Patriot Software vs FreshBooks vs Wave: Which Budget Accounting Tool Actually Fits in 2026?

Turn this article into takeaways for your work.

Each assistant summarizes the article only for you and suggests best practices for your work.

Updated August 2026

Patriot Software, FreshBooks, and Wave all get called "cheap accounting software" in the same sentence, but they get there three completely different ways. Patriot keeps its own feature set narrow and prices real payroll compliance lower than almost anyone else in the category. FreshBooks builds everything around getting a client to pay an invoice fast, with double-entry books bolted on almost as an afterthought. Wave gives away the core ledger for free and makes its money on the payments and payroll that flow through it afterward. Picking between them isn't really a features question. It's a question of which bill you're actually trying to solve: payroll, invoicing, or software cost itself.

But get the geography question out of the way first, since it rules out two of the three tools for a lot of readers before pricing even matters. Patriot Software only serves US businesses, full stop. Wave stopped accepting new signups outside the United States and Canada back in 2020 and hasn't reversed that decision. FreshBooks is the only one of the three with a real footprint outside North America: people in more than 160 countries have used it, according to its own numbers. If you're not a US or Canadian business, this comparison narrows to one option before you read another word.

Key Facts

  • Patriot Software's accounting plans moved from $10/month (Basic) and $15/month (Premium) earlier in 2026 to $20/month and $30/month by mid-year, per pricing trackers at SoftwareFinder (updated July 16, 2026) and eLearning Industry (updated July 8, 2026). Patriot's own pricing page sits behind a Cloudflare bot check that blocks automated verification, so treat this figure as reported and cross-confirmed across multiple sources, not fetched firsthand from Patriot itself.
  • The IRS charges a tiered penalty when a payroll tax deposit arrives late: 2% at 1 to 5 days late, 5% at 6 to 15 days, 10% past 15 days, and 15% once the IRS has sent a notice demanding immediate payment, according to the IRS's own failure-to-deposit penalty page. That's the real cost of the compliance gap Patriot's Full Service Payroll is built to close.
  • Wave has been owned by H&R Block since June 2019, in a cash deal reported at roughly $405 million USD (about C$537 million), according to BetaKit's coverage of the acquisition. In November 2020, less than 18 months after that deal closed, Wave cut off new signups and product support in every country except the US and Canada.
  • FreshBooks says more than 30 million small businesses have used its software across over 160 countries, according to FreshBooks' own about page. That's the widest geographic reach of the three tools in this comparison by a wide margin.
  • On Capterra, Patriot Software holds a 4.8 out of 5 rating across 3,965 reviews, FreshBooks holds 4.5 out of 5 across 4,523 reviews, and Wave holds 4.4 out of 5 across 1,729 reviews, all verified directly on Capterra in August 2026.

TL;DR

Dimension Patriot Software FreshBooks Wave
Best for US small businesses whose main pain is running payroll compliantly Service businesses and freelancers who bill by the hour or project Pre-revenue or very small businesses watching every dollar of software spend
Country availability US only 160+ countries US and Canada only
Starting price $20/month (Accounting Basic) $23/month (Lite, 5 billable clients) $0/month (Starter, real double-entry accounting)
Payroll Native, from $17/month + $4/employee, or $37/month + $5/employee for full tax filing Paid add-on, $40/month + $6/month per employee Native, $40/month + $6/employee (US, unified pricing since April 2025)
Users and seats Unlimited on every tier, no per-seat fee 1 seat included, $11/month per extra team member on every tier Unlimited on every tier, no per-seat fee
Double-entry depth Genuine, with a patented dual-ledger system that tracks cash and accrual accounting at the same time Added in 2019, thinner than a dedicated general ledger Genuine, runs underneath a simplified interface
Inventory management No No No
Weakest spot Basic reporting, no multi-currency, US-only Costs climb fast once you add seats or payroll Feature depth thins out well before 20 employees

What Each Tool Is Actually Built For

Patriot Software: payroll first, accounting along for the ride

Patriot exists because QuickBooks Payroll and Gusto both charge more than a lot of small US employers want to pay for something as routine as running payroll correctly. The accounting side of the product is deliberately plain: unlimited invoices, unlimited customers, and unlimited users on both tiers, with no per-seat fee at all. What sets Patriot apart is a patented dual-ledger system, covered by CPA Practice Advisor and Accounting Today, that writes every transaction to both a cash-basis and an accrual-basis ledger at the same time. An owner can work from the cash view day to day while an outside accountant pulls accrual numbers at year-end, with no manual conversion in between. Payroll is the real product: Basic Payroll runs $17/month plus $4 per employee for direct deposit and a self-service employee portal, and Full Service Payroll runs $37/month plus $5 per employee and adds federal, state, and local tax filing. HR and Time & Attendance are separate add-ons at $6/month plus $2 per employee each. If payroll compliance, not invoicing, is the actual headache, our guide to choosing payroll software covers the broader field Patriot competes in.

FreshBooks: invoicing first, accounting added later

FreshBooks started as an invoicing tool, and the DNA still shows. The client portal, proposal templates, time tracking, and automated late-payment reminders are the strongest of any tool in this comparison, built for a consultant or agency whose real operational problem is getting paid on time, not closing the books. Double-entry accounting was added in 2019, and it works, but every sibling review on this site describes it the same way: thinner than a dedicated ledger, with no inventory management and reporting depth that a bookkeeper handling a product business will outgrow. FreshBooks charges by client count and by seat: Lite caps you at 5 billable clients, Plus at 50, and Premium and Select go unlimited, but every tier charges $11/month for each team member beyond the first. Payroll isn't native. It's a $40/month plus $6/month per employee add-on layered on top. For the wider field this tool sits in, see best FreshBooks alternatives and, if Xero's unlimited-user model is also on your shortlist, Xero vs FreshBooks.

Wave: free first, monetized through what happens next

Wave's Starter plan is genuinely free, not a 30-day trial dressed up as freemium: unlimited invoices, estimates, bills, and bookkeeping records with real double-entry accounting underneath. The catch is that the pieces most businesses actually want, automatic bank feeds, receipt scanning, and unlimited collaborators, all moved behind the $19/month (or $190/year) Pro plan. Wave makes its real money on transactions: card payments run 2.9% plus $0.60 per swipe (3.4% plus $0.60 for Amex), and payroll for US employees runs $40/month plus $6 per employee. Wave has been a subsidiary of H&R Block, a public tax-prep company, since 2019, which matters more than it sounds. For the wider field of free and low-cost tools, see best Wave alternatives.

Capability Patriot Software FreshBooks Wave
Double-entry accounting Yes, patented dual-ledger (cash and accrual simultaneously) Yes, added 2019 Yes, runs under a simplified UI
Invoice or client cap Unlimited on every tier 5 (Lite), 50 (Plus), unlimited (Premium, Select) Unlimited on every tier
Native payroll Yes No, paid add-on only Yes (US and Canada)
Inventory management No No No
Multi-currency No Yes No
Time tracking No Yes, native No
Client or proposal portal No Yes No
Country availability US only 160+ countries US and Canada only

Decision by Business Goal

Business goal Best fit Why
Get payroll off my plate without enterprise pricing Patriot Software Full Service Payroll bundles tax filing from $37/month plus $5/employee, the cheapest compliant payroll of the three
Get clients to pay me faster FreshBooks Purpose-built invoicing, a client portal, and automated late-payment reminders
Run real books at zero cost while pre-revenue Wave The Starter plan is genuinely free double-entry accounting, not a limited trial
Bill by the hour and track project profitability FreshBooks Native time tracking wired directly into invoices
Keep a lean office team from paying per seat Patriot Software or Wave Both include unlimited users at a flat price; FreshBooks charges $11 per extra seat
Operate outside the US or Canada FreshBooks The only one of the three with a real footprint outside North America
Avoid a vendor whose strategic focus could shift again Patriot Software or FreshBooks Both are independently held; Wave's 2020 exit from over 100 countries followed its 2019 acquisition
Scale toward 20 employees without re-platforming payroll Patriot Software Built for up to roughly 25 employees; FreshBooks and Wave both show real gaps by that size

Team and Role Fit

Role Best tool Why
Owner running solo, billing a handful of clients FreshBooks (Lite) or Wave (Starter) Cheapest way to look professional and get paid
Office manager running payroll for a small crew Patriot Software Full Service Payroll and accounting under one login, no per-seat math
Bookkeeper closing books for an outside accountant at year-end Patriot Software or Wave Real double-entry ledgers; Patriot's dual-ledger toggles cash and accrual automatically
Service business owner billing by project or hour FreshBooks Time tracking tied directly to invoicing is the strongest of the three
Founder who might hire outside the US FreshBooks The only one of the three built for international billing
Anyone who needs 5 or more people logged in without seat math Patriot Software or Wave Unlimited users included; FreshBooks adds $11/seat/month

Pricing at Real Team Sizes

The numbers below hold headcount steady across payroll cost and software seats, which keeps the comparison consistent even though it isn't always how a real business is staffed (more on that in a moment). Patriot's figures use Full Service Payroll throughout, since that's the plan that actually files taxes, the fair match against Wave's payroll, which always includes tax filing. All figures are monthly list price with no promotional discounts applied.

Business size Patriot Software FreshBooks Wave
Solo, no employees $20/month, $240/year (Accounting Basic) $23/month, $276/year (Lite) $0/month (Starter), or $19/month, $228/year (Pro)
5-person team, 5 employees on payroll $82/month, $984/year $157/month, $1,884/year (Plus + 4 extra seats + payroll) $89/month, $1,068/year
20-person team, 20 employees on payroll $157/month, $1,884/year $439/month, $5,268/year (Premium + 19 extra seats + payroll) $179/month, $2,148/year

FreshBooks is the one place the seat-versus-headcount assumption really matters. Its $11 charge is per software login, not per employee on payroll, so a 20-person business that only gives its owner and three admin staff access to the books pays for 4 seats, not 20. Run the 20-person math that way instead (Premium at $70/month plus 3 extra seats at $33/month, still with payroll running for all 20 employees at $160/month) and the total drops to $263/month, $3,156/year. That's still 67% more than Patriot's $157/month for the same headcount, and FreshBooks still has no inventory or multi-currency depth, but it's the fairer number if only a few people actually touch the books.

Payment processing: where Wave and FreshBooks actually make money

Patriot doesn't monetize through payments the way the other two do; its business model is the subscription and the payroll add-on. Wave and FreshBooks are different. Both give away or discount the core software and recover margin on every card swipe, which is exactly where a reader's true cost tends to hide.

Wave FreshBooks
Standard card (Visa, Mastercard, Discover) 2.9% + $0.60 2.9% + $0.30
American Express 3.4% + $0.60 3.5% + $0.30
Bank transfer / ACH Not offered as a discounted option 1% (capped on Select plans)
International card surcharge Not specified on Wave's own pricing page +1.5%
Foreign exchange fee Not specified on Wave's own pricing page +2%
Instant payout fee Not specified on Wave's own pricing page +1.5%
Discount for paying subscribers First 10 transactions/month on Pro: fixed fee waived (2.9%/3.4% + $0) None found; FreshBooks' Managed Payments option actually costs more, at 3.5% + $0.30
Dispute or chargeback fee Not specified on Wave's own pricing page $15 per dispute

Run real volume through either one and the fixed fee stops being the interesting number. A freelancer invoicing 30 clients a month at $150 each, all paid by standard card, pays about $148.50/month in Wave fees versus about $139.50/month in FreshBooks fees, a $9/month gap that comes entirely from the $0.60 versus $0.30 fixed fee, since the 2.9% headline rate is identical. On larger invoices the fixed fee barely registers and the two are effectively the same cost. On a high volume of small invoices, the gap compounds.

Client, invoice, and seat limits

Tool Tier Client or customer cap Seats included Extra seat cost
Patriot Software Accounting Basic Unlimited Unlimited $0
Patriot Software Accounting Premium Unlimited Unlimited $0
FreshBooks Lite 5 billable clients 1 (owner) $11/month
FreshBooks Plus 50 billable clients 1 (owner) $11/month
FreshBooks Premium Unlimited 1 (owner) $11/month
FreshBooks Select Unlimited 3 (owner + 2 free) $11/month beyond 3
Wave Starter (free) Unlimited Unlimited $0
Wave Pro Unlimited Unlimited $0

None of the three caps invoice volume the way some budget tools do. The limit that actually bites is FreshBooks' client count on Lite and Plus, and its per-seat fee the moment a second person needs to log in.

Implementation and Change Management

Factor Patriot Software FreshBooks Wave
Time to first invoice or payroll run Days; setup is built around a narrow, US-specific feature set Hours; built to be self-serve for non-accountants Hours; the free tier removes signup friction entirely
Learning curve Low, deliberately narrow feature set Low, plain-language UI over accounting jargon Low, the simplest interface of the three
Migrating from QuickBooks or spreadsheets CSV import; a simpler data model than QuickBooks Online to map into CSV import of clients and invoices CSV import with manual opening balances
Who typically leads setup Owner or office manager, no accountant required Owner, with accountant access available Owner, with accountant access available
Where the real setup work is Getting payroll tax IDs and bank details right the first time, since Full Service files under your EIN Rebuilding your client list and billing cadence inside the client portal Connecting bank feeds correctly, which is only automated on the paid Pro plan

Risk and Governance

Risk dimension Patriot Software FreshBooks Wave
Ownership Privately held, based in Canton, Ohio; no acquisition history Privately held, Toronto-based Owned by H&R Block (public company) since 2019
Country and roadmap stability Stable, but deliberately US-only by design Broadest footprint of the three, 160+ countries Pulled support from over 100 countries in 2020, less than 18 months after its acquisition
Tax and compliance US federal, state, and local filing built into Full Service Payroll Regional tax features for UK, Canada, and Australia (VAT, GST/HST, Making Tax Digital) Automatic US tax filing bundled into the payroll base fee since April 2025
Support Free US-based support included on every plan Standard support across all tiers Email and chat on Pro; limited on the free Starter tier
Independent review signal 4.8/5 on Capterra, 3,965 reviews 4.5/5 on Capterra, 4,523 reviews 4.4/5 on Capterra, 1,729 reviews
What keeps the price low A deliberately narrow feature set and smaller integration library Per-seat and per-client fees that scale automatically as you grow Payment processing and payroll add-ons subsidize the free accounting tier

The Wave row is worth sitting with. H&R Block bought Wave for roughly $405 million in 2019, and less than two years later, Wave's new owner decided the product should only serve the US and Canada, cutting off invoicing and support for every other country Wave had previously served. Nothing suggests that's about to happen again, and the US and Canada businesses this comparison is actually written for were never affected. But it's the clearest real-world answer available to the question every reader of a "free accounting software" comparison should be asking: what does free actually cost once someone else owns the roadmap? Wave also sells its way past free eventually. Wave Advisors, its human bookkeeping service, starts at $149/month for businesses that outgrow doing their own books.

When Patriot Software Is the Right Call

  • Your main operational pain is running payroll compliantly, not chasing invoices or managing inventory
  • You're a US business with 1 to 25 employees and want accounting and payroll from one vendor without QuickBooks-level pricing
  • You want unlimited users on the accounting side without doing seat math every time someone joins the team
  • Your accountant wants clean cash and accrual numbers without manual conversion at year-end
  • You don't need inventory tracking, multi-currency support, or anything outside the US

When FreshBooks Is the Right Call

  • Your real problem is getting clients to pay faster, not running payroll
  • You invoice by the hour or by project and want time tracking wired directly into billing
  • You operate outside the US and Canada, or need multi-currency invoicing
  • You have under 5 clients today and want to stay on the cheapest Lite tier as long as possible
  • You don't carry inventory and don't need deep double-entry reporting behind the invoicing layer

When Wave Is the Right Call

  • You're pre-revenue or very early revenue and every dollar of software spend matters
  • You're a US or Canada-based solo operator or very small team, the only geographies it still serves
  • You can live with manual bank entry on the free tier, or $19/month for automation
  • You don't need inventory, time tracking, or project profitability reporting
  • You're comfortable with a roadmap set by a public tax-prep company's priorities rather than an independent accounting-software vendor

Decision Framework

If you are... Pick
A US small business whose main pain is running payroll compliantly Patriot Software
A freelancer or agency billing clients by the hour or project FreshBooks
Pre-revenue or very early, watching every dollar of software spend Wave
Based outside the US and Canada FreshBooks, the only one of the three that works for you
Growing past 10 to 15 employees and need payroll to stay affordable Patriot Software
Comparing every budget option in the category, not just these three See the best accounting software roundup

What to Do Next

  1. Settle the geography question first. If you're outside the US and Canada, FreshBooks is your only option of the three, and the rest of this comparison doesn't apply.
  2. Total your real cost, not the sticker price. Add payroll headcount and, for FreshBooks or Wave, expected card-payment volume before comparing monthly numbers.
  3. Run a real trial with your own data. Import a month of transactions and send a handful of real invoices before committing to any of the three; a demo with sample data hides exactly the limits that matter later.
  4. If none of these three fit, widen the search. Our best QuickBooks alternatives guide covers the more full-featured field these three sit below, and Xero vs Zoho Books is worth a look if unlimited users without a payroll-first or invoicing-first slant is what you actually want.
  5. Still deciding what "budget accounting software" even means for your situation? Our guide to choosing accounting software for freelancers and guide to billing and invoicing software both cover the decision criteria in more depth than a single comparison can.

Frequently Asked Questions about Patriot Software vs FreshBooks vs Wave

Can I use Patriot Software, FreshBooks, or Wave outside the United States?

FreshBooks is the only one built for it, used by people in more than 160 countries. Wave stopped accepting new signups outside the US and Canada in 2020 and hasn't reversed that. Patriot Software has always been US-only.

Which of the three actually does real double-entry accounting?

All three do, but at different depths. Patriot's patented dual-ledger system tracks cash and accrual accounting at the same time, which accountants generally accept without adjustment. Wave's double-entry runs cleanly underneath a simplified interface. FreshBooks added double-entry in 2019, but its reporting stays thinner than a dedicated ledger, especially for a business carrying inventory.

Is Wave still genuinely free now that H&R Block owns it?

Yes, the Starter plan's core accounting, invoicing, and bookkeeping features remain free. What changed is that automatic bank imports, receipt scanning, and multi-user collaboration moved behind the $19/month Pro plan, and H&R Block's 2020 decision to exit every country except the US and Canada is a real example of what "free" can cost in roadmap certainty.

How much does payroll actually cost on each platform?

Patriot's Full Service Payroll runs $37/month plus $5 per employee, the cheapest of the three at most headcounts. Wave charges $40/month plus $6 per employee in the US. FreshBooks has no native payroll, only a $40/month plus $6/month per employee add-on.

Which tool is cheapest for a business with 20 employees?

Patriot Software, by a wide margin once payroll is included. A 20-person business running Patriot's Accounting Basic plus Full Service Payroll costs about $157/month. The same headcount costs roughly $179/month on Wave and somewhere between $263 and $439/month on FreshBooks, depending on how many people actually need a software login.

Do any of these three handle inventory?

No. None of the three has real inventory management, which rules all of them out for a product-based business that needs to track stock, cost of goods sold, or purchase orders.

About the author

Camellia

Camellia

Principal Product Marketing Strategist

Camellia is Principal Product Marketing Strategist at Rework, helping B2B buyers pick the right software with confidence. With 6+ years in product marketing and 150+ SaaS tools evaluated across CRM, project management, and sales engagement, Camellia turns competitive intelligence into clear, honest comparisons. Readers get vendor evaluations they can trust to cut through marketing noise and decide faster.