Justworks vs TriNet: Which PEO Fits Your Company in 2026?

Turn this article into takeaways for your work.

Each assistant summarizes the article only for you and suggests best practices for your work.

Updated August 2026: pricing checked against Justworks' own published rate card and TriNet's own PEO pricing page where TriNet discloses anything at all. CPEO certification status verified against the IRS's active CPEO public listing.

You're weighing two PEOs, and the difference shows up before you've read past either homepage. Justworks tells you PEO Basic runs $79 per employee per month and PEO Plus runs $124, no base fee, no sales call needed to see the number. TriNet tells you to request a quote. That's not a marketing quirk. It's most of the decision, compressed into one fact: can you build a real budget line today, or do you need thirty minutes on the phone first.

This comparison is for the founder, COO, HR director, CFO, or office manager evaluating co-employment for a company somewhere between 5 and 250 employees. If you've narrowed your PEO search to these two names, you already understand what a PEO does and why you want one. What's left is matching the buying process and the risk profile to your company, not re-explaining what co-employment is. Here's what each one actually costs, what "certified" means for both of them, and where a genuinely regulated business outgrows one for the other.

TL;DR

Justworks TriNet
What it is PEO with a fully published, flat per-employee rate card PEO with a flat PEPM admin fee, quoted individually per account
Entry PEO tier PEO Basic, $79/employee/mo, no base fee TriNet PEO, quote only
Full-benefits PEO tier PEO Plus, $124/employee/mo, no base fee, adds Justworks-administered health insurance Same TriNet PEO product; benefits depth is scoped inside the quote, not a separately named tier
Non-PEO option Justworks Payroll, $50/mo base + $8/employee/mo, no co-employment TriNet HR Plus (ASO), quote only, no co-employment
Global hiring Global/International EOR, $599/employee/mo Not a core TriNet product
Pricing model Published rate card, sign up online Flat PEPM administrative fee, but the rate itself is never published
CPEO certified? Yes, since 2017 Yes, since 2018
Best known for The only major PEO you can price without talking to anyone Industry-vertical compliance depth and a wider underwriting appetite
Not really built for Regulated or higher-risk industries Justworks tends to be selective about Buyers who want a dollar figure before they'll book a call

Who Each Tool Is Built For

Justworks built its reputation on being the PEO a founder or ops lead can price and buy without a sales process. Read the pricing page, pick PEO Basic or PEO Plus, sign up, and the number you saw is the number on your first invoice. Its core client base leans toward tech, professional services, agencies, and nonprofits, companies with a fairly standard risk profile where the pitch is simplicity and transparency, not deep vertical expertise.

TriNet runs the same co-employment model underneath, but built for a different buyer. It leans into industries where a generalist PEO's compliance knowledge runs out fast: healthcare, legal, financial services, staffing, and restaurant and hospitality among them. Every TriNet client gets a dedicated HR service team plus guidance specific to their industry, and that depth is exactly why TriNet doesn't publish a rate card. Pricing depends on your headcount, your state mix, and, more than with a generalist PEO, your industry's claims and compliance profile.

Justworks TriNet
Natural buying trigger Want a real number before a sales call Need compliance guidance built for a specific regulated industry
Company profile that fits best 5-100 employee tech, professional services, agencies, and nonprofits with a standard risk profile 10-200+ employee companies in healthcare, legal, financial services, staffing, or another higher-risk vertical
Primary buyer Founder, operations lead HR director, general counsel
Underwriting posture More selective; steers away from higher workers'-comp-exposure industries Broader risk appetite, actively built to take on regulated and higher-risk clients
Service model Self-serve dashboard with 24/7 support Dedicated HR service team assigned per account

Neither company sells to only one kind of business, but the split is real. Justworks wins on speed and transparency for a company with a straightforward risk profile. TriNet wins when your industry is the reason you're shopping for a PEO in the first place, not just the headcount.

Key Facts

  • More than 200,000 US businesses use a PEO today, covering roughly 4.5 million worksite employees across about 500 PEOs nationwide, according to NAPEO.
  • Businesses that use a PEO grow more than twice as fast as comparable non-PEO businesses and are 50% less likely to go out of business, based on a McBassi & Company study commissioned by NAPEO.
  • The IRS Failure to Deposit penalty for a late payroll tax deposit climbs from 2% to 15% of the unpaid amount depending on how late it's paid, one of the compliance risks CPEO successor-employer status is built to guard against, per the IRS.
  • Workers at firms with fewer than 200 employees pay $8,889 a year on average toward family health coverage, compared with $6,227 at larger firms, the group-rate gap a PEO's master health plan is designed to close, per the KFF 2025 Employer Health Benefits Survey.
  • Justworks and TriNet are both IRS-certified Professional Employer Organizations (CPEOs): Justworks since 2017, TriNet since 2018, confirmed on the IRS's own active CPEO public listing.

Pricing Transparency: What a Real Quote Actually Looks Like

This is the single biggest structural difference between these two companies, and it decides most of the comparison before you reach a single feature.

Justworks publishes two PEO tiers with real numbers. PEO Basic runs $79 per employee per month, no base fee, and covers payroll, tax filing, compliance monitoring, workers' comp, and access to Justworks' large-group health plans. PEO Plus runs $124 per employee per month, also no base fee, and adds Justworks-administered health insurance on top. Both are month to month, with no setup fees and no long-term contract. You can build an exact budget number for your exact headcount in under a minute, and Justworks is the only major PEO on the market that lets you do that.

TriNet publishes nothing comparable. Its own PEO pricing page states plainly that it bills a flat per-employee-per-month administrative fee, not a percentage of payroll, but it doesn't disclose the rate itself. Instead, the page shows a single worked example: 20 employees at a $150 PEPM rate works out to $3,000 a month. That's explicitly an illustration of the math, not a rate card you can apply to your own company. Independent 2026 pricing trackers commonly place TriNet's actual administrative fee somewhere between $100 and $150 PEPM, but treat that as a reported range, not a vendor-confirmed price, until TriNet quotes your specific headcount and industry.

Justworks TriNet
Pricing published on the vendor's site Yes, PEO Basic and PEO Plus both list a real per-employee rate No rate card for TriNet PEO or TriNet HR Plus
How you get a real number Read the pricing page Request a quote
What TriNet's own pricing page shows instead Not applicable A single worked example: 20 employees at a $150 PEPM rate equals $3,000/month, explicitly not a rate card
Billing structure once quoted Flat per-employee-per-month, no base fee on either PEO tier Flat PEPM administrative fee, confirmed on TriNet's own site, never a percentage of payroll
Independent 2026 estimate of the actual rate Not applicable, the rate is published Roughly $80 to $150 PEPM (reported, unconfirmed by TriNet)
Time to a real budget number Minutes Days, pending a quote request

The practical takeaway for a budget owner: with Justworks you can drop a real figure into a spreadsheet before your coffee gets cold. With TriNet, your first real number arrives after someone on TriNet's sales team has your headcount, state mix, and industry in front of them, which is also exactly the information that determines whether TriNet is worth what it costs.

CPEO Certification: Both Are the Real Thing

Before comparing anything else, it's worth confirming that both companies are what they claim to be. The IRS runs a voluntary certification program under Section 7705 of the tax code, and a Certified Professional Employer Organization (CPEO) has met bonding, financial reporting, and tax compliance requirements the IRS checks quarterly. The practical benefit for you: a CPEO earns "successor employer" status for FICA and FUTA taxes, so if you join a CPEO mid-year, switch between two CPEOs, or leave one for direct employment, your employees' wage bases carry over instead of restarting at zero. Skip that protection and a mid-year move can mean two employers both withholding Social Security tax on the same wages up to the annual cap, an error nobody automatically catches or refunds.

Both Justworks and TriNet hold current CPEO status, verified against the IRS's own active CPEO public listing rather than either vendor's marketing page.

Justworks TriNet
IRS-certified CPEO? Yes Yes
Certified since 2017 2018
Filing entity on the IRS's active list Justworks Employment Group and affiliated entities TriNet HR III-B, Inc.
What it protects you from A wage base restart if you join or leave mid-year Same successor-employer protection
Where to verify IRS CPEO Public Listings IRS CPEO Public Listings

Certification status is checked quarterly and can change, so confirm both companies' current status directly against the IRS list before signing, not against a claim on either vendor's own site.

Core PEO Plans and What's Actually Included

Plan Vendor What's included Price
PEO Basic Justworks Payroll, tax filing, compliance monitoring, workers' comp, access to Justworks' large-group health plans $79/employee/mo, no base fee
PEO Plus Justworks Everything in Basic, plus Justworks-administered health insurance $124/employee/mo, no base fee
Justworks Payroll (non-PEO) Justworks Payroll only, no co-employment $50/mo base + $8/employee/mo
Global/International EOR Justworks International employment outside the domestic PEO relationship $599/employee/mo
TriNet PEO TriNet Payroll, tax filing, compliance, workers' comp, a dedicated HR service team, industry-specific guidance, access to TriNet's benefits menu Quote only; flat PEPM, reported $80-150
TriNet HR Plus (ASO) TriNet The same administrative services as the PEO without co-employment; includes what used to be sold separately as the TriNet HR Platform Quote only

One naming note worth getting right if you're researching TriNet on your own: TriNet's 2026 product lineup is TriNet PEO and TriNet HR Plus. The TriNet HR Platform, the HR software TriNet picked up when it acquired Zenefits, is no longer sold as its own standalone SKU. It now ships inside HR Plus, and TriNet has said it's free to use for clients already on other TriNet service packages. If you see "TriNet HR Platform" referenced as something you'd buy on its own, that's stale.

Industry Fit and Underwriting Appetite

This is the section that actually decides most Justworks-versus-TriNet comparisons, more than price does. A PEO's administrative fee only tells part of the story; the workers' comp rate and the underwriting decision behind it are shaped heavily by your industry.

Justworks' core client base leans toward tech, professional services, agencies, and nonprofits, industries with a fairly standard claims profile. The company is known in the PEO market for being more selective about higher-risk industries, construction, restaurants, or staffing agencies with heavy workers' comp exposure among them, where the underwriting math gets harder to make work at a flat, published rate.

TriNet built its go-to-market the opposite way: dedicated vertical practices in healthcare, legal, financial services, staffing, and restaurant and hospitality, with HR guidance and benefits offerings tailored to each. That's the tradeoff for not publishing a rate: TriNet prices in enough underwriting flexibility to take on industries a flat-rate PEO would rather not.

Industry Justworks TriNet
Tech / SaaS / professional services Strong fit, core client base Good fit, one of several verticals served
Healthcare Limited; higher-risk cases are often a harder fit Dedicated healthcare vertical guidance
Legal services Accepted, generalist support Dedicated legal vertical guidance
Financial services Case by case, generalist support Dedicated financial services vertical guidance
Staffing agencies Not a core fit; workers' comp exposure is often too high for a flat published rate Dedicated staffing vertical, built to underwrite this
Restaurant / hospitality Not a core fit Served, with vertical-specific guidance
Construction / manufacturing Not a core fit Case by case, but a meaningfully wider risk appetite than a generalist PEO

If your industry sits in the right column more than the left, the pricing-transparency gap stops being the deciding factor. You're paying for underwriting flexibility TriNet built on purpose, and a published flat rate from a generalist PEO may simply not be an option your industry qualifies for at all.

Benefits and the Master Health Plan

Both companies pool their client companies' employees into a master health plan and negotiate group rates the way a much larger employer would, which is usually the real reason a small company buys a PEO in the first place rather than shopping benefits on its own.

On Justworks, PEO Basic gets you access to Justworks' large-group health plans; PEO Plus adds Justworks-administered health insurance directly, meaning Justworks handles more of the plan administration for you. Plan choice sits inside Justworks' own menu rather than a broker relationship you control.

TriNet's benefits depth is scoped inside the quote rather than split across two named tiers, and its dedicated HR service team is more involved in walking a company through plan selection, useful if your industry needs benefits that a self-serve dashboard doesn't surface well on its own.

Justworks TriNet
Health plan model Justworks' own large-group master plan, deeper administration on PEO Plus TriNet's master plan, benefits depth set per quote
Plan choice Limited to Justworks-administered options, strongest on Plus Broader carrier and plan menu, varies by quote and region
Dedicated benefits guidance Self-serve dashboard with standard support Dedicated HR service team, vertical-specific benefits guidance
Best fit A company comfortable inside one master plan A company that wants more hands-on plan design, worked through a dedicated rep

HR Support and Service Model

One-third of companies spend at least 11 hours a week on HR administration even with modern tools in place, according to Paychex's 2025 Business Leader Priorities survey, as reported by the U.S. Chamber of Commerce. That's the backdrop for why service model, not just price, matters here.

Justworks runs on a self-serve dashboard with 24/7 support included on every plan, no gating to a higher tier. It's built for a team that's comfortable running HR themselves and wants fast, reliable backup, not a dedicated point of contact.

TriNet assigns every client a dedicated HR service team, a named group of people who know your account and, ideally, your industry. That's the tradeoff for the quote-only pricing: TriNet is pricing in a level of hands-on service Justworks doesn't build into its flat rate.

Justworks TriNet
Support model 24/7 support on every plan, self-serve dashboard Dedicated HR service team assigned per account
Best for Teams comfortable running HR themselves with fast backup Teams that want a named contact who knows their account and industry
Onboarding style Self-serve signup, no sales process Sales-led, scoped during the quote
Contract terms Month to month, no long-term contract, no setup fees Set during the quote

Non-PEO Options: Justworks Payroll and TriNet HR Plus

Not every buyer wants co-employment, and both companies sell a way to get their admin services without it.

Justworks Payroll is the company's non-PEO product: $50 a month base plus $8 per employee per month, payroll only, no co-employment, no shared liability. It runs on the same login as the PEO tiers, so a company can start on Payroll and upgrade to PEO Basic or PEO Plus later without switching platforms.

TriNet HR Plus is TriNet's ASO (administrative services only) equivalent: the same payroll, HR, and compliance support as the PEO, minus co-employment, and now the home for what used to be the standalone TriNet HR Platform. It's quote only, the same as TriNet PEO.

Justworks TriNet
Non-PEO product Justworks Payroll TriNet HR Plus (ASO)
Co-employment No No
Price $50/mo base + $8/employee/mo Quote only
What's bundled in Payroll and tax filing Admin services plus the former TriNet HR Platform, included at no extra charge for clients on other TriNet packages
Upgrade path Same login moves to PEO Basic or Plus Same account relationship, re-quoted

If what you actually want is a modern HRIS with a PEO bolted on rather than the other way around, it's worth also looking at Rippling's PEO option, which bundles co-employment into a broader IT and finance platform instead of a payroll-first one.

Global Hiring

Neither company positions itself primarily as a global employment platform, but only one of them sells anything in that direction at all.

Justworks offers a single Global/International EOR tier at $599 per employee per month, letting an existing Justworks client add international hires without moving to a separate vendor. TriNet doesn't sell a comparable global EOR product; international hiring simply isn't a core part of what TriNet built.

Justworks TriNet
Global EOR offered Yes, $599/employee/mo Not a core TriNet product
Best for global hiring An existing Justworks client adding a handful of international hires A dedicated EOR platform; see Deel vs Remote if international hiring is a real part of your roadmap

Implementation and Onboarding

Stage Justworks TriNet
Time to first payroll run Days, self-serve signup Longer, sales and quoting process comes first
Sales/quote cycle before setup starts None Required
Dedicated onboarding team Standard support Dedicated HR service team involved from day one
Best for A company that wants to start now A company that wants a scoped, guided rollout, especially in a regulated industry

Exiting the PEO: What Actually Happens

Leaving a PEO isn't like canceling a SaaS subscription, and this is one place where being IRS-certified matters just as much on the way out as it did on the way in. Because both Justworks and TriNet are CPEOs, wage bases carry over cleanly under successor-employer status if you switch between them or move to direct employment, rather than restarting and risking a double Social Security withholding on the same employee.

What doesn't automatically carry over is health coverage. Coverage under either company's master plan typically ends on a fixed date, commonly the last day of the month you leave, and every enrolled employee is offered COBRA continuation rather than automatic enrollment in whatever plan you set up next. Line up your next benefits provider before your exit date with either company, not after.

Justworks TriNet
CPEO successor-employer status Yes Yes
Wage base carryover mid-year Yes Yes
Health coverage after exit Ends on a fixed date, COBRA offered Ends on a fixed date, COBRA offered
Contract lock-in None, month to month Set during the quote

Add-Ons and Contract Terms

Justworks TriNet
Time tracking $8/employee/mo add-on Included or scoped per quote
Setup fees None Set during the quote
Contract length Month to month Set during the quote
Cancellation No long-term contract to break Terms set during the quote

Cost at 5, 25, 50 and 100 Employees

Justworks' published rate lets you build a real number for any headcount in seconds. TriNet's doesn't, by design, since every quote reflects your headcount, state mix, and industry. The table below shows Justworks' full math on PEO Basic and PEO Plus next to TriNet's reported PEPM range, clearly labeled as a reported estimate rather than a quote. These are administrative and platform fees only, excluding wages, employer payroll taxes, and health insurance premiums, which are usually the larger number on the total bill either way.

Employees Justworks PEO Basic ($79/employee/mo) Justworks PEO Plus ($124/employee/mo) TriNet PEO (reported $80-150 PEPM)
5 $395/mo $620/mo Not disclosed; reported range roughly $400 to $750/mo
25 $1,975/mo $3,100/mo Not disclosed; reported range roughly $2,000 to $3,750/mo
50 $3,950/mo $6,200/mo Not disclosed; reported range roughly $4,000 to $7,500/mo
100 $7,900/mo $12,400/mo Not disclosed; reported range roughly $8,000 to $15,000/mo

Two things worth flagging. First, the Justworks columns are the only fully vendor-confirmed numbers in this table, which is the point of this whole comparison: one company lets you build a real budget line, the other requires an actual quote against your headcount and industry before you have anything more than a directional range. Second, don't average the TriNet range into a single "TriNet costs about X" number and treat it as settled. A company in a higher-risk vertical should expect to land toward the top of that reported range, or above it, not the middle, since the whole reason to pick a vertical PEO is the underwriting work behind the number you don't see yet.

Who Should Pick Justworks

  • You want to see a real, complete price before talking to anyone, and you're comfortable building your own budget number
  • Your company sits in tech, professional services, agencies, or another standard-risk industry
  • You're in the 5 to 100 employee range and want the simplest possible PEO buying process
  • You want the option to start on plain payroll and upgrade into the PEO later, on the same login
  • You're fine choosing benefits inside Justworks' own plan menu rather than working plan design with a dedicated rep

Who Should Pick TriNet

  • Your industry is healthcare, legal, financial services, staffing, restaurant and hospitality, or another vertical where compliance risk is the whole reason you're shopping for a PEO
  • You want a dedicated HR service team who knows your account, not just a support queue
  • Your company's risk profile makes it a harder fit for a flat, published-rate PEO in the first place
  • You're comfortable trading pricing transparency for underwriting flexibility and industry-specific guidance
  • You want the option to run TriNet HR Plus (ASO) now, with the former TriNet HR Platform included, and reconsider full PEO co-employment later

Decision Framework

If you are... Pick
A standard-risk company that wants a real price before a sales call Justworks
In healthcare, legal, financial services, staffing, or hospitality TriNet
Under 100 employees with a straightforward benefits need Justworks
Looking for a dedicated HR service team, not a support dashboard TriNet
Wanting to add international hires on the same PEO login Justworks (Global EOR)
A company a flat-rate PEO tends to decline for workers' comp exposure TriNet
Still comparing the wider PEO category before narrowing down See our full PEO services roundup
Considering a high-touch PEO beyond just these two See our best Insperity alternatives roundup

The verdict: if your company has a standard risk profile and you want a real number today, Justworks' published PEO Basic and PEO Plus rates are hard to beat, and the ability to start on Justworks Payroll and upgrade later removes most of the buying friction. If your industry is the actual reason you're shopping for a PEO, healthcare, legal, financial services, staffing, or another regulated or higher-risk vertical, TriNet's dedicated HR service team and wider underwriting appetite are usually worth the quote-only process, since a flat published rate may not even be on offer for your risk profile elsewhere.

What to Do Next

  1. Get a real TriNet quote against your exact headcount and industry before comparing it to Justworks' published rate. A generalist PEO's rate card and a vertical PEO's quote aren't apples to apples until you have both numbers in hand.
  2. If your industry is healthcare, legal, financial services, staffing, or restaurant and hospitality, start the TriNet conversation first. That's where its vertical practices earn their premium over a flat published rate.
  3. If you want the simplest possible buying process and your risk profile is standard, price Justworks PEO Basic and PEO Plus today and build a real budget line before you book anything with TriNet.
  4. Confirm both companies' current CPEO status directly against the IRS CPEO Public Listings before signing, since certification is checked quarterly and can change.
  5. Not sure either one is the right shape? Our best PEO services roundup ranks 15 providers by buying situation, our best Justworks alternatives and best TriNet alternatives guides cover what to compare if neither name here ends up fitting, and our guide to choosing HR software for small business is worth a look if what you actually need is a broader HRIS, not co-employment. If payroll alone, without any PEO, turns out to be the real question, our guide to choosing payroll software and our Gusto vs ADP and best Paychex alternatives comparisons cover that adjacent decision.

Frequently Asked Questions about Justworks vs TriNet

Is Justworks or TriNet cheaper?

Justworks publishes its rate: PEO Basic is $79 per employee per month and PEO Plus is $124, both with no base fee. TriNet doesn't publish a rate at all. Independent 2026 estimates put its flat PEPM administrative fee at roughly $80 to $150 per employee per month, but that's a reported range, not a vendor-confirmed number, so you can't compare it to Justworks without requesting your own quote.

Are Justworks and TriNet both IRS-certified PEOs?

Yes. Justworks has held CPEO certification since 2017 and TriNet since 2018, both confirmed on the IRS's own active CPEO public listing. That status means both companies get successor-employer status for FICA and FUTA taxes, so your employees' wage bases carry over instead of restarting if you join or leave mid-year.

What is TriNet HR Plus, and is it the same as the old TriNet HR Platform?

TriNet HR Plus is TriNet's ASO (administrative services only) product, the same administrative work as its PEO without co-employment. The TriNet HR Platform, the HR software TriNet picked up when it acquired Zenefits, is no longer sold as its own standalone product. As of 2026 it ships inside HR Plus, and TriNet has said it's free to use for clients already on other TriNet service packages.

Why doesn't TriNet publish its PEO pricing?

TriNet prices every account individually against headcount, state mix, industry, and benefits selections. Its own PEO pricing page shows a single worked example, 20 employees at a $150 PEPM rate working out to $3,000 a month, explicitly to illustrate the math, not as a rate card you can apply to your own company.

Which PEO has a bigger risk appetite for regulated industries?

TriNet. It built dedicated vertical practices in healthcare, legal, financial services, staffing, and restaurant and hospitality, and takes on higher-risk industries more readily than a generalist PEO. Justworks' core client base leans toward tech, professional services, and nonprofits, and it's more selective about industries with heavier workers' comp exposure.

Can I get either company's admin services without co-employment?

Yes, both sell a non-PEO option on the same platform. Justworks Payroll is $50 a month base plus $8 per employee per month, payroll only, with no co-employment, and you can upgrade to PEO Basic or Plus on the same login later. TriNet HR Plus is TriNet's ASO equivalent, quote only, and now includes the former TriNet HR Platform.

What happens to wage bases if I switch from one PEO to the other mid-year?

Because both Justworks and TriNet are IRS-certified CPEOs, wage bases carry over under successor-employer status rather than restarting at zero, which is what can happen moving to or from a non-certified provider. Confirm the transition timing directly with both companies before you switch, since health coverage under the outgoing PEO's master plan still ends on a fixed date regardless of CPEO status.

About the author

Camellia

Camellia

Principal Product Marketing Strategist

Camellia is Principal Product Marketing Strategist at Rework, helping B2B buyers pick the right software with confidence. With 6+ years in product marketing and 150+ SaaS tools evaluated across CRM, project management, and sales engagement, Camellia turns competitive intelligence into clear, honest comparisons. Readers get vendor evaluations they can trust to cut through marketing noise and decide faster.