more than the sticker price. First, unused monthly budget carries forward within the 12-month term rather than expiring each month, so a slow month doesn't forfeit that spend. Second, whatever's still unused at the end of the 12 months gets refunded, "no questions asked," within roughly 90 days of the term ending. That's a meaningfully more buyer-friendly structure than a typical use-it-or-lose-it retainer, assuming Noble honors it in practice, which we have no independent way to verify.

Anchorial Pricing, Product by Product

Anchorial prices each product as a floor, not a fixed rate.

Product Starting price What it is
LLM Citation Links From $600 per placement A link on a page AI engines already cite
Listicle and Roundup Placement From $450 per placement An entry in a "best of" style article
Premium SaaS Link Building From $400 per placement Contextual links and guest posts, general purpose link building
Link audit $500, credited to your first month A one-time assessment before you commit to a product
Minimum spend Not published No stated retainer or monthly floor on the public site
Contract length Not published No stated term on the public site

Every figure above is a published floor; Anchorial does not state what the typical final price lands at per placement.

The phrase "credited to your first month" implies some clients engage Anchorial on an ongoing basis even though no minimum or term is published for that arrangement. If you're considering a recurring engagement rather than a single placement, get the actual recurring terms in writing before you sign, since the public site doesn't commit to any.

What a Real Program Costs: Two Worked Examples

The headline numbers flatter whichever vendor fits your volume. Here's what it looks like once you price a real program instead of a single unit.

Scenario Noble Anchorial
One placement, no ongoing program Not available. Noble's only published entry point is the 12-month, $2,000/month program From $400 to $600 for a single placement, the product built for exactly this
5 placements across a year $24,000 committed across the 12-month term; if the 5 mentions land near the $400 average, roughly $22,000 of that budget is unused and eligible for refund after the term closes Roughly $2,000 to $3,000, paid per placement, invoiced as each one lands, no annual commitment
20 to 25 placements across a year Fits comfortably inside the $24,000 annual budget at Noble's stated ~$400 average, with no additional charge once committed Roughly $8,000 to $15,000 depending on product mix, each placement billed separately at its own starting price

Noble only makes financial sense if you're planning a genuine, ongoing program somewhere around 20 or more placements a year, or you specifically want the refund structure as a hedge. For anything smaller, or a single test placement to see whether this category does anything at all, Anchorial is the only one of the two built for that purchase.

Publisher Quality and What You See Before You Pay

Noble Anchorial
Do you see the publisher before outreach starts? Not stated on the public site Yes, per Anchorial: "You approve every domain" before outreach
Published quality floor Not a public domain-authority number; priced instead by Noble's own "Mention Score" for the opportunity DR 40 to 90, per Anchorial, using a third-party domain rating metric
Link network claims Not addressed "Zero PBNs" (private blog networks), per Anchorial
Copy control You review and approve the copy before it publishes Not detailed on the public site
How opportunities are sourced Noble researches pages AI models already cite in your category, then pitches the publisher Anchorial identifies pages AI engines already cite, then secures placement on them

Contract Length, and What Happens If a Placement Disappears

Noble Anchorial
Minimum term 12 months, billed monthly Not published
Early exit terms Not addressed on the public site Not addressed on the public site
Prepaid budget handling Carries forward within the 12-month term; refunded, unused, within roughly 90 days of the term ending Not applicable; you pay per completed placement, no prepaid pool described
If a placement is edited or removed after it publishes Not addressed on the public site A "lifetime link guarantee," per Anchorial, with remediation specifics not detailed publicly
Who holds the relationship with the publisher afterward Not addressed Not addressed

Treat the unanswered rows as real gaps, not formalities. If a publisher pulls the article, redesigns the page, or de-indexes it a year later, ask both vendors in writing what happens before you sign, because neither one commits to an answer on their own site.

Is Any of This Disclosed as Sponsored Content?

Noble Anchorial
Is the placement labeled sponsored, paid, or an ad on the publisher's page? Not addressed on the public site Not addressed on the public site
Does a link, where one exists, carry rel="nofollow" or rel="sponsored"? Not stated Not stated
FTC material-connection disclosure, publisher side Not addressed Not addressed

Neither vendor's public marketing addresses this, which doesn't mean individual publishers skip disclosure, plenty handle it correctly on their own. It means you can't assume it from the vendor's side, and a reader or an AI model encountering the mention has no built-in way to know it was purchased unless the specific publisher chose to say so. Ask for the disclosure language in writing before you commit, especially if the publisher is one your own customers already read and trust.

When Noble Is the Right Call

Noble fits a brand that has already decided it wants an ongoing, budgeted program, not a test. A marketing team with roughly $24,000 or more a year earmarked for brand mention placement, that wants the refund safety net on unused spend, and that's comfortable not knowing the publisher list in advance, gets a reasonable structure for it. The real limitation: there's no published entry point below the full 12-month program, so a company that wants to try one or two placements before committing cannot use Noble at all, and the public site says nothing about an exit if the program underperforms your expectations.

When Anchorial Is the Right Call

Anchorial fits a brand that wants a single placement, or a handful, with no annual commitment and the ability to approve the exact domain before anyone reaches out to a publisher on your behalf. It's also the only one of the two with a dedicated general link-building product if you have a mixed need. The honest limitation, beyond the disclosure gaps above: every published price is a floor, not a typical final number, so the real cost of a program at any scale is something you'll only learn by asking. And it's worth repeating directly: the Listicle and Roundup Placement product is buying entry into the exact article format you're reading right now, which is the single fact most worth knowing before you hire anyone to do it.

The Unpaid Alternative: Monitoring and Earned Coverage

Paying for placement isn't the only lever, and for a lot of companies it isn't the first one worth pulling. An AI visibility monitoring tool tells you where you already stand across ChatGPT, Perplexity, and AI Overviews before you spend anything trying to change it, and it keeps working after any placement campaign ends, which neither Noble nor Anchorial's product does on its own. If you're choosing a tracker, Peec AI vs Otterly vs Rankscale prices three self-serve ones at real usage, and Profound vs Peec AI covers buying a tracker versus an agent that works from the data. If the gap turns out to be that AI models simply can't find enough to cite from your own site, AI SEO tooling and AI agents built for SEO work close part of that gap directly, by making your own pages more citable rather than renting space on someone else's.

The slower, unpaid route is still the one with no disclosure risk attached: publish something genuinely useful enough that a journalist, analyst, or another site links to it on its own, and the resulting citation has nothing to walk back later. If you're building the broader toolkit around this, a practical SEO buyer's guide and a brand monitoring tools comparison both cover the earned side of this problem, and understanding which AI engines and which AI search tools your buyers actually use tells you where either the paid or the unpaid effort is worth concentrating first.

Decision Framework

Situation Reasonable move
You want to test whether paid citation placement does anything, with minimal commitment Anchorial, starting with one placement
You have a defined annual PR or link-building budget and want an ongoing, managed program Noble, if the 12-month commitment fits your budgeting cycle
You don't yet know where you stand in AI answers at all Start with a monitoring tool before paying anyone to change the picture
Your own site simply isn't citable yet (thin content, no original data, weak structure) Fix that first; a purchased mention on someone else's page doesn't fix your own site's weaknesses
You need the placement disclosed and compliant, no exceptions Get the rel attribute and sponsorship-labeling commitment in writing from either vendor before you sign, since neither publishes it
You're a publisher yourself, evaluating whether to accept either vendor's outreach Decide your own disclosure practice first; the compliance exposure sits with you, not the brand paying for the mention

Frequently Asked Questions about Noble and Anchorial

Is paying for an AI citation against Google's rules?

Not automatically. Google's spam policy prohibits buying or selling links that pass ranking signal without disclosure, but it explicitly allows paid placements and advertorials when the link carries a rel="nofollow" or rel="sponsored" attribute. Neither Noble nor Anchorial states on its public site whether placements use that attribute, so ask before you buy.

What's the difference between an AI visibility tool and a citation placement service like Noble or Anchorial?

A visibility tool like Otterly.ai or Profound monitors and reports where your brand already stands in AI answers. Noble and Anchorial don't monitor anything; they pay publishers to add your brand to pages AI models already cite. One measures, the other tries to change the underlying pages.

Does either vendor guarantee an AI model will actually cite the new mention?

No. Both place a brand mention on a third-party page that AI models currently cite for related queries. Neither claims to control or guarantee future AI citation behavior, since that's determined by the AI vendor, not by Noble or Anchorial.

Is Noble's claim that 85% of AI citations are third-party sources accurate?

It's Noble's own marketing claim, with no published methodology on its site. A study by DerivateX, an SEO and GEO agency that sells citation placement, found a similar but not identical figure, 88.4% of ChatGPT's software citations pointing to third-party pages across 233 recommendations in 40 B2B SaaS categories, and that one at least discloses its method. Both sources sell the remedy, so neither is neutral and neither confirms the other. The direction looks right; the exact 85% is not independently verified, and we found no measurement from a party with nothing to sell.

How much should a company budget to test this category before committing further?

Anchorial is the lower-commitment way to test it, from $400 to $600 for a single placement with no published minimum spend. Noble has no entry point below its full $2,000/month, 12-month program, so it isn't built for a small test.

Are Noble and Anchorial the only companies selling AI citation placement?

No, but this corner of the market is new and most vendors publish little about pricing or process. Treat any vendor's claims the same way this article treats Noble's and Anchorial's: verify what's published, label what isn't, and ask directly about anything the public site leaves out.

What to Do Next

Before you sign with either vendor, ask for three things in writing that neither public site currently states: whether the placement or link carries a rel="nofollow" or rel="sponsored" attribute, whether the publisher discloses the placement as sponsored content, and what happens to your spend if the page is edited, de-indexed, or taken down after it publishes. If you don't get clear answers, treat that as the real price of the purchase, not the invoice.

About the author

Camellia

Camellia

Principal Product Marketing Strategist

Camellia is Principal Product Marketing Strategist at Rework, helping B2B buyers pick the right software with confidence. With 6+ years in product marketing and 150+ SaaS tools evaluated across CRM, project management, and sales engagement, Camellia turns competitive intelligence into clear, honest comparisons. Readers get vendor evaluations they can trust to cut through marketing noise and decide faster.